GO 5200 traffic via build in SIM card not working - Page 2 — TomTom Community

GO 5200 traffic via build in SIM card not working

2»

Comments

  • scjepsenscjepsen Posts: 7 [Master Explorer]
    DougLap wrote: »
    Hi @scjepsen

    Could you just try something please and let me know if it makes a difference.

    Tap Menu
    Tap Settings
    Tap Bluetooth
    Tap the paired Phone
    In the options at the bottom I assume you have all three Options selected as ON. including Data selected as ON.. Could you turn the Data Option OFF and the see, if you go outside, if the Traffic Data icon is Bold when you Tap Menu and Turn the unit on. This is to test if the Turning on of the Data in Bluetooth Overides the inbuilt Sim.

    Doug

    Just tried this, and no joy. The BlueTooth settings made no difference
  • scjepsenscjepsen Posts: 7 [Master Explorer]
    DougLap wrote: »
    Hi @scjepsen

    One other thing. One one occasion I had a problem with Traffic via the Inbuilt Sim on my GO 6200 based unit when there was a problem at Tomtom's end. I was in a major traffic Jam caused by Road works, lots travelling home from work and a Premier League Football match due to start within 2 hours. I have a Mifi, it should also work if you have a Hotspot facility on your phone. I logged into the Mifi via the Wifi facility on the GO 6200, I could have tried a Phone Hotspot, and picked up Traffic immediately. So the ability to connect via Bluetooth and Wifi is a backup option if the Inbuilt sim is not functioning for any reason. Got me out of a lot of trouble. The inbuilt sim was working perfectly the next day when I needed it.

    Doug

    I have no problems when connecting the device to the phone via the MyDrive app, or if making a Wifi-hotspot.

    Thing is; when travelling this mean dataroaming and I was under the impression that the onboard SIM would / should handle that, to avoid the costs of roaming.

    Well Guess not. :-)

    Thanks again !
  • scjepsenscjepsen Posts: 7 [Master Explorer]
    scjepsen wrote: »
    DougLap wrote: »
    Hi @scjepsen

    One other thing. One one occasion I had a problem with Traffic via the Inbuilt Sim on my GO 6200 based unit when there was a problem at Tomtom's end. I was in a major traffic Jam caused by Road works, lots travelling home from work and a Premier League Football match due to start within 2 hours. I have a Mifi, it should also work if you have a Hotspot facility on your phone. I logged into the Mifi via the Wifi facility on the GO 6200, I could have tried a Phone Hotspot, and picked up Traffic immediately. So the ability to connect via Bluetooth and Wifi is a backup option if the Inbuilt sim is not functioning for any reason. Got me out of a lot of trouble. The inbuilt sim was working perfectly the next day when I needed it.

    Doug

    I have no problems when connecting the device to the phone via the MyDrive app, or if making a Wifi-hotspot.

    Thing is; when travelling this mean dataroaming and I was under the impression that the onboard SIM would / should handle that, to avoid the costs of roaming.

    Well Guess not. :-)

    Thanks again !

    Well. That was too fast.

    Can't pair the phone via BlueTooth, and hold the pairing. When starting the MyDrive app, the app insists on making a new pairing with the device. And the phone can't 'see' the device again after pairing.

    I think this item need a replacement.

    Thanks Doug for all your help :)

    ...and TomTom Support: Thanks for nothing !! :s
  • ArtychokeArtychoke Posts: 1 [New Seeker]
    edited June 2019
    My 5200 WiFi GPRS status has been disconnected for weeks now. Going round in circles with TomTom customer services both verbally and by email. They have a major issues with there satnavs that there not admitting too. There sim satnavs clearly do not connect to the network. I have reset countless times and have been waiting for an answer for days but keep getting fobbed off..waste of money, should have kept my Garmin.
  • DougLapDougLap Posts: 8,221
    Superuser
    Hi @artychoke.

    If I was in your position I would do a factory Reset.

