Slow screen response on 6250 — TomTom Community

Slow screen response on 6250

I've been using my 6250 Truck for a few months now and what was originally a bit of a niggle is becoming a real annoyance. From the menu screen, tapping any of the options takes 4-5 seconds for a response, often meaning I'm pressing it a few times more simply because I don't know if the device has recognised what I want. Is this standard on these devices or is this a fault?

Best Answer

• YamFazManYamFazMan Posts: 20,278
    Superusers
    edited April 17 Accepted Answer
    Hi
    @JohnWReynolds
    Welcome to the site...
    Firstly... Execute a Soft/Drum roll restart on the device....
    This restarts the devices Operating System afresh

RESETTING YOUR NAVIGATION DEVICE
    https://help.tomtom.com/hc/en-gb/articles/360013957499-Resetting-your-navigation-device
    Charge the device for at least 2Hrs….
    (Preferably using something like a Smartphone Charger using the Tomtom USB lead)
    OR
    Have the device plugged into a power supply while the device is restarting
    Press and hold the on/off button until you hear a drum-roll sound then release the on/off button.
    You won’t lose anything; it’s just like rebooting your PC
    I use a Soft/drum-roll start after any upgrade large or small.
    It’s also useful to keep in mind for sorting out most minor niggles....

2nd.... Try logging out of your Wi-Fi....
    I find the Wi-Fi devices are more stable and more responsive in general use when you 'Forget' the Wi-Fi connection

(You can't actually log out you can only 'Forget' the connection)
    Tap 4Dot (.... Menu) --> Settings --> Wi-Fi
    Tap on your Connected Wi-Fi
    Tap (Modify) Icon
    Tap (Forget) Icon
    Tap (^) Icon Screen top right
    To verify the Wi-Fi is OFF Tap 4Dot (.... Menu) screen top right Wi-Fi logo with an 'X'

70e5b90b-25ce-4fca-994c-e836a17cb9fa.jpg
    To Reconnect to Wi-Fi.... For Updating etc....
    Tap on your chosen Wi-Fi