Viewing preplanned .itn routes of Pyrenees whilst still in the UK

TonyCooling
TonyCooling Registered Users Posts: 3
Apprentice Seeker
Hi, please be gentle as this is my first post and I'm a novice.

I've downloaded a GPX file from "Ride" magazine for a planned trip to the Pyrenees.
I've used a third party piece of software to convert it to an .itn file (so that I can skip way points).
I've now imported that file into the TT Rider 550, and downloaded the "Iberia" map and changed that to my current map. So far so good.

When I try to open the route, to view it, the device says "No route possible". Do I actually have to be physically in Spain to be able to see the map on my 550?

Best Answer

• RoadRider
    RoadRider Registered Users Posts: 750
    Revered Pioneer
    Answer ✓
    Yes the SD card is only for maps when formated on the Rider.
    When you format the SD card on your PC you can use it to import routes. (No maps anymore)

I advice you to leave the map on the SD card and import the .ITN route using the USB cable.

Answers

• YamFazMan
    YamFazMan Posts: 20,826
    Superuser
    Hi
    @TonyCooling
    Using the MyDrive Web Route Planner....
    Planning a .ITN Route from your 1st Stop (Not Home)

(1)... Plan your .ITN Route... 1st Stop --> Destination
    (2)... Then add 2nd Stop --> 3rd Stop --> 4th Stop --> 5th Stop...
    (3)... Place a sacrificial stop close to the 1st Stop (Not your Home)
    (4)... Calculate the Route
    (5)... Click on the Send Stops (Button)

When the .ITN Route has synced to the device and the Route has calculated (The route will calculate from your present location i.e... Home)
    (6)... On the Device... Zoom in on the 'Sacrificial Stop' Icon 'Long Tap' (Tap and hold for +1 second) on the Sacrificial Stop Icon --> A quick menu opens --> Tap the 3Dot icon --> Choose 'Use as a Starting Point'
    The device will calculate your route from the 'Sacrificial Stop' location
    (7)... Saving the Route