GO Mobile (Android)- No Traffic Information any more after v1.11 in Canary Island — TomTom Community

GO Mobile (Android)- No Traffic Information any more after v1.11 in Canary Island

Jmoreno40Jmoreno40 Posts: 9 [Legendary Explorer]
Surprise!
When I stay in Canary Islands, traffic and speed cameras don't work.
Today, I am in Coruña (Spain too), and traffic and speed cameras work perfectly!
What's the problem in Canary islands (Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)?dd6c574a-3dc5-4ccc-a046-df64e49fb23b.png






Return to Canary Islands now. No traffic. No speedcam.

TOMTOM, CANARY IS S P A I N !!!

4a01d3a2-d546-43d4-96be-713b52704668.png




It's totally indifferent WiFi and 4G data connection in La Coruña... Work always.
And it's totally indifferent WiFi and 4G data connection in Las Palmas... Don't work never.

I had tried with Yoigo, Movistar and Vodafone and with a lot of different smartphone and tablets:
Continental Spain - ALWAYS.
Canary Island - NEVER EVER.

And I say again:
v1.11 works fine.
v1.12 and up, don't work.

It is not my smartphone. It is not my providers.

e2d77181-c27c-4e95-a2cd-60d276677694.png
c76b4421-d9ff-40da-82d2-e0cf77057049.png
«1

Comments

  • NiallNiall Posts: 10,691 Superuser
    @Jmoreno40

    Just a thought is there any 2G coverage in the Canaries? As this might affect traffic updates
  • Jmoreno40Jmoreno40 Posts: 9 [Legendary Explorer]
    Niall wrote:
    @Jmoreno40


    Just a thought is there any 2G coverage in the Canaries? As this might affect traffic updates

    the same as in La Coruña, practically
    see here for Gran Canaria and here for La Coruña.
  • lampardlampard Posts: 4,532 TomTom Moderator
    Hi Jmoreno40 ,

    Welcome to the Community!

    Thanks you for flagging this one! There seems to be an outage with TomTom Services specific to these islands.

    I've now reported this to the team to investigate further and keep you posted here once there's an update.

    Cheers, lampard
  • Jmoreno40Jmoreno40 Posts: 9 [Legendary Explorer]
    Hi,
    I'm communicating this issue to TomTom support since version 1.12 (October 2016 more or less) via email from my account and via this forum. How much more time to the action?

    Regards.
  • jgmoreno75jgmoreno75 Posts: 51 [Apprentice Traveler]
    I have come back to Continental Spain and traffic and the speedcams work fine again.
    When will it had a solution this problem? Canary Islands is Spain too.
  • Jmoreno40Jmoreno40 Posts: 9 [Legendary Explorer]
    New version and everything remains the same.
  • AsprinAsprin Posts: 271 [Supreme Pioneer]
    @Jmoreno40,

    When you use Google or Waze apps does traffic show?

    Have you removed TomTomGO completely from you smartphone along with the folders and shut your smartphone down?

    Then did you do a new install??

    What smartphone are you using and android version?

    Do you know anyone else on the island that uses TomTomGO and are they having problems?

    Seeing that no matter what version TomTomGO you have installed seems not to give you traffic that in itself I find strange.

    There is something wrong some place as to where it is that is hard to say.

    I think starting over with a clean install would be your best bet at this point.
  • jgmoreno75jgmoreno75 Posts: 51 [Apprentice Traveler]
    Asprin624 wrote:
    @Jmoreno40,

    When you use Google or Waze apps does traffic show?

    Have you removed TomTomGO completely from you smartphone along with the folders and shut your smartphone down?

    Then did you do a new install??

    What smartphone are you using and android version?

    Do you know anyone else on the island that uses TomTomGO and are they having problems?

    Seeing that no matter what version TomTomGO you have installed seems not to give you traffic that in itself I find strange.

    There is something wrong some place as to where it is that is hard to say.

    I think starting over with a clean install would be your best bet at this point.

    1- YES
    2- YES
    3- YES
    4- A lot of versions and a lot of smartphones.
    5- YES, everybody have the same problem.

    Have you read and understood anything of the first post? ?

    Regards.
  • lampardlampard Posts: 4,532 TomTom Moderator
    Hi All,

    This seems to be phone specific, can you please tell us which phone model and android version installed on your phone?

    Regards, lampard
  • jgmoreno75jgmoreno75 Posts: 51 [Apprentice Traveler]
    lampard wrote:
    Hi All,

    This seems to be phone specific, can you please tell us which phone model and android version installed on your phone?

    Regards, lampard

    ??‍♂️ Please, can you read and understand all topic? The problem is TomTom in Canary Islands.

    A lot of smartphones (Xiaomi, Samsung, Nexus, Blackview, Huawei,...), A lot of companies (Movistar, Yoigo, Vodafone,...) and a lot of Android, Miui and eMiui versions.

    I REPEAT:
    Continental Spain - ALWAYS.
    Canary Island - NEVER EVER.

    And I say again:
    v1.11 works fine.
    v1.12 and up, don't work.

    Regards.

    PS: Please, read and understand all topic. Thanks.
  • lampardlampard Posts: 4,532 TomTom Moderator
    ??‍♂️ Please, can you read and understand all topic? The problem is TomTom in Canary Islands.

    A lot of smartphones (Xiaomi, Samsung, Nexus, Blackview, Huawei,...), A lot of companies (Movistar, Yoigo, Vodafone,...) and a lot of Android, Miui and eMiui versions.

    I REPEAT:Continental Spain - ALWAYS.
    Canary Island - NEVER EVER.

    And I say again:
    v1.11 works fine.
    v1.12 and up, don't work.

    Regards.

    PS: Please, read and understand all topic. Thanks.

    Hi,

    Which smartphone you're using and what's the Android version installed on it? We tested this with Pixel 2 and it works fine.

    Regards, lampard
  • jgmoreno75jgmoreno75 Posts: 51 [Apprentice Traveler]
    lampard wrote:
    ??‍♂️ Please, can you read and understand all topic? The problem is TomTom in Canary Islands.

    A lot of smartphones (Xiaomi, Samsung, Nexus, Blackview, Huawei,...), A lot of companies (Movistar, Yoigo, Vodafone,...) and a lot of Android, Miui and eMiui versions.

    I REPEAT:Continental Spain - ALWAYS.
    Canary Island - NEVER EVER.

    And I say again:
    v1.11 works fine.
    v1.12 and up, don't work.

    Regards.

    PS: Please, read and understand all topic. Thanks.
    Hi,

    Which smartphone you're using and what's the Android version installed on it? We tested this with Pixel 2 and it works fine.

    Regards, lampard

    Had you drive in Canary Islands?
  • AsprinAsprin Posts: 271 [Supreme Pioneer]
    @jgmoreno75,

    Why so angry??

    User's are only trying to help and get a better picture of your problems.

    lampard asked a very simple question and you do not answer it.

    I asked the same question and got no answer.

    So please what smartphone are we talking about that you are using right now and the Android version.

    If you are not willing to give detailed info why should anyone want to help you.
  • jgmoreno75jgmoreno75 Posts: 51 [Apprentice Traveler]
    Asprin624 wrote:
    @jgmoreno75,

    Why so angry??

    User's are only trying to help and get a better picture of your problems.

    lampard asked a very simple question and you do not answer it.

    I asked the same question and got no answer.

    So please what smartphone are we talking about that you are using right now and the Android version.

    If you are not willing to give detailed info why should anyone want to help you.

    I do not get angry. I do not like that the topics are lengthened by not reading well. If you read well, you will find that everything is answered several times. Absolutely everything.

    Sorry for the misunderstanding.

    Regards.
  • jgmoreno75jgmoreno75 Posts: 51 [Apprentice Traveler]
    A lot of smartphones mean:
    - Xiaomi mi5 (Android AOSP 7.1.2)
    - Xiaomi Redmi 3S Prime (last miui and down)
    - Xiaomi Redmi Note 4 (last miui and down)
    - Blackview BV 5000 (Android 8 and down)
    - 2 Nexus 5 (last update Google both)
    - Nexus 7 (last update Google)
    - Samsung S7 and S8
    - Huawei P20 (last emiui)
    etc,...

    A lot of Internet companies mean:
    - Vodafone Spain
    - Movistar Spain
    - Yoigo Spain

    And now, can you read the first post again, please?

    Thanks.
  • jgmoreno75jgmoreno75 Posts: 51 [Apprentice Traveler]
    Jmoreno40 and Jgmoreno75 is the same person: Me ??‍♂️
  • AsprinAsprin Posts: 271 [Supreme Pioneer]
    @Jmoreno40 and Jgmoreno75,

    OK lets say you had no problems transferring your TomTom account from one smartphone to the next and we are talking what 10 Smartphones.

