WNRO on 6 April 2019 - ONE-TIME UPDATE FOR YOUR DEVICE - Page 2 — TomTom Community

WNRO on 6 April 2019 - ONE-TIME UPDATE FOR YOUR DEVICE

2»

Answers

  • TuMaRis53TuMaRis53 Posts: 15 [Outstanding Explorer]
    VikramK wrote: »
    Hi @tiljes

    The problem with the RIDER devices(Timer reset 00:00), serial number starting- K4 is something we are investigating.

    We hope to have a fix for this soon.

    Sorry about the inconvenience caused.

    Regards
    Vikram

    Has the problem repair been advanced?
    When can we expect a corrective update?

    Best regards
    Matti Ristola
  • TuMaRis53TuMaRis53 Posts: 15 [Outstanding Explorer]
    Do you intend to transfer customers to competing brands with these updates?
    I am looking for an update 00:00 for the problem!
  • jdaviesjdavies Posts: 4 [Master Traveler]
    TuMaRis53 wrote: »
    VikramK wrote: »
    Hi @tiljes

    The problem with the RIDER devices(Timer reset 00:00), serial number starting- K4 is something we are investigating.

    We hope to have a fix for this soon.

    Sorry about the inconvenience caused.

    Regards
    Vikram

    Has the problem repair been advanced?
    When can we expect a corrective update?

    Best regards
    Matti Ristola

    Ditto
    Jjd
  • WoodseyWoodsey Posts: 2 [Apprentice Traveler]
    Hi Kimsaba,
    It seems you have knowledge of using a cheepo £25 Chinese Satnav. Can you please provide a link to direct me to this model that I assume you are using yourself without any issues? The Ebay direct link to the product itself would be very advantageous, well at least for me anyway, because it seems clear Tom Tom are intent on NOT providing help to achieving a WNRO fix in the form of a correct one time fix or better still a hyper link on this or their own website to upload and download the WNRO one time fix that should allow a GPS signal as well onto a model ONE XL, that I repeat was working before the 6th April but will now not connect or provide a GPS signal on the unit. Having read everyone's Posts it would not surprise me as is not difficult for Tom Tom to switch off the pulse within their software that bounces to the satellite which allows a GPS signal to be sent and received. Hell they do it with Map updates and when they decide your product is no longer supported with software updates so why not a GPS signal !! It's a sure way to scupper models they want to ignore for good.
    I'll await your link Kimsaba Regards Woodsey
  • kevtomtomkevtomtom Posts: 12 [Master Traveler]
    Absolutely agree. We have 4 tomtom 910 which have been fantastic and much better than the current range so we want a fix too as ril we were stuck in Europe without a satnav on small roads without a satnav as ours simply wouldn't fix. Evenn if tomtom no longer support the 910 I can s lash back that the company will soon go into liquidation.
    My wife is Dutch and we have heard thsame un cooperative thing happens in Holland and they make the things.
    I have tried to contact tomtom but they are simply a symptom of the modern consumer society ie they want your money but no support.
    I am really disappointed with tomtom over this and can only hope that they finally offer a GPS update to cover the roll over or someone issues a third party fix
    Kevin
  • AbandonedAbandoned Posts: 1 [New Traveler]
    TomTom or SomSom????I agree with the author above at this point.
    My experience is the one time roll over fix promised has NOT been supplied by TomTom, for TomTom One New Edition.

    I have tried several times to update my device. There is a different GPSQuick fix, which does not address the WNRO problem at all, in fact it does little!

    Do Tom Tom fully understand their HW and SW or are they trying to mis sell new devices?????

    Do Tom Toms management understand that they are Letting down customers in this way and falsely presenting a picture that all is as it was without a fix, with timing information missing?
    NOT the CASE TOMTOM now, the device hardly works and is destined for the environmental waste pile of functional unnecessarily thrown away used electronics polluting our planet.

    Who is the MD or CEO of Tom Tom, does he understand and support what is happening in his company? Or misguided by the wrong information of others? Or plain does not care?
    Any Ideas how to contact him - difficult enough to break through the menus and contact TomTom, as online support claims a level of support that it doesn't.

    Now the BIG question is it TomToms intention to support its loyal customers or NOT?
    Its rather looking like "NOT".

    So why would anyone invest in a GBP300 device, minus a pathetic 20% discount
    for a NEW device from a company that cares so little about its customers. A GBP100 offer and an apology might be considered but when its cheaper to source on line, elsewhere even a TomTom discount seems like an empty gesture :-(

    So rather than invest in a premium TomTom today, that could be randomly supported OR NOT tomorrow, a GBP30 SomSom or similar from China looks like a better bet all round than a GBP300 TomTom, sorry to be logical...........

    Pleased to hear of any other experience's with this device form other readers and any suggestions please?
  • tiljestiljes Posts: 228 [Exalted Navigator]
    Abandoned wrote: »
    Pleased to hear of any other experience's with this device form other readers and any suggestions please?

    TomTom's hands are tied if the GPS chip vendors don't supply updates. However, I made a workaround that cures the time reset problem. You can find it on www.rima-lock.com. No affiliation with TomTom and use at your own risk.
  • Smurf_Tom_2005Smurf_Tom_2005 Posts: 34 [Outstanding Wayfarer]
    what you need is the unofficial GPS upgrade Sirf3 GWS3.2.5 or GWS3.6.0
    So I've flashed several sat navs successfully. It can be found on a German forum.

