Not enough space for update

Inge1962
Inge1962 Registered Users Posts: 2
Apprentice Seeker
Hello all,

I'm a rookie with Tomtom devices (any devices).
I try to update our Tomtom GO 6100. The small updates were no problem but at last I have an update for maps Europe with Benelux buildings size 6331 MB. My free space is 89 Mb.
I thought I could delete the original card (8276 MB) by using the green button, I can click the box and choose the option to delete, but the system does not react.
So I have 2 questions: is this the right way? (deleting the old card for space) than how?
Or is there another way?

Thanks for your help.

Inge

Answers

• YamFazMan
    YamFazMan Posts: 21,155
     Superuser
    edited December 2021
    Hi
    @Inge1962
    Welcome to the site....
    Tomtom devices need at least one Map installed before the device will Boot-up... You can't delete the map if there's only one Map installed....
    The early NAV4 devices Maps fitted easily onto the 8GB of on-board Memory, but the Map sizes increases with every update... Now the 8GB limit on-board Memory size on the NAV4 devices is an unfortunate, but real Catch22 situation....
    The latest NAV4 Full Europe Map size is now around 9GB
    @VikramK or @lampard one of the Forum Moderators pick this type of problem and add a small Map to the Account to get past the 'Catch22' No Maps Found error....

See Catch22... https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/discussion/comment/1686043/#Comment_1686043

If you wish to just stick with using the internal memory Instead of using a Micro USB Card....
    Tomtom have released the Europe map in different Map Cuts (Map zones)... Will any of these new Maps suit your travel requirements???
    More information Here... https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/discussion/comment/1660206/#Comment_1660206

Stay Safe.... ATB YFM
  • Willy875
    Willy875 Registered Users Posts: 6,610
    Elite Voyager
    Inge1962 wrote: »
    Hello all,

I'm a rookie with Tomtom devices (any devices).