GO Supreme does not find most street address — TomTom Community

GO Supreme does not find most street address

My GO Supreme does not find most street addresses in Woodland, California.

Have no confidence that device will find street addresses in other towns.

Have never had a problem with my old GO 1005.

Comments

  • YamFazManYamFazMan Posts: 19,442
    Superusers
    edited June 3
    Hi
    @aviator1968
    Welcome to the site....
    Here in the UK....
    My GO Premium with the USA & Canada Map loaded....
    I Typed Woodland... The 2nd item in the left list is Woodland CA
    Tap on the offered Woodland CA
    A new screen opens with 'Woodland' on the right
    And a flashing cursor on the left... Enter the required street name
    i.e... 'Squaw valley drive'
    Type 'Squaw' --> The device offers Squaw valley drive
    Tap the offered 'Squaw valley drive'
    Tap the Drive ( Button ) the device calculates the route....

    jk6dh2kjhddf.jpg

    Stay Safe... ATB YFM
  • aviator1968aviator1968 Posts: 4 [New Seeker]
    How many times does "Woodland CA" appear? I see two identical listings.

    When I type "sq" into the street I get two options San Leandro St and Rudsdale st

    Nothing like Squaw.

    When I type "c" it says "No results found"

    I deleted my USA Canada database and reinstalled - nothing changed.
  • YamFazManYamFazMan Posts: 19,442
    Superusers
    edited June 3
    Hi
    @aviator1968
    Firstly, are you using the superior Quick search ???
    Or Step by Step search ???

    Check... Tap 4Dot (.... Menu) --> Setting --> System --> Choose a search mode... Choose the superior 'Quick search'
    ___________________

    My GO Premium with the USA & Canada Map loaded....
    I Typed Woodland California....
    The 1st item in the left list is Woodland CA
    Tap on the offered Woodland CA
    f4aqlbbw8j3n.jpg

    A new screen opens with 'Woodland' on the right....
    And a flashing cursor on the left... Enter the required street name
    i.e... 'Squaw valley drive'
    4qyz7qva773u.jpg

    I typed 'Squaw' --> The device offers Squaw valley drive
    diaahjnzc48g.jpg

    Tap the offered 'Squaw valley drive'
    Tap the Drive ( Button ) the device calculates the route....
    3vnqb2c5dfns.jpg

    ATB YFM
  • aviator1968aviator1968 Posts: 4 [New Seeker]
    Changing to quick search my TomTom says there are no recent destinations that start with c

    It also says that there are no my places that start with c

    I'm looking for Cottonwood street.

  • YamFazManYamFazMan Posts: 19,442
    Superusers
    edited June 3
    HI
    @aviator1968
    You can't just type 'C' and expect the device to find Cottonwood road ???
    You have to type enough of the search word for the device to crossmatch the searched for place within the Search engines database....
    As far as I'm aware, in the US....
    You have to define the State
    Define the Town/City
    Define the Street/Road
    Perhaps user @dhn (Canadian) will clarify ???
    ________________

    My GO Premium with the USA & Canada Map loaded....
    I Typed Woodland California....
    The 1st item in the left list is Woodland CA
    Tap on the offered Woodland CA
    f4aqlbbw8j3n.jpg

    A new screen opens with 'Woodland' on the right....
    And a flashing cursor on the left... Enter the required street name
    i.e... 'Cottonwood street’
    4qyz7qva773u.jpg

    I typed 'Cotton' --> The device offers Cottonwood st
    79xd8y9ntqj8.jpg

    Tap the offered 'Cottonwood st'
    The device offers 3 options...
    (1)... Show on Map
    (2)... Add Cross Road
    (3)... Drive
    Tap the Drive ( Button ) the device calculates the route....
    p298a8wp1pt5.jpg

    Stay Safe... ATB YFM
  • VikramKVikramK Posts: 11,908 Moderator
    Hi @aviator1968
    I see you have more than one map installed on your GO SUPREME.

    After installing the US region, did you switch maps ?

    Regards, Vikram
  • aviator1968aviator1968 Posts: 4 [New Seeker]
    Well my old GO 1005 starts listing streets as soon as one letter is entered. So I'm pretty sure you're wrong about that. If the device doesn't find any street that starts with the letter c how could it possibly find cottonwood?

    Besides I have entered cottonwood and it says there are no streets with that name.
  • YamFazManYamFazMan Posts: 19,442
    Superusers
    edited June 4
    Hi
    @aviator1968
    Further to Vikram's post...
    Check... Tap 4Dot (.... Menu) --> Setting --> Maps --> Current Map...
    What is your current Map ???
    As in my previous posts, I'm using the USA & Canada v1070 Map
    Have you by chance been looking at another Counties Map and forgot to switch back to the USA Map ???
    _______________________

    Just switched to the USA Map....
    Using Quick Search....
    I typed... California, Woodland Cotton
    Important... Note the comma after California
    The device offers... Cottonwood street, Woodland, CA
    ses5jbc3pfy4.jpg
    The device offers 3 options...
    (1)... Show on Map
    (2)... Add Cross Road
    (3)... Drive
    Tap the Drive ( Button ) the device calculates the route…
    9k76faw6ajqq.jpg

    Stay Safe... ATB YFM
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online in this Category0