    GPS chip SIRF-III upgrade from version: GSW3.1.1 or GSW3.2.4TT3 to version: GSW3.2.5TT3 or GSW3.6.0
    for TT GO 510, GO 520, GO 630, GO 710, GO 720, GO 730, GO 715, GO 920, GO 930, ONE, ONE (v2), ONE 3Rd (v3), GO 7000 Truck, Rider 1 + 2
    The "Standby Problem" is now fixed (renewed Sat-Fix after standby within a few seconds).
    the device list for which the firmware upgrade is suitable:
    TomTom ONE 1st Edition with SD 2GB Serial Number: G1; G2
    TomTom ONE 2nd Edition with SD 2GB Serial Number: E1; E2
    TomTom ONE 3nd Edition with internal memory 512MB and 1GB serial number: Y1; Y3
    TomTom RIDER 1 + 2 with SD 2GB serial number: K1; K2
    TomTom GO 510 or TomTom GO 710, GO910 HDD 20GB Serial Number: V5; V7
    TomTom GO 715 serial number: M7
    TomTom GO 520 with 512MB-1Gb memory Serial number: M2; M4
    TomTom GO 530 with 1-2 GB memory Serial Number: J1; J2
    TomTom GO 630 with 2GB memory Serial Number: JB;
    TomTom GO 720 with 512MB-2GB memory Serial Number: M6; M9
    TomTom GO 730 with 1-2-4GB memory Serial Number: J3; J4; J5;
    TomTom GO 920 (T) with 4GB memory Serial number: M8;
    TomTom GO 930 with 4GB memory Serial number: J6
  • moleratmolerat Posts: 40 [Sovereign Trailblazer]
    Anyone know of a fix for One 3rd Edition with a Y4 serial ?
  • tiljestiljes Posts: 228 [Exalted Navigator]
    molerat wrote: »
    Anyone know of a fix for One 3rd Edition with a Y4 serial ?

    Either the unofficial fix from rima-lock.com (the one for Rider 2013), or the unofficial firmware update mentioned by @Smurf_Tom_2005
  • Smurf_Tom_2005Smurf_Tom_2005 Posts: 34 [Outstanding Wayfarer]

    yes because the Navi TT ONE 3Rd. with the serial: Y4xxx the GPS chip GL1ffff
    in the hardware has worked there the unofficial update of rima-lock.com
  • moleratmolerat Posts: 40 [Sovereign Trailblazer]
    edited October 19
    Failed to install on my Y4 serial OneV3. Went to the updating firmware screen then to the progress bar which went fully red pretty quickly then a black screen.
  • tiljestiljes Posts: 228 [Exalted Navigator]
    molerat wrote: »
    Failed to install on my Y4 serial OneV3. Went to the updating firmware screen then to the progress bar which went fully red pretty quickly then a black screen.

    For your One 3rd you need the workaround from rima-lock.com (take the one for Rider 2013/K4).
  • moleratmolerat Posts: 40 [Sovereign Trailblazer]
    edited October 20
    tiljes wrote: »
    molerat wrote: »
    Failed to install on my Y4 serial OneV3. Went to the updating firmware screen then to the progress bar which went fully red pretty quickly then a black screen.

    For your One 3rd you need the workaround from rima-lock.com (take the one for Rider 2013/K4).

    Done that but only fixes the clock on the rare occasion that I actually get a sat lock :/ Looks like it is headed for the electronics recycling bin.
  • tiljestiljes Posts: 228 [Exalted Navigator]
    molerat wrote: »
    tiljes wrote: »
    molerat wrote: »
    Failed to install on my Y4 serial OneV3. Went to the updating firmware screen then to the progress bar which went fully red pretty quickly then a black screen.

    For your One 3rd you need the workaround from rima-lock.com (take the one for Rider 2013/K4).

    Done that but only fixes the clock on the rare occasion that I actually get a sat lock :/ Looks like it is headed for the electronics recycling bin.

    There shouldnt be a problem with sat lock on your 3rd. If there is, the problem is not related to WNRO.
  • moleratmolerat Posts: 40 [Sovereign Trailblazer]
    tiljes wrote: »
    molerat wrote: »
    tiljes wrote: »
    molerat wrote: »
    Failed to install on my Y4 serial OneV3. Went to the updating firmware screen then to the progress bar which went fully red pretty quickly then a black screen.

    For your One 3rd you need the workaround from rima-lock.com (take the one for Rider 2013/K4).

    Done that but only fixes the clock on the rare occasion that I actually get a sat lock :/ Looks like it is headed for the electronics recycling bin.

    There shouldnt be a problem with sat lock on your 3rd. If there is, the problem is not related to WNRO.
    2 different One V3s fell over on the first outing after 6th April - quite happily driving along with a good sat lock then just lost it - just a coincidence and not down to WNRO ?

  • tiljestiljes Posts: 228 [Exalted Navigator]
    molerat wrote: »
    tiljes wrote: »
    molerat wrote: »
    tiljes wrote: »
    molerat wrote: »
    Failed to install on my Y4 serial OneV3. Went to the updating firmware screen then to the progress bar which went fully red pretty quickly then a black screen.

    For your One 3rd you need the workaround from rima-lock.com (take the one for Rider 2013/K4).

    Done that but only fixes the clock on the rare occasion that I actually get a sat lock :/ Looks like it is headed for the electronics recycling bin.

    There shouldnt be a problem with sat lock on your 3rd. If there is, the problem is not related to WNRO.
    2 different One V3s fell over on the first outing after 6th April - quite happily driving along with a good sat lock then just lost it - just a coincidence and not down to WNRO ?

    I say coincidence, yes. But I don't know for sure.
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online20

AdamKsiazek
AdamKsiazek
DougLap
DougLap
Ewaa
Ewaa
Harryh110
Harryh110
Justyna
Justyna
levit
levit
mimide24
mimide24
+13 Guests