Set up a proximity alert for a pdi RIDER -550 — TomTom Community

Set up a proximity alert for a pdi RIDER -550

errrtonierrrtoni Posts: 4 [New Seeker]
edited December 2020 in RIDER
It is possible in some way, when I am approaching a pdi I mark a proximity alert, it is reflected on the map but I would like a proximity alert to sound.

a greeting



Mod edit: Machine translated (Spanish)

Best Answers

  • Ste7iosSte7ios Posts: 758
    Superuser
    Accepted Answer
    You mean a POI. No, it will notify you only when reaching the waypoints of a route.

    Note that tracks have no waypoints so if you use a track you’ll no notifications at all. It has only a start and a destination.
  • YamFazManYamFazMan Posts: 20,058
    Superusers
    Accepted Answer
    Hi
    @errrtoni
    Only if you use a .ITN Route....
    ______________________________________

    A Route planned using MyDrive Connect and saved to the device using the Send Stops option is an ITN route....

    Maybe Useful....
    I prefer .ITN Routes....
    A Route planned directly on the device is a .ITN Route
    An .ITN Route uses Stops and the device plans the route between the stops... An .ITN Route will respond to Live Traffic and any route deviations BUT an .ITN route will doggedly follow the stops in the order they were created, if you miss a stop, the device will continuously attempt to guide you to the missed stop... You have to cancel the problem stop on the device to avoid it

    If you want to force a different route you simply add more stops
    Note...When you add the extra Stops Max Zoom right into the road
    Don't put the stop on the wrong side of a dual track road (Journey loop back errors)
    Don't put the stop up a side-road... It may guide you though a built-up area via side streets back to your route, instead of a u-turn
    Don't put the stop on a traffic Island always place a guidance stop further up road on the route after the required traffic island exit....
    ___________________________

    Using the MyDrive Web Route planner....

    Using a .ITN Route planned on the MDW Route planner...
    The latest version of MyDrive Web Route planner....
    For .ITN Routes with NO Stops... The Menu Shows 'Send Destination'
    iiqpfjt825ei.jpg
    For .ITN Routes with Stops........... The Menu Changes to 'Send Stops'
    z9lgonvfc3fi.jpg
    The MyDrive Web Route planner only sends the route to the device as a Destination... Or if you add Stops it send it as a Route (But it is not automatically saved in MyRoutes)
    If you are using .ITN route and 'Send Stops'
    see my workaround below

    x9kkavu7m0o4.jpg

    qkw01ev5tv6s.jpg

    Complex Twenty Stop .ITN Route Rider 400
    lv3gbgezr1sx.jpg

    Be Aware .ITN Routes....
    If your starting point IS NOT your present location there's a BUG
    When using the 'Send Stops' option, during an "A" to "B" route transfer and when 'A' IS NOT your present location...
    The device drops Location "A"
    This bug also applies to Multi-Stop/Waypoint routes... 'A' to 'B' to 'C' to' D' to 'E' etc...


    Important....
    For a more detailed info about the 'Dropped 1st Stop Bug'
    Click on the Link...
    https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/discussion/comment/1198253/#Comment_1198253
    ______________________________________

    This is the workaround method I use....

    The Tomtom MyDrive Web Route Planner....
    Get it Here... https://mydrive.tomtom.com

    (1).... Plan my Route with the MyDrive Web Route planner (With or Without Stops as required)

    (2)... Zoom in... Place a Sacrificial stop close to the Start Icon

    8eaec27f-eba6-4332-bbb7-38ecfdac3110.png
    (4)... Choose the 'Send Stops' option... The route will sync to your device

    (5)... The device will calculate your route from your 'Present location'
    (5.1)... The device will calculate your route using Stops in the order that you placed the Stops in the route
    (5.2)... If the planned Start of the Route is your 'Present location'... Then skip Bullet-point... (6)

    (6)... When the route has calculated, Pinch zoom to the correct start of your Route (The Sacrificial Stop Icon) 'Long Tap' (Tap and hold for +1 second) on the Sacrificial Stop Icon --> A quick menu opens --> Tap the 3Dot icon --> Choose 'Use as a Starting Point'
    The device will calculate your route from your new location

    (7)... Saving the Route
    'Quick Tap' anywhere on the Route --> A quick menu opens --> Tap the 3Dot icon --> Manage route --> Add to my Routes.... Edit the Route name as required or simply Tap Add
    _____________________________________

    Note... (1) A 'Quick Tap' and 'Long Tap' of the screen gives different menu options
    Note... (2) The MyDrive Web Route planner will sync a route with a Max of 20 stops

    Stay Safe... ATB YFM

Answers

  • errrtonierrrtoni Posts: 4 [New Seeker]
    edited December 2020
    it's a 550 rider
  • Ste7iosSte7ios Posts: 758
    Superuser
    Accepted Answer
    You mean a POI. No, it will notify you only when reaching the waypoints of a route.

