Update problem with VIA 1505 — TomTom Community

Update problem with VIA 1505

Date: May 18, 2019

Tried all the downloads and updates on two (2) VIA 1505-M. Will not find sat signal on either after trying several times. Can they be packaged and mailed to a TomTom rep for updating? Frustrating!

Answers

  • DougLapDougLap Posts: 5,569
    Superuser
    Hi

    Could you try the following Fully charge the unit for at least 2 hours then take the unit outside well away from Buildings and Trees so it has a clear view of the sky.

    Now turn the unit on and when working hold the ON/OFF button down for about 20 seconds until you hear a drumroll sound. Now let go of the button and when the unit has booted up again create a route in it .

    When ready, if you were going to drive off, leave the unit in the open untouched for as much as 30 minutes too see if it will lock on to the sats.

    It has been said that if you leave the unit sat on the roof of a car whilst away for the buildings etc that has appeared to help.

    Doug
  • MDierbergMDierberg Posts: 3 [Neophyte Traveler]
    Nope. Nothing. Son's and neighbors doesn't work either. Believe it must be due to the GPS reformatting to more BITS rendering older units obsolete. Units say "Update Complete", after download, but even after a hard reboot nothing on any of the units.
  • YamFazManYamFazMan Posts: 17,064
    Superusers
    edited May 2019
    Hi
    @MDierberg

    "BL">VIA 1500 / 1505, 4GB + micro-SDHC, MyDrive Connect NAV3

    Check you're using NavKit Version 12.075
    The latest update to fix the GPS Week Number Roll-Over for the NAV3 devices has been available since...
    Version 12.075 Released on 26 July 2018
    This update applies to: GO 1000, GO 1005 / GO 2050, GO 1050, GO 1050 World, GO 2405, GO 2435, GO 2505, GO 2435, GO 2505 LIVE, GO 2535, GO 2535 TM WTE, GO LIVE 1000, GO LIVE 1005, GO LIVE 1050 / GO LIVE 2050, GO LIVE 1535, GO LIVE 2050, GO LIVE 2535 M, GO LIVE 820, GO LIVE 825, GO LIVE Camper & Caravan Edition, PRO 5150 Truck, Start 20 / Via 220, Start 25, Start 60 (2012), Via 110, Via 115, Via 120 / Via 160, Via 125,VIA 130 / 135, VIA 1400 / 1405, VIA 1410 / 1415, VIA 1430 / 1435, VIA 1500, VIA 1505, Via 1530 / 1535, VIA 160, VIA 1605, Via 180, Via 220, VIA 260 / 280, VIA All Blacks Edition, VIA LIVE 120, VIA LIVE 125, VIA LIVE 160, VIA LIVE 180
    •Bug fixes and improvements: Various performance improvements and bug fixes have been implemented.
    • This update prepares your navigation device for the week number rollover in April 2019 which has an impact on GPS.

    Here Tomtom FAQ...What's new in the latest software for my navigation device?
    https://uk.support.tomtom.com/app/release_notes/type/navkit

    My NAV3 Via120 Live & GO 825 Live both work fine with NavKit Version 12.075

    To check NavKit version....
    From the main menu
    Tap (Settings)
    Left Cursor once for next page
    Tap (Me and my device)
    Tap (About my device)
    Second line... App Version
    Follow onscreen prompts to exit

    A Drum-roll Soft Start can help.... Hold the ON/OFF Power button in until you hear a Drum-roll sound... Then release the button.... This will reinitialize the devices Operating System, like restarting your PC

    Fully charge the Battery (At least 2 Hours)
    A low battery can cause GPS Satellite fix problems
    Plan a route on the device... Now place the device outside with a clear view to the sky

    I have also found with my Car parked on the drive, if I place the device on the centre of the Cars roof, will give a shorter time for the device to obtain it's first GPS Satellite fix... I think the metal roof of the Car acts as a ground-plane for the SatNav GPS Antenna
    DON'T FORGET... Keep an eye on the device, you wouldn't want a family member driving off not knowing its on the roof or a Thief walking off with it

    ATB YFM
  • MDierbergMDierberg Posts: 3 [Neophyte Traveler]
    Got it fixed.
  • YamFazManYamFazMan Posts: 17,064
    Superusers
    Hi
    @MDierberg

    You're welcome, glad you're sorted :)

    ATB YFM
  • TbltRonTbltRon Posts: 1 [New Seeker]
    Can't update constantly says "server very busy" after several days trying to update
    my Start 20.
  • xwintechxwintech Posts: 107 [Exalted Navigator]
    Sign out and re-signin in MyDrive, this method originaly posted by @YamFazMan , it works. My Start 20 updated successfully!
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online in this Category0