traffic

b4u2
b4u2 Registered Users Posts: 58
Outstanding Explorer
I just reset my tomtom go 6200 and since then noticed that not getting trafic signal and service which is rather frustrating and i am really not sure what to do about it?
Please help me out with this
Thank you all in advance

Answers

  • Jim07
    Jim07 Administrators Posts: 4,751
    Moderator
    @b4u2

    If you go to settings, system, about my device is the GPRS "disconnected"? If yes, Could you please give me the IMEI number, and the Device'serial number?

    Kd,

    Jim
  • b4u2
    b4u2 Registered Users Posts: 58
    Outstanding Explorer
    @Jim07

    Serial number is ZA5398l01028

    Imei is 3566130739822134
  • YamFazMan
    YamFazMan UKPosts: 21,331
     Superuser
    edited September 30
    Hi
    @b4u2
    Note... Australia & Switzerland have ended the 2G phone services so no GPRS SIM signal....
    Firstly, if the GPRS SIM has been inactive for 12 Months or more the SIM card will be deactivated
    Tomtom will send an Email giving 28 days' notice to the user to reactivate the SIM Card before the SIM Card is deactivated
    Once the SIM Card has been deactivated it cannot be reactivated....

    Tomtom FAQ... What happens when I don't reactivate LIVE Services?
    See... https://www.tomtom.com/en_gb/live-sim/
    ______________________

    Check... Tap 4Dot (.... Menu) --> Setting --> System -->About....
    Are Traffic & Speed cams activated ???

    @VikramK or one the Forum Moderators should pick this up on and check/correct your Tomtom Account status.....
    _____________________

    Re... The GPRS SIM connection on the Tomtom Live devices....
    There are 3 Data connection options that can have a higher/priority/override the Built-in GPRS SIM....
    To check the Data Connection status....
    Tap 4Dot (.... Menu) --> Setting --> System --> About…
    Scroll down to Data Connection & GPRS Status....
    What does the device report...???
    For further Info...
    See... https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/discussion/comment/1752190/#Comment_1752190
    _____________________

    Maybe worth consideration if the device is out of guarantee....... I think the SIM contacts oxidize over time and removing and replacing the SIM a few times remakes the connection....

    The SIM cards for the Live NAV3, NAV4 & NAV5 (Wi-Fi) devices are located under concealed flaps and/or stickers in various location on the devices....
    On the GO 5200/6200/Premium... The SIM Card is situated under the sticker bearing the serial number....
    vsosogiq74sl.jpg
    I think the SIM contacts tarnish/oxidize over time, and removing and replacing the SIM a few times remakes the connection....
    With the device turned OFF...
    Carefully remove the sticker... It's advisable to use Antistatic precautions when handling the SIM...
    You will need a pair of strong 'very fine' pointed tweezers to remove the SIM....
    These are the tweezers I use....
    c7qg5ww6ikcd.jpg
    If you pull out the SIM a little way, and reinsert it, repeat this a few times, it should now remake a good connection....
    I used double-sided sticky tape to replace the Serial Number sticker....
    If you remove the SIM Card completely, make a note of the orientation of the contacts and the chamfered corner....

    Warning... The above will void your Tomtom guarantee....
    All the usual disclaimers apply, all the above is at your own discretion


    Stay safe... ATB YFM
  • b4u2
    b4u2 Registered Users Posts: 58
    Outstanding Explorer
    @YamFazMan

    It's always been active and worked fine up until now?
  • YamFazMan
    YamFazMan UKPosts: 21,331
     Superuser
    edited August 31
    Hi
    @b4u2
    b4u2 wrote: »
    It's always been active and worked fine up until now?
    Yes, that's obvious... But you are not replying with any helpful information to help me or other users to diagnose the problem or faults....

    i.e... My reply here... https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/discussion/comment/1820738/#Comment_1820738
    The reply I get is "It's always been active and worked fine up until now?"

    ATB YFM
  • b4u2
    b4u2 Registered Users Posts: 58
    Outstanding Explorer
    @YamFazMan

    What information exactly do you need?

