Android Auto & TomTom GO Navigation

18911131417

Comments

  • Eldewy
    Eldewy Registered Users Posts: 36
    Renowned Trailblazer
    Oldace2000 wrote: »
    In an above post I mentioned some strange routing and here are a couple of examples.
    The first from the local shops and the second to a nearby truckstop.

    This image shows the difference in routing from the local shops using V1.18.1 and V2.7.69

    gs3zhedkkhw6.jpg
    Why V2.7.69 takes such a convoluted route I don’t know..


    Another strange one..

    ppa89xlioks5.jpg

    This image shows the strange routing to a Truckstop on the nearby Freeway.
    V1.18.1 take the most obvious route to the freeway and then straight to the pumps.
    V2.7.69 takes a weird route via back road, some very backroads. The final destination would require crossing several hundred metres of swamp to get to the pumps. Even adding a waypoint near the pumps doesn’t help.
    This is OK for locals who know the local layout but would be mystifying for a tourist in a hire car. This the last roadside fuel on the Freeway before Perth.
    The same strange routing also happens with the Southbound Truckstop opposite.

    Has anybody else noticed this??

    I can only assume it has something to do with the mapping information provided to TomTom.

    Cheers, Oldace2000 B)


    This has nothing to do with the Beta.

    I have noticed the strange routing starting with 2.xx versions of TomTom.

    That's the most irritating thing about using the app sometimes.
  • Oldace2000
    Oldace2000 Registered Users Posts: 8
    Master Explorer
    @Eldewy
    Yes you are correct. That is exactly the reason I never subscribed to V2.****. It was so annoying.

    Now that I have access to Android Auto I would much rather use TomTom, Via AA, for navigation on the head unit but I would be reluctant to subscribe until this is sorted out.

    Hopefully the other shortcomings will be sorted out by the BETA process.

    Cheers, Oldace2000

  • Ernesto_Che
    Ernesto_Che Registered Users Posts: 8
    Apprentice Traveler
    Sorry, a very trivial question: how do I keep my Beta updated?
  • Ernesto_Che
    Ernesto_Che Registered Users Posts: 8
    Apprentice Traveler
    Sorry, a very trivial question: how do I keep my Beta updated?
    Today the app hangs forever on "loading" screen on my Renault Zoe 2020.
  • lluiscn
    lluiscn Registered Users Posts: 47
    Renowned Wayfarer
    Sorry, a very trivial question: how do I keep my Beta updated?

    The same thing happens to me, I'm at 2.7.41 (3866) and I don't know how to update.
  • werner184
    werner184 Registered Users Posts: 4
    Apprentice Seeker
    if you have android it wil be updated the same as orther apps.
    amigo is standing in beta list when you go to your installed apps.
    Navigon is in normal list and updates normaly.
    I have both apps atleast updated yesterday
  • lluiscn
    lluiscn Registered Users Posts: 47
    Renowned Wayfarer
    I know that the updates are done in a staggered manner over time, but on March 12th reference is already made to version 2.7.69. That was 17 days ago and I did not receive the update. That’s why I was wondering, if there was an alternative to upgrade.
  • B3rt
    B3rt Registered Users Posts: 3
    Apprentice Traveler
    edited March 2021
    to TT android auto test users;

    Is in this version TT drive available
    I use this a lot to load gpx routes and drive them, i hope this option is also present in the TT android auto version of the app.

    Is there any release date known yet to use this version for the public or is there a way to install the beta myself on my android phone to test in my car?
  • lluiscn
    lluiscn Registered Users Posts: 47
    Renowned Wayfarer
    I see that the user Oldace2000, in his signature, already puts TomTom Go 2.8.1 - beta develop (3921). How can this be?
  • Jürgen
    Jürgen Community Managers, Administrators Posts: 7,403
    Community Manager
    edited March 2021
    Settings > Apps > TomTom (with the beta icon showing the chevron) > App details in store > Three buttons in the top right > Enable auto-update
  • lluiscn
    lluiscn Registered Users Posts: 47
    Renowned Wayfarer
    Jürgen wrote: »
    Settings > Apps > TomTom (with the beta icon showing the chevron) > App details in store > Three buttons in the top right > Enable auto-update

    Automatic update was already enabled.
  • Jürgen
    Jürgen Community Managers, Administrators Posts: 7,403
    Community Manager
    lluiscn wrote: »
    Automatic update was already enabled.
    What does the app icon look like?

