Tomtom Rider 550 issues and suggestions for FW updates

philvdkh
philvdkh Registered Users Posts: 7
Master Traveler
edited January 2019 in RIDER
I was positively surprised when I saw the first reviews of the new rider 550. It seemed to have a quick response, track imports, WiFi for updates and synchronizing tracks and POI's, and other new features.

I've been using Garmin Zumo's for over 10 years (550, 660, NAV5) and even got the new 396LT-S also with WiFi and etc.

First the issues that I have:
  • My 550 connected to iPhone X and Sena S20 are troubled. Need to hard turn off the 550 or/and phone and headset to get things working.
  • Streaming audio from the iPhone sometimes is stuttered.
  • Streaming audio from the iPhone seems to stop the 550 from giving navigation instructions (from time to time).
  • This also happens in my case when using "speak after tone" instruction to iPhone X. the 550 stops giving nav instructions.
  • Overall I think the bluetooth is to unstable for me. Needing to pair 3 devices in different directions it gets hard to detect the issue as a customer.
After paring a Jabra Street 2 (small hanger with in ears used in helmet) I must admit that the BT connection was more stable and I had A2DP nav instructions and could play songs from my iPhone X all together but with this device I loose intercom and phone options and can not give cmd's to my iPhone.

Next the things I discovered and could IMHO be improved in future firmware updates.
  • Recording while driving should be always "on" and split into day trips automatically. It's rather stupid to have it set to "record" or "stop".
  • Next recorded track can NOT be synchronized with other devices or TT MyDrive webapp. This I can not get! Recorded tracks when shared have to be exported via the sd card. Why, the new Rider has internet cloud connection !