Since the latest update TomTom GO app keeps crashing on motorways — TomTom Community

Since the latest update TomTom GO app keeps crashing on motorways

bryn999bryn999 Posts: 5 [Apprentice Traveler]
I have been using the TomTom GO Android app successfully for a couple of years, but since updating it to the latest version in August 2020 it keeps crashing. It consistently crashes when I am driving on a motorway and about to take the next exit. If I restart the app (which, as you can imagine, is quite a dangerous thing to have to do while driving) it immediately crashes again.

I am currently running version 2.3.1 of the app and have tried uninstalling and reinstalling it, but it has made no difference.

The app is now completely useless to me, so if a fix is not made soon I would like the remainder of my annual subscription refunded so I can use something else.

Comments

• lampardlampard Posts: 4,989 Moderator
    Hi @bryn999

Welcome to the Community! We apologize for the inconvenience and closely monitoring all crashes and improving the stability of the app in every version. I would advise you to please try re-installing the app on your phone. If you have the maps installed on the external SD card then I would recommend formatting it before installing the maps on it.

Let us know how it goes!

Regards, lampard

• bryn999bryn999 Posts: 5 [Apprentice Traveler]
    Thanks Lampard, but as I said above I have already tried re-installing the app and it made no difference - it still crashes. I can't format the SD card as that contains data from other apps that are all working fine. Any other suggestions?

Hi @bryn999

I can understand but if you have the maps stored on an SD card, you can remove/delete the TomTom folders below from SD card & internal memory as well to make a clean reinstallation:

Android/data/com.tomtom.gplay.navapp
    Android/obb/com.tomtom.gplay.navapp