TomTom- No GPS Signal 2019 | Week Number Roll-Over | TIMER Reset 00.00 | Error-"You cannot use this map"

https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/discussion/1112782/tomtom-no-gps-signal-2019#latest

TomTom GO Mobile-app not for Nexus 6P?

Comments

• Motty2012Motty2012 Posts: 7 [Legendary Explorer]
    It's absolutely to do with the Tomtom app and they need to fix it.
  • walkerxwalkerx Posts: 248 [Master Explorer]
    whoops noticed i've just noticed had put hardware instead of software, but i know other developers are blaming the operating system and hardware for their apps not to work, even though their apps work on the same operating system on another phone
  • RafaelRamosRafaelRamos Posts: 19 TomTom Employee
    Hi everyone,

Rafael here. I'm an engineer in the team that develops the TomTom Go Mobile for Android.

First, I'd like to apologize for having to temporarily remove the support for the Nexus 5x and the Nexus 6p.
    The reason why we did this was because we noticed that the app was taking an unreasonable amount of time to load on those devices. We're talking about 45+ seconds just to start the app, which I suppose we all agree that is unacceptable.

After some extensive investigation on our side, we found out that the delay is caused by the introduction of a new file system on Android Marshmallow and this new file system is not performing optimally in all situations. We even raised a ticket directly with Google to get if fixed. But, we still wanted to make the app available as soon as possible to our Nexus 5x/6p users so we continued working on fixes for this bug.
    As of now, there are two potential fixes that improve the performance of the app on those phones and we are in the process of testing them.

I can already tell you that the loading times dropped significantly, which is a very encouraging sign.

I will keep you all updated.

Again, sorry for the inconvenience.

Cheers,
    Rafael
  • GregH1GregH1 Posts: 6 [Master Explorer]