Heart rate monitoring on runner 2 cardio fails intermittently

Speedy Gonzales
Speedy Gonzales Registered Users Posts: 6
Apprentice Traveler
edited January 24 in TomTom Sports
During a run the HR displayed on the TT runner 2 cardio displays "---" and the HR icon blinks as if TT is trying to find a pulse. I've stopped, wiped my arm and the lens on the TT, but the TT fails to locate a pulse. After a few minutes a pulse is found. Air temperature was 15C, windy, and cool. No excessive sweat on the wrist.

Example: on a 30 minute run at easy pace, the TT stopped recording HR for a sum total of 10 minutes. This despite stopping to clean the lens on the TT and make certain my wrist was clean and the TT properly positioned. I tested the right wrist and HR displays for a few seconds, then stops, showing "---". I have been using the TT since March 2016 and have never noticed this problem before. It is now 21 July 2017.

As another test, I have been monitoring HR 24/7 with goals set for steps; HR on. When I view HR the next day on the MySports website there are several hour gaps - even during the night - when no HR was detected. As a result I suspect the HR function is defective mechanically.

BTW, I am on the beat test. Perhaps the software is faulty in the beta test?
Any ideas?

Comments

• tfarabaugh
    tfarabaugh Posts: 16,949
     Superuser
    If you are on the beta test, you should be posting this on the beta forum only. It may be a faulty sensor, so I would post it on the beta forum and see if they want to replace the device.

I hope this helped answer your question. If so, please mark it as a solution so others can look for it if they have the same question.
  • Speedy Gonzales
    Apprentice Traveler
    I just discovered how to do this through a special tab on my MySport page. However, there is no way a comment can be answered directly under the beta test.

I'll let you know.
  • tfarabaugh
    tfarabaugh Posts: 16,949
     Superuser