No Route Possible on a route that worked a week ago

BikeRNick
BikeRNick Registered Users Posts: 19
Outstanding Wayfarer
edited August 2021 in RIDER
I loaded up a route (not a track) I have used in the past and when I tried to open it, it said "no route possible".
Now on the old TomTom V5 I could edit the route and remove the offending waypoint, but on the new one (500/550) it's just NOT POSSIBLE, not even via MyDrive. I'm screwed, there's no way follow my route. If I was out on a 7 day tour and this happened on day 3 I'd be snookered.

After a lot (I mean a lot) of faffing around and testing I discovered what I think is the issue. My route contains a waypoint that would make it go down what the "traffic data" says is a closed road. So a route I used yesterday may simply abort with "no route possible" tomorrow if the traffic data is updated. It won't take me to the road closure sign and allow me to "Avoid blocked road" or even to just skip a waypoint and follow a diversion. No, it simply won't open the route at all and you can't edit it like on the old TomToms.

And guess what, you can't disable traffic data either so there's no way to stop it doing this.

This is terrible and I would like to know if TomTom have any plans to fix it. A route with multiple stops (waypoints) can work one day and then fail to even open the next.

Here's the ITN file
-042752|5175615|Ride Start, Shell Garage, Hemel Hempstead|4|
-042690|5176669|Three Cherry Trees Lane|0|
-042916|5177797|B487|0|
-038796|5180025|Waypoint 4|0|
-047552|5183820|Waypoint 5|0|
-053106|5185233|B4540|0|
-059203|5187723|High Street|0|
-060468|5191424|Waypoint 8|0|
-058242|5193774|B5704|0|
-066493|5202449|Waypoint 10|0|
-070317|5205203|A4146|0|
-071937|5208726|Waypoint 12|0|
-079077|5214687|B526|0|
-080328|5220663|Waypoint 14|0|
-079496|5225481|Fuel and Rest Stop|0|
-089799|5233528|Waypoint 16|0|
-091577|5239923|Waypoint 17|0|
-091232|5247856|Market Harborough|0|
-088544|5249048|B664|0|
-083521|5251377|Waypoint 20|0|
-079277|5254935|Waypoint 21|0|
-073323|5258741|Waypoint 22|0|
-072294|5253595|Waypoint 23|0|
-063600|5259148|B672|0|
-060565|5260819|A6121|0|
-062745|5263656|Waypoint 26|0|
-058383|5265941|A606|0|
-051756|5265958|A1|0|
-053215|5267407|Lunch and Fuel, OK Diner|2|
""

Answers

  • nabu
    nabu Posts: 16,890
     Superuser
    with what to open this file Thank you

    Here's the ITN file
    -042752|5175615|Ride Start, Shell Garage, Hemel Hempstead|4|
    -042690|5176669|Three Cherry Trees Lane|0|
    -042916|5177797|B487|0|
    -038796|5180025|Waypoint 4|0|
    -047552|5183820|Waypoint 5|0|
    -053106|5185233|B4540|0|
    -059203|5187723|High Street|0|
    -060468|5191424|Waypoint 8|0|
    -058242|5193774|B5704|0|
    -066493|5202449|Waypoint 10|0|
    -070317|5205203|A4146|0|
    -071937|5208726|Waypoint 12|0|
    -079077|5214687|B526|0|
    -080328|5220663|Waypoint 14|0|
    -079496|5225481|Fuel and Rest Stop|0|
    -089799|5233528|Waypoint 16|0|
    -091577|5239923|Waypoint 17|0|
    -091232|5247856|Market Harborough|0|
    -088544|5249048|B664|0|
    -083521|5251377|Waypoint 20|0|
    -079277|5254935|Waypoint 21|0|
    -073323|5258741|Waypoint 22|0|
    -072294|5253595|Waypoint 23|0|
    -063600|5259148|B672|0|
    -060565|5260819|A6121|0|
    -062745|5263656|Waypoint 26|0|
    -058383|5265941|A606|0|
    -051756|5265958|A1|0|
    -053215|5267407|Lunch and Fuel, OK Diner|2|
  • Lochfrass
    Lochfrass Posts: 18,035
     Superuser
    edited August 2021
    You have posted in the Go Navigation for iPhone section, but in the text you write about the Rider. Do you have the problem on the Rider or on the iPhone app?

    Suggestion:
    On the Rider--> Open the route without Bluetooth or Wifi connection. so the Rider has no traffic info. When the route is loaded, connect it with Bluetooth.
    On Iphone--> Set to flightmode, load the route and disable flightmode

    Ps: I'm not 100% sure if the Rider caches road closures in memory for a period of time after it is turned off.
    But then switching to "pedestrian mode" should solve the problem.

