3D Guidance View not working on my Android Headunit - Page 2 — TomTom Community

3D Guidance View not working on my Android Headunit

2

Comments

  • LeusdenaLeusdena Posts: 2 [Neophyte Traveler]
    Come on TomTom, we are waiting for 4 months for a solution for our PX5 A53 headunits.

    Referentienummer: 190708-002834
    ticket 190407-001199

    [Tag]
    TomTom 3D View On Android 8.0 Car Headunit
    TomTom 3D navigatie op een Android 8.0 dubbeldin autoradio


  • duttonstduttonst Posts: 22 [Master Explorer]
    3.3k views on this thread; 2.7k on another related thread. That must add-up to quite a few lost customers. Bizarre that a fix for this doesn't seem to be getting prioritised.
  • LeusdenaLeusdena Posts: 2 [Neophyte Traveler]
    Still waiting for a solution from TomTom since May 2019
    Open tickets will be closed without a solution. I reopen/create more then 4 times a ticket, still no response/ no solution :(

    Paste:
    To the TomTom developers: Maybe you could ignore the EGL_BAD_ATTRIBUTE return value and continue with rendering?
  • JürgenJürgen Posts: 5,200 Community Manager
    Beste @Leusdena ,

    I'm afraid you have experienced very bad customer support from our side here. I've addressed your case with our Quality team.

    The agent who originally handled your case gave a complete wrong answer. And the agent who last replied to you adopted this incorrect answer.

    It is a coincident if the GO Mobile app worked on your orininal KitKat 4 unit or if it worked somewhat on your new PX5 unit running Android 8.0. The app is made for smartphones and has never been tested with head units. This is the very simple answer that should have been given to you.

    I can only offer my sincere apologies for the bad experience you had with us!

    Groeten,
    Jürgen
  • Terro84Terro84 Posts: 1 [New Traveler]
    It will be soluton for px5 devices for view 3D?
  • SteefoSteefo Posts: 12 [Master Explorer]
    I hope tomtom will fix the issue with px5 devices.

    If not then I will leave tomtom.
  • JürgenJürgen Posts: 5,200 Community Manager
    The app is meant for smartphones and is not tested on built-in head units.
  • SteefoSteefo Posts: 12 [Master Explorer]
    Hi @all,

    Please everyone make a new support ticket.

    I have an answer from tomtom.

    They said they will fix the problem if many user will make a ticket.

    My reference number is 191201-000046 you can attach it to the ticket.

    Sorry for my bad English...

    Regards,
    Stefano
  • AsprinAsprin Posts: 267 [Supreme Pioneer]
    @Steefo,

    Why are you not showing the info you got from TomTom?????

    To have everyone start spamming the support based on your post alone.

    With out any proof of what TomTom has confirmed to you or so you say.

    When all along they have not tested on any head unit.

    They have repeated over and over that the app is made for smartphones.
  • SteefoSteefo Posts: 12 [Master Explorer]
    Asprin wrote: »
    @Steefo,

    Why are you not showing the info you got from TomTom?????

    To have everyone start spamming the support based on your post alone.

    With out any proof of what TomTom has confirmed to you or so you say.

    When all along they have not tested on any head unit.

    They have repeated over and over that the app is made for smartphones.




    The is response is in German.

    If you want to read it let me know.
  • AsprinAsprin Posts: 267 [Supreme Pioneer]
    Post it I can read Germany.
  • AsprinAsprin Posts: 267 [Supreme Pioneer]
    @Lochfrass,

    I have read all the post and there is nothing about Head Units.

    Yes there are some smartphones that have problems.

    But I do not see TomTom even going down this road.

    The New NDS app will let you connect via mirror link that is about all.

    Plus TomTom has a list of Car companies they have TomTom pre-install on there indash radios.

    Why would TomTom turn that market upside down just to have 3rd Party Head Units work with Tomtom.

    When most 3rd party Head Units come with GPS apps already installed on them.

    Example:

    IGO is one of them along with Google Maps.

    I have yet to find any 3rd party Head Unit that supplies TomTom GPS on It.
  • SteefoSteefo Posts: 12 [Master Explorer]
    Asprin wrote: »
    @Lochfrass,

    I have read all the post and there is nothing about Head Units.

    Yes there are some smartphones that have problems.

    But I do not see TomTom even going down this road.

    The New NDS app will let you connect via mirror link that is about all.

    Plus TomTom has a list of Car companies they have TomTom pre-install on there indash radios.