    They all worked with no problems with your TomTom account being switched from one Smartphone to the next over a year in Spain ???

    Now what I do not understand is that you switched your provider a minimum of 3 times in one year.

    You had to cancel one provider and then setup a new provider

    This was done 3 times in one year???

    Why????

    Now you say you have no problems while in Spain.

    You go over to the Canary Islands and not one provider that you had a contract with works with 4G or WIFI.

    This is only with TomTomGO or are there other apps you have problems with???

    OR are you using one of the free hot spots from one of the providers???

    Now if you go into a Starbucks or a hotel and use their free WIFI does TomTomGo work with WIFI???

    I still question this switching of one Smartphone to another and switching providers are causing all the problems.

    We are talking a lot of Smartphones in one year that you kept switching.

    One of the versions of TomTomGO should of worked

    One of these Smartphones should of worked

    One of these providers should of worked

    Something does not add up here.

    I have been in the IT business for a very long time and have run into a lot of strange things not working for one reason or another.

    But so many Smartphones, TomTomGO versions and different providers.

    The law of averages should have gotten one to work.

    But everything failing.........

    PS:

    I have read all your posts in both names.......
  • jgmoreno75jgmoreno75 Posts: 51 [Apprentice Traveler]
    Asprin624 wrote:
    @Jmoreno40 and Jgmoreno75,

    OK lets say you had no problems transferring your TomTom account from one smartphone to the next and we are talking what 10 Smartphones.

    They all worked with no problems with your TomTom account being switched from one Smartphone to the next over a year in Spain ???

    Now what I do not understand is that you switched your provider a minimum of 3 times in one year.

    You had to cancel one provider and then setup a new provider

    This was done 3 times in one year???

    Why????

    Now you say you have no problems while in Spain.

    You go over to the Canary Islands and not one provider that you had a contract with works with 4G or WIFI.

    This is only with TomTomGO or are there other apps you have problems with???

    OR are you using one of the free hot spots from one of the providers???

    Now if you go into a Starbucks or a hotel and use their free WIFI does TomTomGo work with WIFI???

    I still question this switching of one Smartphone to another and switching providers are causing all the problems.

    We are talking a lot of Smartphones in one year that you kept switching.

    One of the versions of TomTomGO should of worked

    One of these Smartphones should of worked

    One of these providers should of worked

    Something does not add up here.

    I have been in the IT business for a very long time and have run into a lot of strange things not working for one reason or another.

    But so many Smartphones, TomTomGO versions and different providers.

    The law of averages should have gotten one to work.

    But everything failing.........

    PS:

    I have read all your posts in both names.......

    Smartphones of different people and different companies. Nobody said that they were all mine. It does not work with 4G or WiFi.

    Canary Islands is Spain too.
  • AsprinAsprin Posts: 271 [Supreme Pioneer]
    Well all you do are go around in circles.

    While others are trying to get to the bottom of your problems.

    And I repeat your problems

    Not 10 other user's

    NO where have you posted with your 2 accounts that you are talking about others.

    You have posted that this is your problem with TomTomGO.

    As of today you have not told anyone:

    What phone you are using!!!!

    What android version you are using !!!!

    What provider you are using !!!!

    What other apps are running while you are using TomTomGO !!!!

    Or answered any of the questions that have been asked of you.

    In order to solve at problem you work on one user's smartphone or tablet.

    Try to get down to why you are having these problems.

    Ask questions of that user not what 10 other user have or have not.

    Keeping the inquire as simple as possible for that user.

    Stay focused on that user's problems.

    TomTom is no closer to helping you fix the problems if you keep going around in circles and not give straight answers for your problems.

    Again your problems.

    You let each one of those user's post their problems or contact TomTom with their problems.

    No 2 users or phones have the same problems.
    They might seem to be the same problems but could be very different.

    That why it is important for each user to post their problems not one use posting
    problems with 10 or more other users making like these are all your problems

    There is never a clear picture of the real problems you are having.

    I quote you form your first post:

    Surprise!
    When I stay in Canary Islands, traffic and speed cameras don't work.
    Today, I am in Coruña (Spain too), and traffic and speed cameras work perfectly!

    I had tried with Yoigo, Movistar and Vodafone and with a lot of different smartphone and tablets:

    Maybe you need to re read your first post too.........

