clock not showing correct time

Magoo3789
Magoo3789 Registered Users Posts: 2
Apprentice Traveler
My clock on start up initially shows correct time then reverts to 0:00. I change it under time settings but thus does nothing?

Best Answer

Answers

  • Lochfrass
    Lochfrass Posts: 17,734
    Superuser
    Have you seen this link and checked your serial number.?
    https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/discussion/1108335/gps-week-number-roll-over/p1?new=1
  • Magoo3789
    Magoo3789 Registered Users Posts: 2
    Apprentice Traveler
    Hi Lochfrass
    Yes already done that. Thanks
  • Lochfrass
    Lochfrass Posts: 17,734
    Superuser
    What does the serial number verification tell you?
    When no update in Home is available for your device, you only can wait or call support.

    United Kingdom
    02079 490 132
    Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

    There are more Users with the same problem.
    https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/discussion/1110867/rider-time-resets-to-0-00
    https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/discussion/1110939/the-main-time-keeps-returning-to-12-00-am
    Hope TomTom fixes this soon
  • H_H_H
    H_H_H Registered Users Posts: 1
    New Traveler
    from https://www.tomtom.com/en_gb/updates/

    The GPS Week Number Rollover (WNRO) occurs every 19 years, with the next roll over taking place on 6 April 2019. Similar to odometers in older cars rolling over from 99,999 km to 0, the GPS WNRO is the resetting of the GPS calendar back to 0.

    When the calendar resets, it can cause a miscommunication between GPS satellites and GPS receiver chips. As a result, some chips in satnavs will lose the ability to process certain functions.

    What does this mean for you? It’s time to check your satnav. Depending on your device, you may need to update or upgrade.
  • Harris_First
    Harris_First Registered Users Posts: 3
    Apprentice Traveler
    I have the exact same and very frustrating problem. Vancouver, BC, Canada. April 10, 2019.
  • tiljes
    tiljes Registered Users Posts: 254
    Supreme Pioneer
    So the page says it should work which it doesn't. What now?
  • DougLap
    DougLap Posts: 9,833
    Superuser
    edited April 2019
    Hi @tiljes


    You have stated on another topic that your unit has software on it that was quite old and @dhn suggested that you check to see if there are any updates available for it in Home. Did you do this and if so what version of software is on it now.

    Doug
  • tiljes
    tiljes Registered Users Posts: 254
    Supreme Pioneer
    Of course I did check. The newest available is installed (9.500 from 2013). Yet the page says "will be fine". Anyway, that's not the point. My case has already been escalated. This is a common problem with some devices and it is known by TomTom, no need to point users with this problem to the update page.
  • Smudger98
    Smudger98 Registered Users Posts: 5
    Master Explorer
    I cant download the lastest file as it wont highlight that file.. I have checked the serial No etc and got the lastest version of TT home but makes no odds - If im forced into a replacement it wont be a TomTom unit..
  • DougLap
    DougLap Posts: 9,833
    Superuser
    HI @Smudger98

    Is it possible that you cannot select the Update because the Tomtom unit has not fully connected to the Home software. Try unplugging it and replugging it to see if you get a connection.

    Doug
  • Smudger98
    Smudger98 Registered Users Posts: 5
    Master Explorer
    edited May 2019
    All plugged in and working

    2u5snwmwtasf.jpg

    - I get an update failure
    The clock comes back for 2 minutes at the correct time then reverts to 00:00 again..
  • Smudger98
    Smudger98 Registered Users Posts: 5
    Master Explorer
    And this also..
    Cheers.
    lcyxqo7peby1.png
  • EagleOne
    EagleOne Registered Users Posts: 3
    New Seeker
    VikramK wrote: »
    Check your serial numbers here please-https://www.tomtom.com/en_gb/updates/

    Regards
    Vikram

    I am experiencing the exact same problem. I was "offered" to buy a new device! Ok then, I will do that - but it will definitely not be a TomTom. I feel so screwed over by this behaviour.
  • YamFazMan
    YamFazMan Posts: 20,800
    Superuser
    edited July 2019
    Hi
    @EagleOne

    First... Maybe usefull...
    http://www.rima-lock.com/tomtom-urban-rider-K3-WNRO-fix.htm
    ___________________________
    ___________________________

    Next....
    A Drum-roll Soft Start can help....
    See...
    https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/discussion/comment/1648815/#Comment_1648815

    If your still struggling to get a GPS Fix
    Try....
    https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/discussion/comment/1648823/#Comment_1648823

    ATB YFM
  • samsonsg
    samsonsg Registered Users Posts: 7
    Apprentice Seeker
    I tried some of the suggested fixes but nothing is permanent. Sometimes the new time shows for a short while and then it reverts back to 12:00 am and does not advance. Other times it does not change and other times it shows an 8 hour time difference and then goes to 12:00 am. It appears that the clock mechanism if there is one, goes back to zero mode and sits there.
  • YamFazMan
    YamFazMan Posts: 20,800
    Superuser
    Hi
    @samsonsg
    Welcome to the site....
    Which Tomtom model do you own ???

    Stay Safe... ATB YFM