All Downloadable Maps in French — TomTom Community

All Downloadable Maps in French

Kyle12Kyle12 Posts: 6 [Master Traveler]
My TomTom Go app on android has an english version of USA/Canada. I am traveling soon and would like to download another map but ALL of my map names are in French. What happened? My App is in English, why aren't the maps? (see attached image)6552b9e4-e16b-4192-8509-7d82fdc3ef6b.jpg

Comments

• AsprinAsprin Posts: 271 [Supreme Pioneer]
    @Kyle12,

What is you smartphone setup as?

English or French Canadian??

If you want TomTom in English the the smartphone has to be in English.

That also goes for the TTS voices you want to use.
  • Kyle12Kyle12 Posts: 6 [Master Traveler]
    Hi @Asprin624 ,
    My phone is Canadian English. I've been using the app for a few years now and this is the first time the maps show in French. The TomTom voice is also English.
    @Kyle12,

If you switch to UK English and restart you phone does that help?
    Hi @Asprin624 - switching to English UK worked but I'm concerned the effect this will have on other apps. I switched back to English Canada and the maps went back to French. This is definitely a TomTom bug.
    @Kyle12,

If you switch the whole phone to UK English you should have no problems with any of the other app's.

Belgium here there are three languages French, Flemish and Germany.

I keep my smartphone in UK English and never have a problem with any apps.

If I switch the Smartphone to Dutch then Tomtom is in Dutch and I can use the Dutch voices only.
    The same for German and Frence.

I have never run into any problems with TomTom app showing me the wrong language when it comes to downloading maps.

So keeping the whole phone in UK English is you best bet.
    Since this is a new problem, I don't understand why they can't fix it. Displaying French maps in an English mobile system doesn't make sense.
  • [Gelöschter Benutzer][Gelöschter Benutzer] Posts: 5,321 [Supreme Trailblazer]