Speed Camera Updates - per month subscription automatically applied to my account? — TomTom Community

Speed Camera Updates - per month subscription automatically applied to my account?

IcosphereIcosphere Posts: 5 [Apprentice Traveler]
Hi there, I received an order confirmation email early this morning from [email protected] saying that I had ordered "World Speed 1 Month" but I did not make this transaction. Then I find out in my account that I have a speed camera subscription that started today and end in one month. The order summary shows subtotal of £2.99 and discount £2.99 with a total of £0.00.

I received yet another email later on today with the text "Just a quick note to update you on how we have streamlined our service to your convenience. Your speed camera subscription will remain active and continue month-to-month for £ 2.99. You have the option of a 30-day cancellation." I logged into my account and found that indeed I have an Active Subscription which I did not order.

How can this be applied to my account automatically without my authorisation?

Answers

• Martindp2Martindp2 Posts: 6 [Master Explorer]
    Me too. I'm not sure this is legal but even if it is it is morally reprehensible. Why was there no prior warning before the money was taken? Who said I wanted to renew my subscription? Why has the price more than doubled since the figure I paid last year? Where are TomTom's contact details so that I can demand my money back? I am extremely angry about this action and cancelled immediately. Unless I get some acceptable response I intend to pass the matter over to the Consumer Association ("Which" Magazine) to give it some publicity and get their opinion.
  • IcosphereIcosphere Posts: 5 [Apprentice Traveler]
    I have cancelled the unauthorised subscription today. What happens if I never checked the email or account, the subscription would have continued without my knowledge.