Problem with Traffic and bluetooth

Centaurion
Centaurion Registered Users Posts: 10
Apprentice Traveler
Hello,

I tried to find an answer on the net but haven't found what I need.

I bought a GPS Tomtom GO6200 several years ago (non wifi). I can still use my free Traffic subscription up to 2028.

All worked well connecting my smartphone to the GPS unit, until about 7 months ago.

Now the unit says that it is connected by bluetooth (for contacts for example), but Traffic doesn't work. It says that there is no connection.

I reset the GPS unit and it worked. But after turning it off the next time I used it it didn't connect anymore.
I did this 3 times and gave up.

I finally tried by making my phone turn into a hotspot. This way I can get Traffic.
But I would prefer to continue using the bluetooth option.

Did anyone already have this problem and if so have a viable solution.

Thank you in advance for any help.

Comments

  • DougLap
    DougLap Posts: 9,857
    Superuser
    Hi @Centurion

    @VikramK or @lampard can check your units settings on the TT servers and change if necessary. They can also may be able to see if there may be any issue with the inbuilt mobile sim which is in a GO6200.

    Look back later to see what they say.

    Doug
  • Centaurion
    Centaurion Registered Users Posts: 10
    Apprentice Traveler
    Hi DougLap,

    Thank you for your answer. I will try to write to VikramK or lampard.
    But one thing I am almost certain of is that in my GO6200 there is no simcard.
    I have no subscription for that.

    Tomtom certainly doesn't offer that for free.

    Or else that could mean that I had it for free for a year at least and then it was blocked.
    But I never got a message to pay for a subscription.

    For me the easiest is still to get it to work via my bluetooth instead of the wifi of my smartphone.

    Centaurion
  • DougLap
    DougLap Posts: 9,857
    Superuser
    Hi @Centurion

    No need for you to write to them as I have flagged it to them.

    The GO6200 model devices have an inbuilt mobile sim and you do not have to pay any subscription for it. This sim enables the units to communicate with the TT servers without the need to pair the unit with a phone for Traffic Data.

    Doug
  • Centaurion
    Centaurion Registered Users Posts: 10
    Apprentice Traveler
    Hello DougLap,

    Wow thanks for this info.
    I will have to look into this. I've been using this all the time with my phone connected.
  • YamFazMan
    YamFazMan Posts: 20,826
    Superuser
    edited August 2021
    Hi
    @Centaurion
    Welcome to the site...
    GPRS SIM connection on the Tomtom Live devices....
    There are 3 Data connection options that can have a higher/priority & override the Built-in GPRS SIM....
    To check the Data Connection status....
    Tap 4Dot (.... Menu) --> Setting --> System --> About…
    Scroll down to Data Connection & GPRS Status....
    What does the device report...???
    ___________________

    Also, are you also running the Tomtom MyDrive App + A Smartphone Bluetooth Data Connection....

    When there's an active Bluetooth/phone connection.... And the 'Data for Traffic & other services' set to >> ON <<<
    The Bluetooth connection will have a higher/priority & override the Built-in GPRS SIM

    For further Info, see Option (3) in the link below....
    See... https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/discussion/comment/1752190/#Comment_1752190

    Stay Safe... ATB YFM
  • lampard
    lampard Administrators Posts: 5,964
    Moderator
    edited August 2021
    Hi there @Centurion

    Welcome to the Community! Please have a look at this article here, hope it helps!

    Best, lampard
  • Centaurion
    Centaurion Registered Users Posts: 10
    Apprentice Traveler
    Hello @lampard,

    sorry to say but I see for 1 second an article in german and then it disappears to bring me to this page https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/

    So not usefull for the time being.
  • lampard
    lampard Administrators Posts: 5,964
    Moderator
    edited August 2021
    I captured a screenshot for you: (Right-click on the image below to open it in a new tab for the expanded view)

    mt2mkpffza2w.png
    Best, lampard
  • Centaurion
    Centaurion Registered Users Posts: 10
    Apprentice Traveler
    @lampard,

    Thank you.

    OK so that's why I cannot get Traffic anymore via the simcard.
    But like I wrote, I can get it via Wifi from my smartphone a s a hotspot.
    But I cannot get it via Bluetooth, even if that is connected correctly ( I can get my contacts).

