Connection to PC problems — TomTom Community

Connection to PC problems

I have already posted this but possibly in the wrong category.

After much pestering from TomTom about my old XL being obsolete and making me offers to upgrade I finally purchased a GO Premium. Firstly it is a nightmare trying to get it to connect to my PC via MyDrive. I have tried on both my PCs and on my neighbour's PC, I have followed every suggestion on TomTom websites and discussion groups . Most suggestions are just repeats of what others have already said and of no help whatsoever. Secondly I now find, contrary to what I was told by TomTom that I cannot transfer my hundreds of important POIs from my old XL.
PLEASE can anyone help without repeating ALL THE OBVIOUS OLD & COPIED suggestions.
I am not a novice with computing and had my first desktop back in 1984 !!

Thanks to whoever can help me.

Best Answers

• DougLapDougLap Posts: 6,363
    Superuser
    edited June 2019 Accepted Answer
    Hi @cire1042tt

Regarding your POI files these can be loaded onto your Premium using the MyDrive Website.

https://mydrive.tomtom.com/en_gb

When you go to the website and log into your Account you have the options to Create Routes and Send or Save them to sync to your Premium and also you can add Poi and Route files to your Premium and it will backup your favourites (MyPlaces) you create on your Premium.

Here is videos to help you .

https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/discussion/1037877/creating-your-own-routes-with-mydrive

https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/discussion/1034225/how-to-import-pois-gpx-files-and-favourites-in-mydrive/p1?new=1

If you need any more information do not hesitate to ask. @yamfazman has some useful information to help you get your old POI files of the old unit and load on the new one. Hopefully he will come on here and show you how.

Hope this helps.

Doug
    Superuser
    Then read my edited post telling you how too.