    So I wash my hands of this topic because it is not going anywhere.
  • jgmoreno75jgmoreno75 Posts: 51 [Apprentice Traveler]
    Asprin624 wrote:
    Well all you do are go around in circles.

    So I wash my hands of this topic because it is not going anywhere.

    Thanks, thank you so much! ?. I needed to not answer questions already answered clearly. Thanks so much again and sorry for representing my co-workers.

    Regards.
  • SinglePointSafetySinglePointSafety Posts: 18 [Master Explorer]
    Asprin624, I'm sure it's not your intention, but the tone of your replies is hostile, unnecessarily defensive of TomTom, and unhelpful (in this and other threads, as it happens). The OP has given us sufficient detail (various phones, various Android releases, various carriers) that strongly suggests that in the Canary Islands, TT traffic information does not work, although it works perfectly elsewhere.

    Lampard's reply is interesting, but lacks the crucial bit of information - does TT traffic info work with the stated phone (ie Pixel 2) **in the Canary Islands** ? Which, to be fair, the OP also queried. If it does, then things get interesting.....

    I've had instances - in the UK - of TT traffic not working one day, but working the next, and TT then finally admitting that there had been a network problem. Perhaps the evidence supplied by the OP is sufficient for TT to at least investigate this in the Canary islands - would be then very interesting if this investigation shows that TT believe traffic is indeed working there. That would help the OP in his/her quest to identify the cause of what appears - on the evidence supplied - to be a very reproducible localised issue.

    After all, the point of this forum is to help each other, and help TT to improve their product and sort out our problems.
  • AsprinAsprin Posts: 271 [Supreme Pioneer]
    @SinglePointSafety,

    That is your opinion of me and you have the right to express that.

    But lets look at what is going on here.

    It start with all was working and after that nothing.

    V1.11 June 15 2016 was working what smartphone and provider (unkown)
    v1.12 Aug 10 2016
    v1.13.1 Nov 3 2016
    v1.13.2 Nov 16 2016
    v1.14 Dec 8 2018
    v1.14.1 Dec 22 2016
    v1.15 Feb 21 2017
    v1.16 April 12 2017
    v1.16.1 May 8 2017
    v1.17 Aug 11 2017
    v1.17.1 Oct 8 2017
    v1.17.2 Aug 13 2018
    v1.17.3 Aug 21 2018

    With the law of averages one of these versions of TomTomGO should of worked with one these Smartphones and provider.

    But it did not....

    Now we are talking a group of user's and is stated co-workers.

    All with the same problems.

    Different smartphones
    Different versions of Android
    Different provider

    Again 1 or 2 of these Smartpones should of worked.

    But no 4G and no WIFI for TomTomGO while in Las Palmas with all the co-worker and himself.

    This does not add up in anyway.

    Something is blocking access or one or more apps are blocking access to all these smartphones and providers.

    I can understand 1 or 2 smartphones having this problem but not all of them.

    If this were the case then every person using TomTomGO while on vacation or living in the Canary Islands would be posting a complaint.

    But that is not happening.

    This is only happening to the group of user's all being co-workers.

    That in itself should raise some flags as to where this problem is coming from.


    But as long as there is no detailed info on just one smartphone there is not starting point.

    It is very hard to do any troubleshooting when a group of co-workers are posted in the same post by one person.

    TomTom needs a starting point to properly troubleshooting and that all boils down to one person who is have this problem and giving detail as to his or her smartphone.

    Be it here or contacting TomTom direct.

    And yes all the co-works should be posting their problems also with detail info.

    Then TomTom has a clear picture of what is really going on here.

    That is the proper way to run down a problem or problems.

    PS:

    This has nothing to with defensive of TomTom.

    It is simple troubleshooting and getting to the fact and problems in the quickest way.

    And I do not find that hostile in anyway.
  • jgmoreno75jgmoreno75 Posts: 51 [Apprentice Traveler]
    Asprin624 wrote:
    @SinglePointSafety,

    That is your opinion of me and you have the right to express that.

    But lets look at what is going on here.

    It start with all was working and after that nothing.