    So actually that is what I hope to find a solution for.
  • DougLap
    DougLap Posts: 9,857
    Superuser
    Hi @Centurion

    I am sorry I did not pick up that you were in Switzerland which means the Sim will not work with the 2g system having been shut down. Should you go elsewhere in Europe the inbuilt sim should take over.

    Doug
  • YamFazMan
    YamFazMan Posts: 20,826
    Superuser
    edited August 2021
    Hi
    @Centurion
    Same here, I did see Suisse in your profile, but I never associated it with Switzerland :3
    Sorry... ATB YFM
  • Centaurion
    Centaurion Registered Users Posts: 10
    Apprentice Traveler
    Hi @YamFazMan,

    I went into the about like you wrote.
    GPRS status is Disconnected model 16.01.202
    But I guess your latest answre about Switzerland clears that.
    I am running Tomtom MyDrive App + A Smartphone Bluetooth Data Connection....
    That's what wasn't working It worked via my smartphone being a hotspot.

    I now retried to connect the bluetooth again and I get the following:
    The Traffic , the MyDrive and the Bluetooth symbols all indicate Connected. The Wifi is not connected as I expected.

    So I stopped the bluetooth on my phone and restarted it after 5 minutes.

    Now I have no connection for Traffic, MyDrive, but bluetooth is connected.
    So I pressed on Traffic and then in the menu I selected Connect to data from the phone with BT

    I then get that my phone is connected. And when I press on that screen the word Connected I get a screen asking what phone functionalities want to use

    Hands free and smartphone messages are connected
    As for Data for the Traffic service and other services was off.
    I turned that on And then under that text I get Connected and Connection impossible, that keep appearing one after the other.
    On my phone the GO6200 is indicated as connected.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks
  • Centaurion
    Centaurion Registered Users Posts: 10
    Apprentice Traveler
    Hi @YamFazMan,

    More info and probably I found the problem.

    On my smartphone I tried to connect again via Wifi and under Internet connection sharing I saw that Via Bluetooth was not activated.

    Having activated that it seems to work.

    I will try this weekend, and if that was all, I will close the discussion.

    Thank you all for your help.
  • YamFazMan
    YamFazMan Posts: 20,826
    Superuser
    edited August 2021
    Hi
    @Centaurion
    Are you using an iPhone ??? There's an unresolved problem with the Apple iPhone iOS 13 & 14 and above and the and the Tomtom 'MyDrive App' and the advanced Smartphone features... If you can live without the bells & whistles (Smartphone Messaging) of the MyDrive App...
    Just use a straight simple Bluetooth Connection....

    Some tips you may want to see/try....
    Here... https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/discussion/comment/1741299/#Comment_1741299

    Stay Safe... ATB YFM
  • Centaurion
    Centaurion Registered Users Posts: 10
    Apprentice Traveler
    Hi @YamFazMan,

    No Iphone. I'd prefer to be dead than use one of those.

    Problem solved.

    Thank you all for your help and suggestions.

    The problem was not on the GPS but on my phone.

    The GPS always said it was connected to Bluetooth , so I never thought of checking the part where I'dneed to share the internet conne ction via bluetooth for Data as well.
    Now if I let my phone share the internet via bluetooth it works fine.

    I learned something new this way.

    I'll die cleverer that way.

    Have a great day all of you.


  • Centaurion
    Centaurion Registered Users Posts: 10
    Apprentice Traveler
    Well I would still have 2 questions.
    A) can you change your password for the forum?
    B) how do you close this discussion?
  • VikramK
    VikramK Administrators Posts: 13,802
    Moderator
    edited September 2021
    Hi @Centaurion
    The forum uses the Single Sign-On feature (SSO). Same TomTom account to log in to the device or the website.
    Can't specifically change the password for the forum only.

    The account password can be changed in your profile settings itself- https://www.tomtom.com/en_gb/account/details.html#profile

    Do you wish to close this discussion thread for further comments?

    Regards,
    Vikram
  • Centaurion
    Centaurion Registered Users Posts: 10
    Apprentice Traveler
    Hi @VikramK.

    OK for the password .

    Yes I would like to close this thread

    Regards

    Centaurion
This discussion has been closed.