    I would really prefer doing this via PM.
  • Willy875
    Willy875 Registered Users Posts: 7,228
    Elite Voyager
    Comme @YamFazMan l'a demandé dans le message ci-dessus, https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/discussion/comment/1820738/#Comment_1820738 retirez votre carte Sim, puis essuyez délicatement les contacts, puis réinsérez-la.
  • Willy875
    Willy875 Registered Users Posts: 7,228
    Elite Voyager
    You can also try with this FAQ


  • b4u2
    b4u2 Registered Users Posts: 58
    Outstanding Explorer
    @Willy875
    sorry but i don't know french.
    worried about removing sim to be honest.
  • Willy875
    Willy875 Registered Users Posts: 7,228
    Elite Voyager
    As @YamFazMan asked in the post above, https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/discussion/comment/1820738/#Comment_1820738 remove your Sim card, then gently wipe the contacts, then reinsert it.
  • b4u2
    b4u2 Registered Users Posts: 58
    Outstanding Explorer
    @Willy875

    Did you not see my previous post?

    I SAID I'M CONCERNED TO DO THAT AS DON'T WANT TO CAUSE ANY DAMAGE.
  • Willy875
    Willy875 Registered Users Posts: 7,228
    Elite Voyager
    Your post is after I answered you in French I reposted the message but in English this time.
  • YamFazMan
    YamFazMan UKPosts: 21,331
     Superuser
    HI
    @b4u2
    Question....
    Check... Tap 4Dot (.... Menu) --> Setting --> System -->About....
    Are Traffic & Speed cams activated ???

    Queston....
    Check the Data Connection status....
    Tap 4Dot (.... Menu) --> Setting --> System --> About…
    Scroll down to Data Connection & GPRS Status....
    What does the device report...???

    Re... The GPRS SIM connection on the Tomtom Live devices....
    There are 3 Data connection options that can have a higher/priority/override the Built-in GPRS SIM....
    For further Info...
    See... https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/discussion/comment/1752190/#Comment_1752190

    Stay safe... ATB YFM

  • b4u2
    b4u2 Registered Users Posts: 58
    Outstanding Explorer
    edited August 31
    @YamFazMan
    Yes both traffic and cameras are showing now as activated.
    GPRS status now shows connected.
  • b4u2
    b4u2 Registered Users Posts: 58
    Outstanding Explorer
    By the way I have just reset my tomtom again.
  • YamFazMan
    YamFazMan UKPosts: 21,331
     Superuser
    Hi
    @b4u2
    You're welcome, hope you're now sorted :)
    May be useful.... Download the GO 6200 Wi-Fi User Manual....
    Here... https://help.tomtom.com/hc/en-gb/articles/360014295500-GO-6200-Wi-Fi-User-Manual

    Stay Safe... ATB YFM
  • b4u2
    b4u2 Registered Users Posts: 58
    Outstanding Explorer
    @YamFazMan
    It's weird because on and off as usually when turn on screen or switch on then shows not available no network
    only after a few minuted then it picks up a signal
  • b4u2
    b4u2 Registered Users Posts: 58
    Outstanding Explorer
    @VikramK @lampard
    Please can you help me
  • YamFazMan
    YamFazMan UKPosts: 21,331
     Superuser
    edited September 1
    Hi
    @b4u2
    I find this useful to see if the SIM is active...
    The RF shielding on my PC sound system is not very good, If I turn on the Tomtom device (With a SIM card) and place it near the PC sound system Amplifier....
    Or if I place the Tomtom/SIM device near my TV Surround Sound system Amplifier....
    I can hear the feedback from Tomtom SIM Data exchange and the Card logging in/out

    Also, if you have a small portable AM Radio set to around 800kHz you can hear the SIM card Data exchange and the Card logging in/out
    _____________________

    SIM Startup times my GO 6200.... (Wi-Fi turned off and MyDrive (On device logged out))
    To clear the retained traffic data, I executed a Drum Roll Start, then as soon as the Map Screen displayed, I turned the device OFF and waited to hear the SIM card to log-off
    With my GO 6200 sat by PC sound system Amplifier....
    GO 6200 Start-up from Turned Off Mode....
    1st data bust from the SIM Card at 35 Seconds....
    Tomtom Live Traffic appears on the GO 6200 screen 1 Minute 35 seconds

    GO 6200 Start-up from Sleep mode...
    1st data bust from the SIM Card at 14 Seconds....
    Tomtom Live Traffic appears on the GO 6200 screen 58 seconds

    Stay Safe... ATB YFM