Go Pro 6200 won't turn on

TruckerJoeUK
TruckerJoeUK Registered Users Posts: 11
Apprentice Traveler
edited December 2021 in Devices using Wi-Fi®
First time poster.

My 6200 was working fine this morning, but when I got back in the lorry after doing a delivery it had gone off and refuses to turn back on. Never had this problem before as it's always connected to the power. I have tried to do the soft reset by holding the power button to no avail.

Any suggestions?

Answers

  • YamFazMan
    YamFazMan Posts: 20,818
    Superuser
    Hi
    @TruckerJoeUK

    Charge the device for a minimum of 2hours... Then try a Soft/Drum roll restart on the device

    The Previous NAV4 and Latest (NAV5 WiFi) devices are quite power hungry and can go into "Power saving mode" if not supplied with enough power

    When the device is In use they are designed to be always connected to a power supply
    The Tomtom supplied Power Adapter is rated at 5Volts 1.2Amps
    Even after you have recharged the device externally via a mains charger, when in use in the vehicle, they will still require being connected to a Tomtom supplied Power Adapter (Or a proven suitable 3rd party Power adapter)
    ______________________________________

    (1)... Do NOT attach them to a dashboard USB port in your vehicle as they normally only supply 500mAmp (0.5Amp) and are for data transfer and not supplying power: See... Note (1) & (2)

    (2)... Using a NONE Tomtom 3rd party underpowered or a mismatched cigarette lighter charger can cause the device to go into Power Saving Mode: See... Note (1)

    (3)... On the Models with a built-in SIM, the reduction of power to the SIM can cause the dropping of the traffic info: Note (3)

    Note (1)... At an (Undisclosed) percentage of battery discharge, the device will try to save its power requirements by dimming the screen and eventually powers off the device... Devices with a built-in SIM Card may also lose Live Traffic services
    Note (2)... A dashboard USB port can also fool a NAV4 Device into entering 'Updating Mode' and display the Connected to your Computer splash screen
    Note (3)... I tried connecting my Tomtom GO 6200 to my Cars USB port, checked the connection status it reports 'Connected over USB' --> 'GPRS (SIM) Disconnected'
    _______________________________________

    Try using the Tomtom supplied cable and Tomtom supplied Power Adapter
    The Charger Adaptor and USB Cable supplied by Tomtom WILL run and charge the device at the same time

    Many 3rd party Mismatched Charger Adaptors won't run and charge the device at the same time
    See... It's not simply a power thing.....
    https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/discussion/comment/1182024/#Comment_1182024

    ATB YFM
  • TruckerJoeUK
    TruckerJoeUK Registered Users Posts: 11
    Apprentice Traveler
    Thanks for the reply. It has and still is connected to the original charger, base and cable currently for the 2hrs. It is still not turning on via the power button even if pressed for nearly 1 min.

    Any other advise ?
  • DougLap
    DougLap Posts: 9,851
    Superuser
    edited November 2019
    Hi @TruckerJoeUK

    Just to confirm that the Holder is not a problem have you or could you try plugging the Cable directly into the GO unit when it is not in its holder. If that does not resolve it try another cable to check it is not that.To check the Cig Plug you can charge the unit using a phone charger plug from an Apple phone etc. Check outputs of the plug you use.

    Doug
  • TruckerJoeUK
    TruckerJoeUK Registered Users Posts: 11
    Apprentice Traveler
    Yes Doug. I have also tried that as it was my first thought

  • DougLap
    DougLap Posts: 9,851
    Superuser
    Hi @TruckerJoeUK

    Sorry I have added some other thoughts since I first posted.

    Doug
  • TruckerJoeUK
    TruckerJoeUK Registered Users Posts: 11
    Apprentice Traveler
    Well I have left the device on charging for most of the day and still no joy. It does however get warm on the back indicating that it is charging
  • TruckerJoeUK
    TruckerJoeUK Registered Users Posts: 11
    Apprentice Traveler
    Also I have asked a fellow driver to try his charger and base buy still the same.
  • DougLap
    DougLap Posts: 9,851
    Superuser
    Hi @TruckerJoeUK

    I would suspect that maybe the battery has failed, which could be a reason the unit is getting hot during charging.. You will have to decide , depending on whether you still have any warrantee, whether you want to try changing the battery yourself or seeking getting the unit repaired. You can contact Customer support to organise repair if that is what you want to do.

    United Kingdom
    02079 490 134
    Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

    Don't answer the questions but wait for an agent to answer.

    If you go onto Youtube and input GO6200 and Battery Replacement you can view videos of how it can be done and decide if you want to try it.

    Doug
  • TruckerJoeUK
    TruckerJoeUK Registered Users Posts: 11
    Apprentice Traveler
    No problem thanks for the reply

    I have spoke to TomTom on the phone about 1700 ISH and have arranged to send it off to them. All the way to Romania.

    So see how that goes.

    Out of interest how long is the warranty period?
  • DougLap
    DougLap Posts: 9,851
    Superuser
  • Bob_82
    Bob_82 Registered Users Posts: 1
    New Seeker
    The number given 02079 490 134 is not recognised.
  • DougLap
    DougLap Posts: 9,851
    Superuser
    Hi @Bob_82

    There been have no Support phone lines since start of Covid and there is no indiction of them returning..

    Try the following and contact Chat which is available Mon/Fri during Normal working hours.:-

    Tap Support at the top of this page
    You then HAVE to Sign in Top Right of next Page. (you have to do this)
    When signed in, and not before, Tap Contact Us bottom right
    Support Box appears and at the bottom with a message option
    Type Contact or Chat in the box
    If Chat is available you should be offered the chance to Tap Live Chat
    If it is Out of Hours for Chat you should be offered an option to message

    If it does not work exactly as described then try another Web Browser.

    Doug