TomTom home install puts in version 2..8, but then forces install of 2.20.1.1239 which will not run — TomTom Community

TomTom home install puts in version 2..8, but then forces install of 2.20.1.1239 which will not run

2.20.1.1239 gets error message that app cannot run. Can't stop 2.11.8.600 from trying to auto upgrade, and the splash screen locks out the home app from functioning.

The splash screen has "a major upgrade of TomTom home client is available..."
The new 2.20.1.1239 version gets error at startup which starts with text " This app can't run on your PC. To find a version for your PC, check with the software publisher"
I have been at this for many hours and can find no solutions on the web.
«1345

Comments

  • SentaSenta Posts: 0 [New Seeker]
    edited July 2
    I have updated TomTom Home with the latest software version. But when I'm done the system keeps telling me to update. It's some sort of loop. What to do? We're off on holidays in a week :-(
  • TheJGB3TheJGB3 Posts: 10 [Legendary Explorer]
    edited July 1
    Senta wrote: »
    I have updated TomTom Home with the latest software version. But when I'm done the system keeps telling me to update. It's some sort of loop. What to do? We're off on holidays in a week :-(

    What model GPS do you have? My VIA125 uses My Drive Connect instead of Tom Tom Home for updates.

    Download it here for Windows or Mac
    https://www.tomtom.com/en_us/mydrive-connect/
  • dhndhn Posts: 33,211 Superusers
    You might try support but do NOT provide a model when prompted in order for a live agent to respond:

    United States
    877-757-7137
    Monday - Friday: 9:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. EST


  • VikramKVikramK Posts: 8,396 TomTom Moderator
  • FedtmuleFedtmule Posts: 6 [Master Traveler]
    edited September 23
    Using Tomtom home for years and updating my GO910 without problems.
    However TomTom home seems to be squezzed in functions without reason.
    And last week TomTom refused to run and required me to update, even as the functions are getting fewer and fewer.
    And now the TomTom dumps when update my GO910 unit and can do anything....
    Why are you require the update, when removing function and creating program dumps????
  • VikramKVikramK Posts: 8,396 TomTom Moderator
    Hi @Fedtmule

    Try to a do a clean reinstall of the application.

    A fresh version of the software can be downloaded here- http://uk.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/7448/

    Thanks
    Vikram
  • RichdbladeRichdblade Posts: 0 [New Traveler]
    edited September 24
    Hi new to the forum same problem here it says it requires the update 2.20.1.1239 but soon as it starts installing says error failed. Using win10 64bit.
  • VikramKVikramK Posts: 8,396 TomTom Moderator
    Hi @Richdblade

    Welcome to the community!

    A clean re-installation of TomTom HOME should resolve the issue. If required use revo-uninstaller.

    Fresh version of TomTom HOME can be downloaded from here- http://uk.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/7448

    Regards
    Vikram
  • FedtmuleFedtmule Posts: 6 [Master Traveler]
    Hi VikramK

    Sorry - a fresh version didn't work.
    The link installed version 2.11 and first it required again the update like first time and when updating the devide it still dumps.

    So please remove the requirement for update - as it has worked before.
    I don't understand why TomTom doing this without an option to stay at the working version the user already have....

    Best regards
    Jan
  • byron1byron1 Posts: 6 [Master Explorer]
    I have this problem also trying to use Home 2.11.600. for my GO730. I have tried Mydrive but it just says you need tomtom home. HELP
  • FedtmuleFedtmule Posts: 6 [Master Traveler]
    Hi TomTom

    I have tried the proposed solution without luck - any feedback for an update of software etc.
    Please notice that I purchased new maps for whole Europe and now I can't make the smaller updates because of this. This leaves me as customer in a very bad situation.

    Please give advice what to do - to solve the dump in your software.