    But I totally agree with you. A hint why the route is not possible would be more helpful
  • BikeRNick
    BikeRNick Registered Users Posts: 19
    Outstanding Wayfarer
    Thanks for your comments
    1. I've posted in the correct section now
    2. I will try your suggestion. I think I might need to leave it a while to forget previous traffic information
    3. Save the data I provided in a .itn file (use notepad or simple text editor), then copy it to the TomTom and it should prompt you to import the route, then try and use it.
  • BikeRNick
    BikeRNick Registered Users Posts: 19
    Outstanding Wayfarer
    Here’s how to reproduce the issue.
    1. Turn off WiFi and Bluetooth on the device so it can’t get traffic information
    2. Copy the attached .itn file to the memory of the device via USB cable
    3. Import the route
    4. Open the route from “My Routes”
    5. It opens OK
    6. Now connect to WiFi and check that Traffic is now connected
    7. Open the route again from “My Routes”
    8. I get “No Route Possible”

    Scenario is that I created and planned a route several weeks ago that opened OK and I was able to follow it. Today when I open the exact same route it won’t even open because it says “No Route Possible” because one of the roads a stop is on is now closed according to the traffic. This means I can never be sure a saved route I used previously will work the next time I want to use it.

    .itn file
    -042591|5174639|Start|4|
    -043555|5175047|Midpoint|0|
    -043716|5175526|End|2|
  • BikeRNick
    BikeRNick Registered Users Posts: 19
    Outstanding Wayfarer
    Here's the reply from TomTom support

    Sam (TomTom)
    4 Aug 2021, 13:08 CEST
    Dear Mr Daniels,

    Thank you for your update. This is Sam again.

    I have checked your concern with our 2nd line technical team and they have advised that we currently do not have a workaround for this situation.

    However, we have logged this as a suggestion and it will be passed on to our developers and product managers. Please be aware that though we’re very happy to receive suggested improvements to our products, we cannot guarantee if or when your suggestion will be implemented.

    You might also consider posting your idea on our discussions forum, so other TomTom users can see your feedback. The more requested a feature is, the more likely it is that it will be implemented.

    If you have any more queries, please don’t hesitate to contact me via the link in this message and I’ll be more than happy to help.


    With Kind Regards,

    Sam

    TomTom Customer Care Team
  • BikeRNick
    BikeRNick Registered Users Posts: 19
    Outstanding Wayfarer
    Please do report this issue to TomTom with an enhancement request so they fix it.

    What I would like to happen, is that it opens the route and allows you to remove the offending stop or that it routes around it or that it takes you to the point where the road is closed and allows you to select Current Route – “skip next stop” or “avoid part of route”

    Here's my workaround if you get stuck with a route that won't open
    You have to disconnect\forget all WiFi connections, and disconnect the Bluetooth connection to your phone, and then reboot, and only then can you open the route to ride it.
  • YamFazMan
    YamFazMan Posts: 20,983
     Superuser
    edited August 2021
    Hi
    @BikeRNick
    Just copied your route into Notepad ++ and saved it as 2 Test.GPX
    Installed the route onto my Rider 550 using Win10 filer system and Tomtom Easy route upload...
    Works OK no problem, with No Route Possible....

    glkfcgxmc0ek.jpg
    Stay Safe... ATB YFM
  • BikeRNick
    BikeRNick Registered Users Posts: 19
    Outstanding Wayfarer
    Thanks, but you need to test with this route
    -042591|5174639|Start|4|
    -043555|5175047|Midpoint|0|
    -043716|5175526|End|2|

    as the one you showed hasn't got any closed roads today :-)

    Also, curious how you got a file in .itn format to successfully import as a GPX file. I just get "Import error"
  • YamFazMan
    YamFazMan Posts: 20,983
     Superuser
    edited August 2021
    Hi
    @BikeRNick
    BikeRNick wrote: »
    (Snip) Also, curious how you got a file in .ITN format to successfully import as a GPX file. I just get "Import error"
    Hi, Sorry for the delay....
    I copied your short route into Notepad ++ and saved it as .ITN file, then copied the .ITN file into .ITN Converter....
    Saved the route type as Garmin Zumo .GPX BaseCamp (*gpx)

    Installed the .ITN & .GPX routes onto my Rider 550 using Win10 filer system and Tomtom Easy route upload....
    Both the .ITN & .GPX routes >> FAILED << with a 'No Route Possible' error....
    ______________________

    The Free, slightly quirky, but very good ITN Converter
    ITN Converter/Route planner has a huge number of Map types....
    The Tomtom Routes Map is included :)

    The ITN Converter also Saves/Exports a huge number of route file types
    ITN Converter will also export straight to.....
    Tomtom Home...
    Tomtom MyDrive Web Route planner
    Tomtom itinerary (.ITN)
    Tomtom POI (.Ov2)

    The ITN Converter is quirky because it uses two Windows, one with all the save/export options the other, being the "Editor Window" where you plan your routes
    You use the large green tick to switch between Editor (Planning) and the window with all the save/export options
    Get ITN Converter here...
    http://www.benichou-software.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=4&itemid=3&lang=en

    There is a Tomtom Map...
    4qmj3d8jk79x.jpg

    ftljbjbkeifi.jpg
    I also think the ITN Converters ViaMichelin and the Nokia OVI Maps appear to be a good match to Tomtom Maps

    Stay Safe... ATB YFM
  • BikeRNick
    BikeRNick Registered Users Posts: 19
    Outstanding Wayfarer
    Thanks, so you confirm what TomTom support have also now confirmed, that if your route that worked previously has a stop on a road that TomTom traffic data today says is closed, you can't even open to route to modify it, you just get "No Route Possible"

    The more people who log this as an issue to TomTom the more likely it is to get fixed.

    I do a lot of multi-day tours with lots of bikes relying on me to lead them and if a planned route suddenly stops working halfway through the week it's more than a bit annoying !!