3 year old unit suddenly unsupported — TomTom Community

3 year old unit suddenly unsupported

JakeHJakeH Posts: 5 [Apprentice Traveler]
Why am I unable to purchase an extended subscription for my satnav which is just 3 years old and is still being sold as part of NEW Smart cars!
Tagged:

Answers

• JakeHJakeH Posts: 5 [Apprentice Traveler]
    ^^^ Apologies, I'm new to this sort of thing ... Satnav is integral to a SMART FOR4 which is just 3 years old. It appears Tomtom claim these units are "end of life", not now supported, subscription renewals not being accepted BUT the exactly similar units (same model) are installed in brand new SMART cars on sale right now.

Grateful if anyone is able to square this problem away.

Thanks
  • YamFazManYamFazMan Posts: 15,084 Superusers
    Hi
    @JakeH

Did you receive an Email notifying you of EOL "End of life"
    have you owned a previous earlier Tomtom Model... could it be another Tomtom device that you have owned ???

Find the model of your navigation device and what software it uses
    https://uk.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/9508/locale/en_GB

ATB YFM
    Good afternoon YamFazMan, thank you for taking the time to respond to my question. Things have moved on a tad since yesterday and I now have the proper serial No for my device in place of info which came from the Smart dealer! Seems that IJ units ARE still supported.

My guess is that problem may be down to the recent "Son of Millenium Bug" thing. I'll need to give that a go ....

Again, thanks for your interest. If you have any other insights I'd be grateful to hear.
  • andrew_smithandrew_smith Posts: 2 [Apprentice Traveler]
    did you get a solution as i have the same problem 3 year old smart car with smart media system and no way to purchase a renewal. Smart and or tom tom are useless i am going round in circles
    Not really, Andrew. Helpful people on a 435 forum have suggested:-