My VIA 135 has no idea where it is....

janeis25again
janeis25again Registered Users Posts: 4
Apprentice Seeker
edited March 2019 in MyDrive Connect
My Via 135 permanently says it is waiting for a GPS signal, but there is one available, so in short it does not know where it is. therefore how do i reset it / diagnose the fault?

Comments

  • YamFazMan
    YamFazMan Posts: 20,787
    Superuser
    Hi
    @janeis25again

    Have you tried a Soft/Drum roll restart on the device ???? This restarts the devices Operating System afresh

    RESETTING YOUR NAVIGATION DEVICE
    https://uk.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/6965//session/L2F2LzEvdGltZS8xNDI2NjM0NDUyL3NpZC9EQTdTVHpobQ

    Charge the device for at least 2Hrs "OR" have the device plugged into a power supply
    Press and hold the on/off button until you hear a drum-roll sound then release the on/off button.
    You won’t lose anything; it’s just like rebooting your PC
    I use a Soft/drum-roll start after any upgrade large or small.
    It’s also useful to keep in mind for sorting out most minor niggles......

    If possible, for the for the first Satellite fix, go outside with a clear view of the Sky

    ATB YFM
  • janeis25again
    janeis25again Registered Users Posts: 4
    Apprentice Seeker
    thanks for the help but that didn't work. i am updated but it cannot find a signal anywhere. does anyone know how one actually speaks / communicates to anyone from TomTom?
  • DougLap
    DougLap Posts: 9,827
    Superuser
    Hi @janeis25again

    Do a factory Reset is the next step.. Can you use the Home software to do a backup of your unit. Then

    Tap the screen
    Select Settings
    Scroll Right until you find Reset factory Settings.
    Press that and select partial. press Done

    if that does not cure it do it again but selecting Full reset.

    If that fails to work contact Customer Support and see if the settings at their end need changing.

    Doug
  • Interloper
    Interloper Registered Users Posts: 5
    Master Traveler
    I had the same problem. I connected it to my laptop and updated the maps and then it was working fine again.
  • YamFazMan
    YamFazMan Posts: 20,787
    Superuser
    Hi

    All of the NAV3 devices listed below....
    Work OK using NavCore Version 12.075 Released on 26 July 2018

    The latest update to fix the GPS Week Number Roll-Over for the NAV3 devices has been available since...
    Version 12.075 Released on 26 July 2018
    This update applies to: GO 1000, GO 1005 / GO 2050, GO 1050, GO 1050 World, GO 2405, GO 2435, GO 2505, GO 2435, GO 2505 LIVE, GO 2535, GO 2535 TM WTE, GO LIVE 1000, GO LIVE 1005, GO LIVE 1050 / GO LIVE 2050, GO LIVE 1535, GO LIVE 2050, GO LIVE 2535 M,GO LIVE 820, GO LIVE 825, GO LIVE Camper & Caravan Edition, PRO 5150 Truck, Start 20 / Via 220, Start 25, Start 60 (2012), Via 110, Via 115, Via 120 / Via 160, Via 125, VIA 130 / 135, VIA 1400 / 1405, VIA 1410 / 1415, VIA 1430 / 1435, VIA 1500, VIA 1505, Via 1530 / 1535, VIA 160, VIA 1605, Via 180, Via 220, VIA 260 / 280, VIA All Blacks Edition, VIA LIVE 120, VIA LIVE 125, VIA LIVE 160, VIA LIVE 180
    •Bug fixes and improvements: Various performance improvements and bug fixes have been implemented.
    • This update prepares your navigation device for the week number rollover in April 2019 which has an impact on GPS.
    _______________________________

    To find your Tomtom Model... Enter the first 2 Characters of your devices Serial Number into the Tomtom FAQ linked below
    https://uk.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/9508/locale/en_GB

    Check you are running the latest software....
    What's new in the latest software for my navigation device?
    Here...
    https://uk.support.tomtom.com/app/release_notes/type/navkit

    My NAV3 Via120 Live & GO 825 Live both work fine with NavKit Version 12.075

    To check a NAV3 NavKit version....
    From the main menu
    Tap (Settings)
    Left Cursor once for next page
    Tap (Me and my device)
    Tap (About my device)
    Second line... App Version
    Follow onscreen prompts to exit
    ________________________________

    A Drum-roll Soft Start can help....
    See...
    https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/discussion/comment/1648815/#Comment_1648815

    If your still struggling to get a GPS Fix
    Try....
    https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/discussion/comment/1648823/#Comment_1648823

    ATB YFM