Speed alert warning and speed cameras settings? — TomTom Community

Speed alert warning and speed cameras settings?

potty5potty5 Posts: 2 [Apprentice Seeker]
Dear forum members, I have recently upgraded my sat nav from a Garmin to a TomTom Start 60. I was most impressed with the Tomtom, but after using it for the first time, I am a bit concerned that I have not set it up correctly. First of all, the first speed camera I approached, there was no warning sound, and secondly further up the road, I noticed I was a few mph above the limit of the road. The sat nav only gave me a warning when I was about 5mph above the limit. Can you change this? Sorry for sounding a complete novice, but I am!!! Mark.

Answers

• DougLapDougLap Posts: 6,897
    Superuser
    edited February 2019
    Hi @potty5

Tap Menu
    Tap Settings
    Tap Voices
    Select Serena or Malcolm as these are Digitalised voices and give more information.

Tap Menu
    Tap Settings
    Tap Sounds and Warnings
    Tap Warning Type and decide if you want Sound or Read Aloud warnings
    Tap Top Left Arrow to go back One page
    Now select which options you want to be warned about.

Doug
  • YamFazManYamFazMan Posts: 18,436
    Superusers
    Hi
    @potty5

For general improvement over the default settings for using the Tomtom Speed Cam Database
    Always use a Computer voice...
    Serena or Malcolm in the UK
    Also....
    From the main screen... Tap (.... Menu) -> Setting -> Sounds & Warnings...
    Set... 'Warning Type' to... Read Allowed... (Important... Needs a Computer Voice set in the Voices menu)
    Speed Cameras & Hazards... Set to ON
    The next 10 Setting ALL set to Always
    The next 4 Settings ALL set to ON
    The device will now say....
    'Fixed Camera'
    'Mobile Hot Spot'
    'Red-light Camera'
    'Accident Black-spots
    ‘Spoken Traffic delays’

Speed Cams