    Why would TomTom turn that market upside down just to have 3rd Party Head Units work with Tomtom.

    When most 3rd party Head Units come with GPS apps already installed on them.

    Example:

    IGO is one of them along with Google Maps.

    I have yet to find any 3rd party Head Unit that supplies TomTom GPS on It.




    Lochfrass is right. That's the Thread.

    Which Head Units do you mean?

    We are speaking about the 3rd party Head Units like Ownice, Pumpkin, Joying...

    There operating system is Android.

    On this devices we have the problems.

    If you have one of this units and have the problems with 3D Viewing than you can contact Tomtom Support.

    Regards,
    Stefano
  • AsprinAsprin Posts: 267 [Supreme Pioneer]
    edited December 2019
    This topic about Head Units has gone on so long.

    TomTom has repeatedly said they have not tested TomTom on 3rd party Head units.

    It is not supported what is so hard to understand??????

    This section of the Forum is for talks about problems with Smartphones nothing else.

    Why it keeps getting spammed over 3rd party Head Units over and over again?????

    I think any topic about 3rd Party Head Units should be trashed in this section for Smartphone.

    TomTom clearly has a section on Pre installed TomTom on Car systems.

    To keep bringing up this topic over and over and over again needs to stop.

    It is not going to happen time to move one...........
  • YamFazManYamFazMan Posts: 15,847 Superusers
    edited December 2019
    Hi
    @Steefo

    The app is meant for smartphones....
    It has NOT been tested on built-in head units.

    1vdejhh3pvz0.jpg
    ATB YFM
  • SteefoSteefo Posts: 12 [Master Explorer]
    And what about the smartphones with cortex CPUs?

    Same problem!

    In the android head unit is the same chipset...

    To say clearly:

    Make a support ticket when you have a px5 android device! Smartphones AND Head Units.
  • AsprinAsprin Posts: 267 [Supreme Pioneer]
    @Steefo,

    Stop spamming this forum!!!!!!!!!!
  • DougBrooksDougBrooks Posts: 22 [Master Explorer]
    edited December 2019
    Pretty sure that TomTom could have gathered enough information from head unit users like myself and the other posters in this thread to be able to sayby now that go has been tested on head units.
  • YamFazManYamFazMan Posts: 15,847 Superusers
    Hi
    @DougBrooks

    The app is meant for smartphones....
    It has NOT been tested on built-in head units.

    1vdejhh3pvz0.jpg
    ATB YFM
  • JvdZJvdZ Posts: 59 [Sovereign Trailblazer]
    Asprin wrote: »
    @Steefo,

    Stop spamming this forum!!!!!!!!!!

    Likewise!
  • SteefoSteefo Posts: 12 [Master Explorer]
    edited December 2019
    Here is the answer from Tomtom:


    The reference number for your request is 191201-xxxxxxx Thank you for your feedback. We have logged your proposal and it will be forwarded to our developers and product managers. Please note that although we are happy to incorporate suggestions from our customers into our product enhancements, we can not guarantee if and when your proposal will be implemented. You may also consider posting your idea on our discussion forum so that other TomTom users can see your feedback. The more a feature is desired by our customers, the more likely it is that it will be implemented.

    Mod edit: Machine translated from German

    You can translate in your language and then you can decide if I spam this forum or if I want to help other users an myself for a constructive solution.
  • YamFazManYamFazMan Posts: 15,847 Superusers
    edited December 2019
    Hi
    Steefo wrote: »
    Here is the answer from Tomtom:
    he reference number for your request is 191201-******.
    Thank you for your feedback. We have logged your proposal and it will be forwarded to our developers and product managers. Please note that although we are happy to incorporate suggestions from our customers into our product enhancements, we can not guarantee if and when your proposal will be implemented.
    You may also consider posting your idea on our discussion forum so that other TomTom users can see your feedback. The more a feature is desired by our customers, the more likely it is that it will be implemented(Snip)
    Yes Ok ... You have now done that, and you have also been told...By Tomtom Managment
    The App is meant for Smartphones....
    It has NOT been tested on built-in head units....

    ATB YFM
  • BrainsieBrainsie Posts: 5 [Master Traveler]
    Don't want to wake up the discussion again, but how is the app working on your head unit after the update? I've tested it and I see the 3D maps are working, but some things like the nav instructions and speed limits are missing.
  • kempsmjkempsmj Posts: 5 [Master Explorer]
    It finally works now with the new TomTom Go 2.0.5 app! I instaled this today (30 day trial) an it works like a charm.
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online in this Category0