New GO premium will not connect to PC — TomTom Community

New GO premium will not connect to PC

After much pestering from TomTom about my old XL being obsolete and making me offers to upgrade I finally purchased a GO Premium. Firstly it is a nightmare trying to get it to connect to my PC via MyDrive. I have tried on both my PCs and on my neighbour's PC, I have followed every suggestion on TomTom websites and disscussion groups . Most suggestions are just repeats of what others have already said and of no help whatsoever. Secondly I now find, contrary to what I was told by TomTom that I cannot transfer my hundreds of important POIs from my old XL.
PLEASE can anyone help without repeating all the old obvious suggestions.
I am not a novice with computing and had my first desktop back in 1984 !!

Thanks to whoever can help me.

Best Answer

Answers

• YamFazManYamFazMan Posts: 17,687
    Superusers
    edited June 2019
    Hi
    @cire1042tt
    cire1042tt wrote: »
    After much pestering from TomTom about my old XL being obsolete and making me offers to upgrade I finally purchased a GO Premium. Firstly it is a nightmare trying to get it to connect to my PC via MyDrive. I have tried on both my PCs and on my neighbour's PC, I have followed every suggestion on TomTom websites and disscussion groups . Most suggestions are just repeats of what others have already said and of no help whatsoever
    The NAV5 (Wi-Fi) devices like you’re GO Premium normally update using Wi-Fi...
    Tomtom recommend a minimum Wi-Fi download speed of 30Mbps
    Tomtom NAV5 (Wi-Fi) devices will only connect to a 2.4GHz Wi-Fi network
    All the update actions are executed on the device...

If Wi-Fi is not available or is slow/unstable/unreliable.....
    See Option... (2) Connect over USB

Option... (1) Connected Wi-Fi
    Tap the 4Dot(.... Menu) --> Setting --> Updates & New Items
    Extra Maps are Installed/Maintained... Tap the 4Dot(.... Menu) --> Setting --> Maps