Updating a Citroën Jumper/Peugeot Boxer's Built-in device's software and TomTom's shocking service. — TomTom Community

Updating a Citroën Jumper/Peugeot Boxer's Built-in device's software and TomTom's shocking service.

ID2019ID2019 Posts: 3 [Apprentice Traveler]
edited July 2019 in Built in car navigation
Here's the thing...

I have recently (two weeks ago) bought a new Citroën Relay (which TomTom's UK site insists on calling a Jumper) with a built-in Sat Nav.

The map on what is, effectively a brand-new product, is a year out of date.

Several emails with TomTom "support" has only served to reveal that their support team either cannot read or do not understand English because it took three attempts to get anything approaching an answer to the questions posed.

The website sends me round in circles, instructing me to attach my device to the computer to update the software - I can't get my van through the front door.

Support can't tell me if I'm entitled to a map update until I have linked my device to my TomTom Home account, but the only other way I can see to link the device is by buying a new map - but there's no way I'm going to do that because it should be up to date already.

If it was a removable device, it would have had a hammer through it by now, and I'm seriously considering cutting my losses and buying a Garmin with FREE lifetime map updates.

There was no manual provided, nor - apparently - is one available for download. Selecting "Read the manual for my device" in TomTom HOME takes me to a web page inviting me buy a new map. . “Ask Citroën” is the answer from TomTom’s support; NO, TOMTOM, IT’S YOUR DEVICE – YOU TELL ME HOW TO USE IT!

All the other options that might seem to match my needs merely put me back in the loop of having to connect the device to my computer.

I will not swear on the forum, but - from my most recent experience, with several hours wasted - TomTom, its products, website and its customer service is the WORST I have ever experienced.

I have run IT networks, built websites for a living and am able to understand every other technical issue I have faced, but this has defeated me.

Has anyone been able to update their Boxer/Jumper/Relay device? If so, please enlighten me.

Answers

  • DougLapDougLap Posts: 9,103
    Superuser
    edited July 2019
    Hi @ID2019

    Don't know anything about the Inbuilt Satnavs but went onto the main Tomtom Website

    Clicked on Products
    Clicked on Inbuilt Satnav
    Could not find Citroen mentioned but Clicked on Peugeot Boxer
    Clicked on How to update your map.

    The following is what comes up so would this help you . Don't know whether you get any free first update etc

    https://uk.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/20644

    Doug
  • ID2019ID2019 Posts: 3 [Apprentice Traveler]
    Thanks, Doug. Been there, done that and bought the T-Shirt! =)

    I've now discovered a very obscure link that take me to Citroën's own website. It seems that TomTom has just provided the hardware. The maps come from a company called "HERE" - that's not a link by the way it's the name of the company.

    Citroën's website is just as bad. I can't see my vehicle or device listed, so apparently it's up-to-date. (The map's release date is 7/2018 - which doesn't bode well).

    I shall have to wait until tomorrow until Citroën's woken up and then let them have it!

    Cheers

    Ian
  • DougLapDougLap Posts: 9,103
    Superuser
    edited July 2019
    Hi Ian

    I came across that and it seemed to mention 2015 and only refers to cars.

    Someone I see posting on another forum talks about Here maps. I advised him I was not impressed when I asked it to give me a route in an area I know.. He mentioned it again yesterday and as I had not looked for a while I did my usual test between 2 points . I have lived here, see what I did there, for 35 years and yet again the routes it suggested are ones I and nobody around here would dream of using. It ignores a straight forward A and B road and uses unclassified winding single track roads. My concern is if it does that in areas I know what does it do when I am in strange countryside. My VW must use the same mapling as it suggests the same route. Tomtom, Garmin, Google and others I have tried do not make the same suggestion they recommend the A and B road..

    Doug
  • Little Old MeLittle Old Me Posts: 8 [Apprentice Traveler]
    Did you ever get to the bottom of this because I have a new Relay and this head unit is about to be ripped out in favour of an android one.

    Not only have I got old map data but I also have no traffic. No one seems to know or cares how to fix it. Thanks...
  • ID2019ID2019 Posts: 3 [Apprentice Traveler]
    I did finally discover that I was entitled to one free update - which, if I remember correctly, had to be done within 30 days of first use (but I might be making that up).

    Anyway, I managed to update - which I think was a slow and tortuous process - but the device is still woefully lacking, so I purchased a Garmin Drivesmart 65, which serves me very well.

    Because two years have passed since I did it, I'm afraid I have no memory of how I managed it in the end, but I will have a dig around and see if I can find any information and let you know.

    All in all, I am seriously not impressed with TomTom for its quality of customer service, but more so with Citroën for foisting such a piece of crap on me. I'd rather have the CD player - and I don't listen to CDs!

    Happy motoring.
  • Little Old MeLittle Old Me Posts: 8 [Apprentice Traveler]
    Thanks for the reply.

    I got the update file of the head unit and TomTom Home tells me there are no new maps and I can't have traffic data. Apparently, traffic was free for 3 years but Citroen pulled it and you can't buy it yourself. I know maps are out of date because I keep getting asked to drive the wrong way down a one way street that changed in 2019.

    I have contacted TomTom but I am not hopeful. Like you, I think it is time to grab a Garmin and move on from this piece of junk.
  • Willy875Willy875 Posts: 2,886 [Exalted Pioneer]
    edited October 6
    Fault
  • Little Old MeLittle Old Me Posts: 8 [Apprentice Traveler]
    Willy875 wrote: »
    Fault

    Sadly not a fault but the way they are, at least that is what support said about the traffic services. I got the maps updated after a faff but the traffic data will never work because they claim the unit is not capable.

    The head unit is custom made for the Relay dash. I asked why a unit that was specifically made for the van has an option to select traffic services if traffic services were not actually possible? The answer was that TomTom just didn't bother taking the option out of the generic software, too much trouble to do a professional job.

    Very poor, wasted time trying to get this to work because of lazy programming.
  • pekkiopekkio Posts: 1 [Apprentice Seeker]
    Is there anyone in the stratosphere that succeed in sending the destination from the mobile app MyCitroen/MyPeugeot/MyDS to the Navigator (send2nav function)? Citroen customer service can't explain why million of users can't find in their app the button "prepare your itinerary" while the marketing department has been advertising this function since early 2020: emails, app features description etc.
    Since I am quite annoyed to receive calls from the Citroen customer service, from guys that don't know anything about the send2nav function, I would like to know, being a TomTom system, if someone has the same issue....
    I apologize in advance for the outburst!
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online in this Category1

LucaRM_78
LucaRM_78