  • lluiscn
    lluiscn Registered Users Posts: 47
    Renowned Wayfarer
    Jürgen wrote: »
    lluiscn wrote: »
    Automatic update was already enabled.
    What does the app icon look like?

    my59n30mtke2.jpg
  • Oldace
    Oldace Registered Users Posts: 8
    Apprentice Traveler
    @Ernesto_Che and @lluiscn.

    IF you have the original email invitation and you are on an Android device I would try the following steps.
    1. Click on the link in the invitation email.

    jyydcc12h8th.jpg

    2. Open the download page in Google Play.

    00s23crwt5nq.jpg

    3. Check as below.

    tdkoaftgzos2.jpg


    If this does not help then I have no idea why you can't update..
    Similar steps should work on Apple devices.??

    Hope this helps, Oldace2000.
  • lluiscn
    lluiscn Registered Users Posts: 47
    Renowned Wayfarer
    Thanks for your input but it doesn't work either. I get the option to open, not the option to upgrade.
  • lluiscn
    lluiscn Registered Users Posts: 47
    Renowned Wayfarer
    edited April 2021
    I uninstalled and reinstalled the app and it got worse, I now have version 1.9.6 release/20.1 (3409)

    mtg7mg80xsok.jpg
  • Oldace
    Oldace Registered Users Posts: 8
    Apprentice Traveler
    @lluiscn
    I am truly amazed. I had always assumed that everyone would get the latest updates. I still don't understand why not.
    I can understand your frustration.

    Does anyone else have any further suggestions??

    Cheers, Oldace2000 B)
  • AAPEENDVARKEN
    AAPEENDVARKEN Registered Users Posts: 2
    Novice Seeker
    I give up. The beta is simply not working on a Ford Focus 2019 + Samsung A70 combo. It does not show in the android auto environment on my cars display. Restarting my phone reinstalling the app does not work.
  • Eldewy
    Eldewy Registered Users Posts: 36
    Renowned Trailblazer
    I give up. The beta is simply not working on a Ford Focus 2019 + Samsung A70 combo. It does not show in the android auto environment on my cars display. Restarting my phone reinstalling the app does not work.

    It might sound like a dumb question, but did you go in AA settings and activate it to show up on the launcher?
  • AAPEENDVARKEN
    AAPEENDVARKEN Registered Users Posts: 2
    Novice Seeker
    Eldewy wrote: »
    I give up. The beta is simply not working on a Ford Focus 2019 + Samsung A70 combo. It does not show in the android auto environment on my cars display. Restarting my phone reinstalling the app does not work.

    It might sound like a dumb question, but did you go in AA settings and activate it to show up on the launcher?

    AA ? You try to accuse me of being an alcoholic ?
  • AmirMhmd
    AmirMhmd Registered Users Posts: 25
    Outstanding Wayfarer
    I'm registered at the beta program but when i try to install the app this is what it shows
    So this app is not available in UK ?ebiuvqal6qu3.jpg
  • Eldewy
    Eldewy Registered Users Posts: 36
    Renowned Trailblazer
    Eldewy wrote: »
    I give up. The beta is simply not working on a Ford Focus 2019 + Samsung A70 combo. It does not show in the android auto environment on my cars display. Restarting my phone reinstalling the app does not work.

    It might sound like a dumb question, but did you go in AA settings and activate it to show up on the launcher?

    AA ? You try to accuse me of being an alcoholic ?

    AA stands for Android Auto ... I would still take a beer over Android Auto any time of the day though.

    Just not while driving.
  • rockon1t
    rockon1t Registered Users Posts: 1
    Novice Seeker
    Would love to be an AA beta tester
  • Jürgen
    Jürgen Community Managers, Administrators Posts: 7,403
    Community Manager
    lluiscn wrote: »
    I uninstalled and reinstalled the app and it got worse, I now have version 1.9.6 release/20.1 (3409)
    What country are you in? Looks like the latest beta hasn't been released in all stores.

This discussion has been closed.