    V1.11 June 15 2016 was working what smartphone and provider (unkown)
    v1.12 Aug 10 2016
    v1.13.1 Nov 3 2016
    v1.13.2 Nov 16 2016
    v1.14 Dec 8 2018
    v1.14.1 Dec 22 2016
    v1.15 Feb 21 2017
    v1.16 April 12 2017
    v1.16.1 May 8 2017
    v1.17 Aug 11 2017
    v1.17.1 Oct 8 2017
    v1.17.2 Aug 13 2018
    v1.17.3 Aug 21 2018

    With the law of averages one of these versions of TomTomGO should of worked with one these Smartphones and provider.

    But it did not....

    Now we are talking a group of user's and is stated co-workers.

    All with the same problems.

    Different smartphones
    Different versions of Android
    Different provider

    Again 1 or 2 of these Smartpones should of worked.

    But no 4G and no WIFI for TomTomGO while in Las Palmas with all the co-worker and himself.

    This does not add up in anyway.

    Something is blocking access or one or more apps are blocking access to all these smartphones and providers.

    I can understand 1 or 2 smartphones having this problem but not all of them.

    If this were the case then every person using TomTomGO while on vacation or living in the Canary Islands would be posting a complaint.

    But that is not happening.

    This is only happening to the group of user's all being co-workers.

    That in itself should raise some flags as to where this problem is coming from.


    But as long as there is no detailed info on just one smartphone there is not starting point.

    It is very hard to do any troubleshooting when a group of co-workers are posted in the same post by one person.

    TomTom needs a starting point to properly troubleshooting and that all boils down to one person who is have this problem and giving detail as to his or her smartphone.

    Be it here or contacting TomTom direct.

    And yes all the co-works should be posting their problems also with detail info.

    Then TomTom has a clear picture of what is really going on here.

    That is the proper way to run down a problem or problems.

    PS:

    This has nothing to with defensive of TomTom.

    It is simple troubleshooting and getting to the fact and problems in the quickest way.

    And I do not find that hostile in anyway.

    What part have you not understood that I am in the Iberian Peninsula and it works, then I take a plane (3h), I arrive in Las Palmas and it does not work?

    Tomorrow night I'm going to Malaga. I will be with a Xiaomi mi5 LineageOS 14.1 (the same since v1.11) and Vodafone (before Movistar). I will post a screenshot before take off, other when I arrive and other with WiFi of a different provider.

    Regards.
  • PinoooPinooo Posts: 19 [Renowned Trailblazer]
    I've checked it out with my phone (using an app faking the GPS location). Same problem occurs. Encountered the same problem in Slovenia (PND, MyDrive worked fine there).

    @lampard : This problem might need further investigation :)

    Three cases:
    1. Faked GPS-location with map Iberia, location Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
    2. Faked GPS-location with map Iberia, location Malaga
    3. Real GPS-location with map middle Europe, location somewhere in Belgium
    Used phone and software: Samsung Galaxy S7, Android 8.0, latest app of TomTom and TomTom Mydrive.
    2663694f-b718-4203-8b7b-a1b1d6544273.jpg9cb5a183-d064-4958-9f22-9ec616d053e7.jpg
    Case1 : Faked GPS-location with map Iberia, location Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
    App and map version:
    0a3d73c1-f187-4bb0-bf61-7c4a78f2a85c.jpg
    Overview picture:
    f8092d20-2d5a-4e49-a440-10b0d566d630.jpg
    Detail from "Menu":
    982075b5-177e-4319-b582-23b7115e4315.jpg
    Same location with MyDrive App:
    40516303-b090-469e-8099-c9ed515c8d3c.jpg

    Case 2: Faked GPS-location with map Iberia, location Malaga
    App and map version:
    0a3d73c1-f187-4bb0-bf61-7c4a78f2a85c.jpg
    Overview picture:
    1c41779a-8c49-4a58-889e-bc95464e5790.jpg
    Detail from "Menu":
    2622be74-4f6f-4fc0-a21e-0e3bc4d5dfd8.jpg
    Case 3: Real GPS-location with map middle Europe, location somewhere in Belgium
    App and map version:
    07fb6a0f-ae91-4bf8-8dd3-26fe10e0e870.jpg
    Overview picture:

    Detail from "Menu":
    3f524674-9bfe-4fb3-bc75-8ca7a632e380.jpg
  • [Gelöschter Benutzer][Gelöschter Benutzer] Posts: 5,321 [Revered Navigator]
    Pinooo wrote:
    Encountered the same problem in Slovenia (PND, MyDrive worked fine there).
    https://uk.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/20719/locale/en_GB
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online in this Category0