Voice control cannot be used with your display language

Andy_82
Andy_82 Registered Users Posts: 2
Apprentice Seeker
edited December 2021 in Devices using Wi-Fi®
Dear, I do not have voice control, when I press the voice control, I get a message, "Voice control cannot be used with your display language".
Respectfully

This discussion was created from comments split from: Voice Control cannot be used with your display language.

Comments

  • DougLap
    DougLap Posts: 10,116
    Superuser
    edited March 2021
    Hi @Andy_82

    You need to have Serena or Malcolm selected as the voice as it must be a Computerised Voice not a recorded one. If you cannot find them in the list of voices then advise back here and we can ask one of the Mods to allocate the voices to your account so you can download them to the unit.

    Doug
  • Andy_82
    Andy_82 Registered Users Posts: 2
    Apprentice Seeker
    Hi Doug! Serena or Malcolm is not on the list of voices
  • DougLap
    DougLap Posts: 10,116
    Superuser
    edited March 2021
    Hi @Andy_82

    Okay. @VikramK or @lampard should pick this up and add the voices to your Account so you can download them to your device. Look back here later to see what they say..

    Doug
  • VikramK
    VikramK Administrators Posts: 14,518
    Moderator
    Thanks for confirming @Andy_82!
    Both voices have been activated for your TomTom. Please check for updates now.

    Thanks, Vikram
  • shadyscorpion
    shadyscorpion Registered Users Posts: 3
    Apprentice Seeker
    edited July 2021
    Hi @VikramK
    I am having exactly the same problem and can not find Malcolm on my list of voices. Can someone help please?
    Thanks
  • VikramK
    VikramK Administrators Posts: 14,518
    Moderator
    Hi @shadyscorpion
    Welcome to the community!
    Voice activated, please check for updates now...

    Regards,
    Vikram
  • shadyscorpion
    shadyscorpion Registered Users Posts: 3
    Apprentice Seeker
    Hi @VikramK
    Thanks for the welcome. I have just checked my updates and there is nothing there. I am new to all this so I may be doing it wrong, but in the MyDriveConnect there is no voice activation update.
    Thanks
  • VikramK
    VikramK Administrators Posts: 14,518
    Moderator
    Hi @shadyscorpion
    Sorry, I did not check the device model before. You have a Nav4(fourth generation) TomTom VIA 62 and the computer voice Malcolm is compatible to work with TomTom devices that connect to Wi-Fi® internet.

    I have added 'Serena', it should be offered as an update.

    Regards,
    Vikram
  • shadyscorpion
    shadyscorpion Registered Users Posts: 3
    Apprentice Seeker
    Hi @VikramK
    Yes!! Thank you sooooo much. All up and running now
    Thanks
  • KennethH
    KennethH Registered Users Posts: 3
    New Seeker
    edited July 2021
    hi @VikramK i have just unpacked a brand new Go6200. it did not offer me English as an initial set up language but i have since been able to find english. I now have the same issue with voice control and route announcements and it doesnt read txt messages etc
  • KennethH
    KennethH Registered Users Posts: 3
    New Seeker
    hi @VikramK and @lampard. I havent had a response to my post of yesterday, sorry to hassle but id appreciate some help, i bought the 6200 from Amazon and if it isnt a UK device that means i cant make use of its features then id prefer to return it to them and re-purchase locally?
  • nabu
    nabu Posts: 16,890
     Superuser
    edited July 2021
    @Kenneth H

    you have to go to 6200 in voice and put your finger on all the voices

    I am in France .. device francais and I can do

    I have Serena ,, Jane ,, Tim

    and I am currently speaking on a French trip in English
  • VikramK
    VikramK Administrators Posts: 14,518
    Moderator
    edited July 2021
    Hi @KennethH
    Welcome to the community, and sorry for my late reply.
    Two computer voices have been activated for your TomTom GO 6200.
    Please check for updates now..

    - Vikram :)
  • KennethH
    KennethH Registered Users Posts: 3
    New Seeker
    VikramK wrote: »
    Hi @KennethH
    Welcome to the community, and sorry for my late reply.
    Two computer voices have been activated for your TomTom GO 6200.
    Please check for updates now..

    - Vikram :)

    thanks @VikramK looks like the additional voices has sorted it
  • Icarus
    Icarus Registered Users Posts: 6
    Apprentice Seeker
    I am having the same trouble with the voice control may i have the computor voices added too,please?
  • VikramK
    VikramK Administrators Posts: 14,518
    Moderator
    Hi @Icarus
    Welcome to the community! Computer voice- 'Serena' has been activated for your TomTom. Please check for updates in MyDrive Connect.

    Regards
    Vikram.
  • EffieMae21
    EffieMae21 Registered Users Posts: 3
    Apprentice Seeker
    edited January 8
    Hi everyone,

    I am having the exact same problem as described above. I have a TomTom Go 520 and want to use voice control on the device in the UK. I do not have a computer voice of Serena or Malcolm on the device, nor are they available to download in my account. Could one of you kind souls please activate them so I can download them please? Much obliged to you.
  • Willy875
    Willy875 Registered Users Posts: 7,116
    Elite Voyager
    edited January 8
    Hi
    Check back on Monday, moderator @VikramK will review your account and give you the voice.
  • EffieMae21
    EffieMae21 Registered Users Posts: 3
    Apprentice Seeker
    Hi Willy875 - thank you for letting me know, I'll check back tomorrow. :)
  • VikramK
    VikramK Administrators Posts: 14,518
    Moderator
    Hi @EffieMae21
    Welcome to the community! Two computer voices have been activated for your TomTom, please check for updates now...


    Regards
    VIkram
  • EffieMae21
    EffieMae21 Registered Users Posts: 3
    Apprentice Seeker
    Hi Vikram,

    Thank you so much for your help, it is now sorted. I downloaded the voices and voi la, voice control works. Brilliant, thanks again.
  • Packratjohn
    Packratjohn Registered Users Posts: 3
    Apprentice Seeker
    I have two 620s. One works fine, the other says "voice control cannot...." I don't have either of the two voices as downloads. Can you send them my way?
    thank you
  • VikramK
    VikramK Administrators Posts: 14,518
    Moderator
    Hi @Packratjohn
    Welcome to the community!
    Both voices have been activated for your TomTom, check for updates now.

    Regards,
    Vikram.
  • Packratjohn
    Packratjohn Registered Users Posts: 3
    Apprentice Seeker
    Thanks! I may have sent a second request. Please ignore