Stolen device UK

My TomTom Start 60 UK is set to actively transmit. I reported it stolen last week and gave police the serial number. Can TomTom help trace it?

Comments

• dhndhn Posts: 33,155 Superusers
    The device is a receiver and isn't sending a signal that allows for tracing. It's not like a smartphone in that respect.
  • JRPGJRPG Posts: 3 [Apprentice Traveler]
    Hi dhn, and thanks for a rapid response. I'm a retired radar software engineer, admittedly much more familiar with Garmin products than TomTom but my understanding is that it is a receiver which also can transmit data on route changes etc. to TomTom for the purpose of updating maps. Regards JRPG
  • dhndhn Posts: 33,155 Superusers
    Yes but there is no identification associated with the device when it does to my understanding.
  • JRPGJRPG Posts: 3 [Apprentice Traveler]
    Hi Elite Vanguard & Apprentice Traveller. I know there are significant issues of privacy -plus potential conflict with tracker technology here but I believe my device was stolen from a locked car using a radio signal & the problem is getting worse. The serial number is equivalent to a database key and a former software engineer and I cannot believe it isn't transmitted even if it's later discarded. Existing number plate recognition technology means the authorities can track anyone but I would pay extra for a device that could lead police to a thief and the cost would, I believe be negligible. If the device looked like an ordinary TomTom, thieves would quickly lose interest. Regards JRPG
  • dmulvdmulv Posts: 603 Superuser
    You're right JRPG, location information along with identifying information relating to your device and username is transmitted - however it's TomTom's policy to later remove this to allay privacy concerns.

From this page: