Traffic information availability, future — TomTom Community

Traffic information availability, future

Hi, I have a week to renew my subscription and I'm seriously considering not doing it.

I don't know how or why this happens, and whether it's widespread or not, but half the times I start TomTom GO, it can take an incredible amount of time (up to minutes) to display traffic (the traffic icon is greyed out with an x until this happens). Yet. it connects to MyDrive Sync immediately and all five other satnav applications I tried show traffic as soon as I request it.

That means that I'm sitting in my car, staring at the phone screen and waiting for the red/orange lines to appear, praying they do appear to begin with. Disabling and enabling cellular data sometimes accelerates this process, sometimes it doesn't. There were cases when I was trying to get traffic information for over half an hour, which included the above mentioned disabling-enabling mobile data, restarting the application several times, restarting the phone, and reinstalling the whole application. Still couldn't get any traffic information.

So because of this I now have two additional satnav applications installed. Their navigation UI isn't as nice as that of TomTom GO, but as you can imagine, a nice UI doesn't outweigh unreliability of basic service, especially when it's a premium service.

In addition to that, I've been a paying customer for two or three years, but I don't remember a single noteworthy improvement to the application. I still can't avoid a spot on the route, report anything but a speed camera (useless to well-mannered drivers), traffic information is still limited to about 100 mile radius...

So the questions are:

Can I do anything to make TomTom traffic reliably load within acceptable times? Or does TomTom plan to fix this any time soon?

Is there some roadmap for the future of the application? Or at least some plans?

Thanks.

Answers

• AsprinAsprin Posts: 255 [Exalted Navigator]