VIA 53 is not starting up

Leo_fr_Bel_01
Leo_fr_Bel_01 Registered Users Posts: 4
Apprentice Seeker
edited December 2021 in Devices using Wi-Fi®
When TOMTOM Via 53 is powerd on via car, then the TOMTOM banner goes on and off, the TOMTOM is not starting.
Problem was day before but afther loading the problem seems to be solved. Today the problem reappaers. Is there a problem with the TOMTOM battery? Can I replace it myself?

Best Answer

  • Leo_fr_Bel_01
    Leo_fr_Bel_01 Registered Users Posts: 4
    Apprentice Seeker
    Answer ✓
    Also thanks for the info, but pressing the startup button is to restart the VIA 53.
    As stated before my VIA 53 is NOT STARTING UP.
    I have send my VIA 53 back to TOMTOM for repair and they answerd that it was not possible to repair it.
    The problem was due to the fact that my VIA 53 could not receive a GPS Signal anymore due to hardware problems.
    So when the TOMTOM banner goes on and off and the VIA 53 does not start up anymore even when the startup button is pressed for indefinite time ...... then possibel there is a GPS signal problem.

    For clarity TOMTOM as replaced my VIA 53 by another since it was still in garanty.
    Thanks everyone and also thx to TOMTOM for the service

Answers

  • YamFazMan
    YamFazMan Posts: 20,797
    Superuser
    edited August 2019
    Hi
    @Leo_fr_Bel_01

    Charge the device for at least 2 Hours....

    The Previous NAV4 and Latest (NAV5 WiFi) devices are quite power hungry and can go into "Power saving mode" if not supplied with enough power
    As a test...
    Try using the Tomtom supplied cable and Tomtom supplied Power Adapter

    The Charger Adaptor and USB Cable supplied by Tomtom WILL run and charge the device at the same time

    Many 3rd party Mismatched Charger Adaptors won't run and charge the device at the same time
    See... It's not simply a power thing.....
    https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/discussion/comment/1182024/#Comment_1182024
    _____________________________________

    When the device is In use they are designed to be always connected to a power supply
    The Tomtom supplied Power Adapter is rated at 5Volts 1.2Amps
    Even after you have recharged the device externally via a mains charger, when in use in the vehicle, they will still require being connected to a Tomtom supplied Power Adapter (Or a proven suitable 3rd party Power adapter)
    ______________________________________

    (1)... Do NOT attach them to a dashboard USB port in your vehicle as they normally only supply 500mAmp (0.5Amp) and are for data transfer and not supplying power: See... Note (1) & (2)

    (2)... Using a NONE Tomtom 3rd party underpowered or a mismatched cigarette lighter charger can cause the device to go into Power Saving Mode: See... Note (1)

    (3)... On the Models with a built-in SIM, the reduction of power to the SIM can cause the dropping of the traffic info: Note (3)

    Note (1)... At an (Undisclosed) percentage of battery discharge, the device will try to save its power requirements by dimming the screen and eventually powers off the device... Devices with a built-in SIM Card may also lose Live Traffic services
    Note (2)... A dashboard USB port can also fool a NAV4 Device into entering 'Updating Mode' and display the Connected to your Computer splash screen
    Note (3)... I tried connecting my Tomtom GO 6200 to my Cars USB port, checked the connection status it reports 'Connected over USB' --> 'GPRS (SIM) Disconnected'

    ATB YFM
  • Leo_fr_Bel_01
    Leo_fr_Bel_01 Registered Users Posts: 4
    Apprentice Seeker
    I am using the supplied TOMTOM power adapter and cable.
    The power on my (TOMTOM ) device goes off when the I leave my car, when the car key leaves the contact. This is installed by the car dealer where I bought my car.
    Should the TOMTOM always be powerd on?
  • YamFazMan
    YamFazMan Posts: 20,797
    Superuser
    Hi
    @Leo_fr_Bel_01
    Should the TOMTOM always be powered on?
    It should always be connected to power when being used

    ATB YFM

  • Leo_fr_Bel_01
    Leo_fr_Bel_01 Registered Users Posts: 4
    Apprentice Seeker
    All previous comments are usefull, but did not solve my problem " VIA 53 does not start up". So I contacted TOMTOM to see if they can help me.
    My TOMTOM is only 8 months in use so i'll hope for the best.
    Thanks YamFazMan
  • YamFazMan
    YamFazMan Posts: 20,797
    Superuser
    Hi
    @Leo_fr_Bel_01

    Tomtom Support België
    027007270
    Maandag: 09:00 tot 17:30
    Dinsdag t/m vrijdag: 09:00 tot 16:30

    ATB YFM
  • peterwebb
    peterwebb Registered Users Posts: 1
    New Traveler
    I had a recent problem similar to yours. The TomTom VIA 53 seemed to stop working. Just a black screen after working properly the day before.

    What resolved it for me was to hold the power button for about 15 or 20 seconds until the logo was displayed and the startup sound was heard. This is a soft reset that got everything working again without losing any settings or stored routes/places.
  • Leo_fr_Bel_01
    Leo_fr_Bel_01 Registered Users Posts: 4
    Apprentice Seeker
    Answer ✓
    Also thanks for the info, but pressing the startup button is to restart the VIA 53.
    As stated before my VIA 53 is NOT STARTING UP.
    I have send my VIA 53 back to TOMTOM for repair and they answerd that it was not possible to repair it.
    The problem was due to the fact that my VIA 53 could not receive a GPS Signal anymore due to hardware problems.
    So when the TOMTOM banner goes on and off and the VIA 53 does not start up anymore even when the startup button is pressed for indefinite time ...... then possibel there is a GPS signal problem.

    For clarity TOMTOM as replaced my VIA 53 by another since it was still in garanty.
    Thanks everyone and also thx to TOMTOM for the service