TomTom GO Traffic Radius Issue — TomTom Community

TomTom GO Traffic Radius Issue

LewpyLewpy Posts: 5 [Apprentice Traveler]
I have been using TomTom GO for a couple of years, after been moved off TomTom Western Europe app.
It's improved a lot over the time I've been using it, but there is one thing that irritates me about Traffic that didn't seem to be the case on the previous TomTom Sat Nav apps. (Okay, there are lots of irritants, but this is fresh in my mind and relevant right now).
  • Live Traffic data only extends a certain fixed radius from your current location.
So I live in the South of England, and if I navigate a route to the North of England, my map looks like this [not sure it will embed or attach the image]
c6exnmw98iep.jpg

So I have a clear radius of how much traffic information I have, and then nothing.
I am sure the radius will follow me while I travel, but that's not the point.
What if one of the main UK motorways (such as M1 in this case) is blocked, and I should really head up the M5/M6 instead? I won't know until I am already committed to the M1 route, and then I would have to perform some convoluted route.
Surely the traffic data should extend to the entire length of your planned route during the planning stage?

Is there some way that I can make this happen? I really doubt there is, but I'll throw the question out there :)

Best Answer

• LochfrassLochfrass Posts: 10,003 Superuser
    Accepted Answer
    You're right about that. Many other users have already asked to increase the radius.
    But TomTom doesn't seem to want that.

Answers

Hi and welcome to the Forum.

As an alternative, you can view the route on MyDrive https://mydrive.tomtom.com/en_gb/ or in the myDrive app. There you can see all the traffic
    The MyDrive App is for Android or iOS available
  • LewpyLewpy Posts: 5 [Apprentice Traveler]
    Hi Lochfrass.
    Thanks for the suggestion, I've not used the MyDrive app before :)