TomTom Traffic only for Local region - Why? — TomTom Community

TomTom Traffic only for Local region - Why?

SimonWatsonSimonWatson Posts: 2 [Apprentice Seeker]
I have a subscription for Traffic & Speed Cameras for my Android app. I am used - from previous journeys to Europe - to the traffice only being available for each country, so no german traffic available until you cross the border from France. Since the summer UK traffic seems to have become regionalised. On recent journeys from Birmingham to Essex, only Midlands traffic shows. As I go down the M1 towards London Traffic jams appear 'out of nowhere' On the last trip my passenger used Google Maps, and saw traffic jams on the M1 and M25 when we left Birmingham - nothing on Tom Tom!. Is there a setting that I have accidentally set, or is this a new thing for Traffic now, maybe a 'data saver'? Surely the app should show all traffic for your route - local if a short journey or National if a longer one?
Tagged:

Answers

• dhndhn Posts: 33,312
    Superusers
    Believe there is a 50 mile horizon limit for live traffic.
  • DougLapDougLap Posts: 6,389
    Superuser
    Hi

The 50ish mile radius for traffic is based on your current position so on a 100 mile journey you should be being offered directions based on the next 50 miles of traffic information.

I assume @simonwatson is suggesting that when he has done about 50 miles form the start of his journey that he then has no traffic data helping him for the remainder of his journey which should not be happening.

Is that correct @SimonWatson

Doug
  • SimonWatsonSimonWatson Posts: 2 [Apprentice Seeker]