    Regards
    Jan
  • kingjohn6200kingjohn6200 Posts: 122 [Sovereign Trailblazer]
    if your using windows, try going to the programs folder, select the .exe and try compatibility modes
  • Father_Joe_99Father_Joe_99 Posts: 1 [New Seeker]
    I'm still stuck in a loop. I used the revo-uninstaller, restarted my computer, used your link to download the TomTom Home winLatest v. 2.11.8.0. It asks to turn on my XL. When I do, it tells me I need a new upgrade of the Home client, but then it won't load. Stuck in this loop -- have tried it a bunch of times using both Windows uninstaller and the revo-uninstaller. Any suggestions?
  • VikramKVikramK Posts: 8,396 TomTom Moderator
    Hi @byron1

    The issue with still be with the installation.

    With TomTom HOME a stable reinstallation of application is possible when all the previous version files have been completely removed.

    Try revo-uninstaller.

    A fresh version of TomTom HOME is available here-

    http://uk.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/7448


    Regards
    Vikram
  • Jopi1956Jopi1956 Posts: 38 [Renowned Trailblazer]
    VikramK wrote: »
    Hi @byron1

    The issue with still be with the installation.

    With TomTom HOME a stable reinstallation of application is possible when all the previous version files have been completely removed.

    Try revo-uninstaller.

    A fresh version of TomTom HOME is available here-

    http://uk.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/7448


    Regards
    Vikram

    Your link leads to the old version (2.11)
    Current version (2.20)
  • VikramKVikramK Posts: 8,396 TomTom Moderator
    Hi Jopi1956

    TomTom HOME 2.11.8 is supposed to be lastest for the Windows 10.

    This release is to enable 64bit compatibility and it will be offered only to users with a Windows 10 system who have an EOL device. Since it involves a big "code" update of the program, it has been decided to roll it out in stages.

    Regards
    Vikram
  • Jopi1956Jopi1956 Posts: 38 [Renowned Trailblazer]
    edited September 27
    I habe now version 2.20 not 2.11
  • VikramKVikramK Posts: 8,396 TomTom Moderator
    edited September 27
    Hi Jopi1956

    Yes.. Something that is confusing to me as well..

    I will get back once I learn more. Would you be able to add the following-

    1. Device model
    2. The screen shot of the TomTom HOME version.

    Thanks
    Vikram :)
  • Jopi1956Jopi1956 Posts: 38 [Renowned Trailblazer]
    Here a hardcopy.
    I have a GO930.

    6nspt4c2e07p.png
  • VikramKVikramK Posts: 8,396 TomTom Moderator
    edited September 27
    Hi @Fedtmule

    I find this getting reported on a couple of other topics as well.

    Could you tell me the operating system you are using and if it's 32 or 64 bit?

    Thanks,
    Vikram :)
  • VikramKVikramK Posts: 8,396 TomTom Moderator
    edited September 27
    @Father_Joe_99

    Could you tell me the operating system you are using and if it's 32 or 64 bit?

    @Richdblade

    We are trying to gather information...

    Thanks,
    Vikram :)
  • VikramKVikramK Posts: 8,396 TomTom Moderator
    @Senta @Byron1108

    Could you tell me the operating system you are using and if it's 32 or 64 bit?

    @Jopi1956

    Thanks..

    I am collecting information. I see some similar reports on 2 other topics.

    Regards
    Vikram :)
  • Jopi1956Jopi1956 Posts: 38 [Renowned Trailblazer]
    64bit
  • FedtmuleFedtmule Posts: 6 [Master Traveler]
    Hi Vikram

    My System is Windows 10 - 64-bit fully updated.

    Have looked into the "compatibility mode" - no issues shown - so that is a blind direction.

    I did try again and the system asked me to update for 2.20.2.1257, however the update of GPS unit still dumps - fully like the former version :-(
    I'm really need to update "quickgpsfix"!!

    Regards
    Jan
  • BillB123BillB123 Posts: 1 [New Traveler]
    edited September 27
    I have this problem also trying to use Home 2.11.8.600. for my GO 730, just gets stuck in a loop and won't update.

    Okay I found a work around, alt and F4 closes the update window and lets you continue.
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online13

dr.zoidberg
dr.zoidberg
jiceman
jiceman
lampard
lampard
nicolasw
nicolasw
nj_123
nj_123
Oskar-2
Oskar-2
+7 Guests