Signaling closed road to party, completely ignored — TomTom Community

Signaling closed road to party, completely ignored

sir_clasir_cla Posts: 38 [Outstanding Explorer]
edited January 11 in Map quality
I am depressed. Every time I mark a closure for any reason, TomTom ignores it.
I took a test. I tried to report an evening closing, from 8pm to 12pm every night this week. I sent this report to Waze, Tomtom, Google Maps and Apple Maps.
Result:
- Waze: on the same evening the segment appeared on the map
- Google Maps: it took a day longer, but Google also noted and made my change valid
- TomTom: nothing. The report has been accepted, but the closure has not been considered on the map. The report is July 9th and we are at July 15th, the last day when the road will be closed
- Apple = Tomtom, but Apple still relies blindly on the Dutch, which I hope will stop doing as soon as possible.

That's why I'm dejected. Tomtom has a free resource, that is us, users, and does not consider us!

Comments

  • MegalosMegalos Posts: 5,831 Superusers
    Hi, how exactly did you report the temporary closure? Did you report as a temporary closure > road construction work?
  • sir_clasir_cla Posts: 38 [Outstanding Explorer]
    of course
    and it's not the first time I tryd1ff7690-1690-470a-97e7-6bc3eff7198f.png
  • NiallNiall Posts: 10,597 Superuser
    @sir_cla

    Unfortunately you made no reference to any official site(s) to backup your report like https://www.santarcangelofestival.com
  • sir_clasir_cla Posts: 38 [Outstanding Explorer]
    did not even do it in Google or Waze. They probably trust their users.
  • sir_clasir_cla Posts: 38 [Outstanding Explorer]
    place the images of both Waze and Google, just to confirm what I wrote.
    I'm sorry but if TOMTOM does not give users the ability to change the maps really, without the supervision of I do not know who, has little lightc7c5255e-4c3d-4520-94aa-7b49ba613da3.pngb867330a-627a-4286-bfb9-978d720ceef0.png
  • sir_clasir_cla Posts: 38 [Outstanding Explorer]
    So, to understand ...
    If I would like to close a stretch of road, always in Santarcangelo di Romagna, where I live. In this period there are works for the sewage system. Furthermore, it is a road that, in the event of heavy traffic, can be an alternative to reach the motorway.
    Let's see if, attaching the news of a local newspaper, the change this time is accepted ... but who better than I live there can be useful?

    https://www.altarimini.it/News106000-santarcangelo-lavori-alla-rete-fognaria-chiuso-un-tratto-di-via-ronchi.php


    I had already reported 2 times...
    6b1f1293-04c2-4c7b-84c8-6f95d02790bb
    d1c47898-0b5d-4490-85ae-657de9dfcd87

    @Niall @Megalos
  • MegalosMegalos Posts: 5,831 Superusers
    You mean this stretch: https://mydrive.tomtom.com/en_gb/#mode=routes+viewport=44.06977,12.45655,18,0,-0+search={"input":"Via%20Ronchi%20&%20Via%20San%20Vito,%2047822%20Santarcangelo%20di%20Romagna%20Emilia%20Romagna,%20ITA","coords":%5B44.07055,12.44723%5D%7D+routes=%7B"departure":true,"traffic":true,"routeType":"FASTEST","travelMode":"CAR","date":"1534486200000","points":%5B"hw~44.0697,12.45565~A~Via%20Padre%20Tosi,%20Santarcangelo%20Di%20Romagna,%20ITA","hw~44.06977,12.45808~A~Via%20Padre%20Tosi%20135,%20Santarcangelo%20Di%20Romagna,%20ITA"%5D,"avoidCriteria":%5B%5D%7D+ver=3 ? Seems that one is already closed.
  • sir_clasir_cla Posts: 38 [Outstanding Explorer]
    Megalos wrote:
    You mean this stretch: https://mydrive.tomtom.com/en_gb/#mode=routes+viewport=44.06977,12.45655,18,0,-0+search={"input":"Via%20Ronchi%20&%20Via%20San%20Vito,%2047822%20Santarcangelo%20di%20Romagna%20Emilia%20Romagna,%20ITA","coords":%5B44.07055,12.44723%5D%7D+routes=%7B"departure":true,"traffic":true,"routeType":"FASTEST","travelMode":"CAR","date":"1534486200000","points":%5B"hw~44.0697,12.45565~A~Via%20Padre%20Tosi,%20Santarcangelo%20Di%20Romagna,%20ITA","hw~44.06977,12.45808~A~Via%20Padre%20Tosi%20135,%20Santarcangelo%20Di%20Romagna,%20ITA"%5D,"avoidCriteria":%5B%5D%7D+ver=3 ? Seems that one is already closed.
    I can not open the link, however the closed one is correct. But my report concerns the stretch of Via Ronchi over the railway, in correspondence of the already closed section of Via Tosi
  • MegalosMegalos Posts: 5,831 Superusers
    Mm, usually we can copy the URL of the MyDriveWeb page to share a route. Seems that indeed that one is not working now. Could you share exactly where the road closure is, the one you mean? Perhaps a picture, or two coordinates (or in words, between which and which street)? Is it still closed? If so, until when?
  • sir_clasir_cla Posts: 38 [Outstanding Explorer]
    Via Ronchi is closed from the intersection with Via Colancone, at 44.07209 ° N 12.45938 ° E.
  • sir_clasir_cla Posts: 38 [Outstanding Explorer]
    it seems until September 30th. I commit myself to monitor the situation and to report any changes to it
  • sir_clasir_cla Posts: 38 [Outstanding Explorer]
    Tonight passing in Rimini I found this road closed and I reported it through this d5caeba8-e2d7-4993-bc45-67b06405c5b6
    Can I ask to insert this closure too? Sorry, I just want to improve the TomTom user guide
  • sir_clasir_cla Posts: 38 [Outstanding Explorer]
    two questions:

    The closure of which we have talked so much, via Ronchi Santarcangelo, is not yet active.

    However, the closure d5caeba8-e2d7-4993-bc45-67b06405c5b6 had been activated, which I had reported. But I had written that the works would last until July 25, how is it possible that only one day was the closure on the map?
  • sir_clasir_cla Posts: 38 [Outstanding Explorer]
    one can live close to the problem, it can be time to report it, it can signal a lack on the forum, it can do everything, but in the end, the closure of via Ronchi has never been inserted
    
    @Megalos
  • MegalosMegalos Posts: 5,831 Superusers
    I reported it too, but indeed no luck it seems. I'll see if I can tell to the TomTom people.
  • leexgxleexgx Posts: 28 [Prominent Wayfarer]
    Typically the people who review the traffic road closures and roadworks on waze and Google already know about the websites for that particular country (so if you don't have the website for the road closures they usually know where to go to get that info) and you norm find especially on Waze there is a community person that will cover a region so most road related stuff will all ready be qued up ( seems like on TomTom there's only like maybe at best two people doing all the work for the maps reviews)

    where as the people who are looking at the reports on TomTom are obviously not going out of their way to actually check official roadworks website for that region which this typically only 1 or 2 for most countries (and for missing roads I guess just checking Waze mite Be good Enough)

    I do find that most planned roadworks do appear on TomTom (assuming you have live Subscription and active data or for Bluetooth only xx or xxx tomtom devices when it works )

    Still need to fix the tomtom go for android as It's broke under android 9 (pie) at time of posting
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online19

254michael
254michael
Blowfly
Blowfly
scheibenklar
scheibenklar
+16 Guests