    Note that tracks have no waypoints so if you use a track you’ll no notifications at all. It has only a start and a destination.
  • errrtonierrrtoni Posts: 4 [New Seeker]
    edited January 4
    and there is some way to put waypoints in the route, like panoramic view or rest area and warn you with a proximity alert.




    Mod edit: Machine translated (Spanish)
  • YamFazManYamFazMan Posts: 20,058
    Superusers
    Accepted Answer
    Hi
    @errrtoni
    Only if you use a .ITN Route....
    ______________________________________

    A Route planned using MyDrive Connect and saved to the device using the Send Stops option is an ITN route....

    Maybe Useful....
    I prefer .ITN Routes....
    A Route planned directly on the device is a .ITN Route
    An .ITN Route uses Stops and the device plans the route between the stops... An .ITN Route will respond to Live Traffic and any route deviations BUT an .ITN route will doggedly follow the stops in the order they were created, if you miss a stop, the device will continuously attempt to guide you to the missed stop... You have to cancel the problem stop on the device to avoid it

    If you want to force a different route you simply add more stops
    Note...When you add the extra Stops Max Zoom right into the road
    Don't put the stop on the wrong side of a dual track road (Journey loop back errors)
    Don't put the stop up a side-road... It may guide you though a built-up area via side streets back to your route, instead of a u-turn
    Don't put the stop on a traffic Island always place a guidance stop further up road on the route after the required traffic island exit....
    ___________________________

    Using the MyDrive Web Route planner....

    Using a .ITN Route planned on the MDW Route planner...
    The latest version of MyDrive Web Route planner....
    For .ITN Routes with NO Stops... The Menu Shows 'Send Destination'
    iiqpfjt825ei.jpg
    For .ITN Routes with Stops........... The Menu Changes to 'Send Stops'
    z9lgonvfc3fi.jpg
    The MyDrive Web Route planner only sends the route to the device as a Destination... Or if you add Stops it send it as a Route (But it is not automatically saved in MyRoutes)
    If you are using .ITN route and 'Send Stops'
    see my workaround below

    x9kkavu7m0o4.jpg

    qkw01ev5tv6s.jpg

    Complex Twenty Stop .ITN Route Rider 400
    lv3gbgezr1sx.jpg

    Be Aware .ITN Routes....
    If your starting point IS NOT your present location there's a BUG
    When using the 'Send Stops' option, during an "A" to "B" route transfer and when 'A' IS NOT your present location...
    The device drops Location "A"
    This bug also applies to Multi-Stop/Waypoint routes... 'A' to 'B' to 'C' to' D' to 'E' etc...


    Important....
    For a more detailed info about the 'Dropped 1st Stop Bug'
    Click on the Link...
    https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/discussion/comment/1198253/#Comment_1198253
    ______________________________________

    This is the workaround method I use....

    The Tomtom MyDrive Web Route Planner....
    Get it Here... https://mydrive.tomtom.com

    (1).... Plan my Route with the MyDrive Web Route planner (With or Without Stops as required)

    (2)... Zoom in... Place a Sacrificial stop close to the Start Icon

    8eaec27f-eba6-4332-bbb7-38ecfdac3110.png
    (4)... Choose the 'Send Stops' option... The route will sync to your device

    (5)... The device will calculate your route from your 'Present location'
    (5.1)... The device will calculate your route using Stops in the order that you placed the Stops in the route
    (5.2)... If the planned Start of the Route is your 'Present location'... Then skip Bullet-point... (6)

    (6)... When the route has calculated, Pinch zoom to the correct start of your Route (The Sacrificial Stop Icon) 'Long Tap' (Tap and hold for +1 second) on the Sacrificial Stop Icon --> A quick menu opens --> Tap the 3Dot icon --> Choose 'Use as a Starting Point'
    The device will calculate your route from your new location

    (7)... Saving the Route
    'Quick Tap' anywhere on the Route --> A quick menu opens --> Tap the 3Dot icon --> Manage route --> Add to my Routes.... Edit the Route name as required or simply Tap Add
    _____________________________________

    Note... (1) A 'Quick Tap' and 'Long Tap' of the screen gives different menu options
    Note... (2) The MyDrive Web Route planner will sync a route with a Max of 20 stops

    Stay Safe... ATB YFM
  • errrtonierrrtoni Posts: 4 [New Seeker]
    Ok muchas gracias
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online in this Category0