    Fully charge the GO5200 for about 2 hours then:-

    Tap Menu
    Tap Settings
    Tap System
    Tap Reset Device.

    This will delete all your data and return the unit to out the box except you will not affect the current Maps or version of the Operating Software on the device.

    All the My Places and any poi and Route files you have loaded via My Drive will be deleted. However if you log into your account on the My Drive website you should see all your MyPlaces backed up there and the Poi and Route files you have loaded via My Drive.

    When you have completed the Factory Reset and entered language and all your Account Details etc take the unit outside away from your Wifi source, Buildings, Trees and it has a clear view of the sky. It is a good idea to skip entering the Wifi details at this point and enter them later.

    Now do a Soft Reset ie Hold the On/Off button down for about 20 seconds until you hear the drumroll sound and immediately let the button go. When the unit has restarted create a route and select Drive and Lets Go and then leave in the same spot for as much as 30 minutes to see if it locks onto the sats.

    All your Data will be resynced back to the unit via the Sim if you are not connected to the Wifi but once you enter the Wifi details and it locks no to it they will resync quicker.

    Hope this helps as it has done to a few others recently.

    Doug
  • kl2024kl2024 Posts: 1 [Apprentice Seeker]
    Hi,

    I've been having the same problem with my GO 5200 for months.

    I've just done what was suggested above by DougLap, unfortunately it's still showing as "Traffic - unavailable".

    Traffic subscription is showing as "Activated"
    GPRS Status is "Connected"

    This is all very frustrating as the traffic function was the principal reason for buying the 5200.

    Any more help or better still some resolution to the problem would be greatly appreciated.

    Cal
  • CLAUDIU77CLAUDIU77 Posts: 1 [Apprentice Seeker]
    I have the same problem. Satnav cannot establish gprs connection.
    Sometimes after restart Gprs connect and works for few minutes and after loosing connection again All day. Only via wifi I can see traffic. In last weeks give me this problems.
    I'm truck driver on all Europe and is days when I cross 3-4 countries. Until now was super nice.. Now have this Big Big problem
    TOMTOM What's happening???? GO6250
  • Baz909Baz909 Posts: 6 [Apprentice Traveler]
    Tomtom 6100 worked perfectly for three years. Last big update to v.10.40 resulted in lost GPRS functionality. Tried all usual resets including factory several times, nothing! This means no traffic or cloud updates. All supposedly paid for. Phoned for help, twice. Second time told their senior engineers decided my sim is faulty and would I like to purchase a new unit? So thought I'd ask on here if this story feels similar to many others? Are we being played for mugs? No way just an update would cause this. My suspicious mind is in overdrive I'm afraid.
  • Baz909Baz909 Posts: 6 [Apprentice Traveler]
    My unit has mysteriously started picking up the GPRS signal again ???? Thank goodness as I was seething after being told via phone and senior engineers that the sim had corrupted and that was that. They sent me a discount of 25% for a new one. Not very wise to human nature are they? Next update? Mmmmmmmmmmm!!!
  • sm67sm67 Posts: 5 [Apprentice Seeker]
    Just reading through this thread , I have just had the same thing happen to me.
    go 5000 , updated and a few days later noticed I have no live services.
    GPRS disconnected. Live services show as activated.
    In the About section it shows gprs status. Underneath it says disconnected
    Then it shows a set of numbers. this varies between 2 different sets
    (23430,0,0,0,10,0) or ((null),0,0,0,10,1)
    Spoke to customer service and they think the sim card is faulty. the unit is 3 yrs and 1 month old so they want a minimum £85 to replace the sim card.
    Its been a great sat nav , but, I think I paid £229 for this even though I could use google maps on my phone for free. I paid that really just for the live traffic. So to get 3 years live traffic for that cost I don't think I will be replacing it.
    Life time traffic , even by Tom tom standards should be more than 3 years.
    Makes me wonder if more companies do the Apple thing of harming a product during updates to ensure repeat sales.
    This all happened after an update to my tom tom.
    For anyone with a unit out of the repair warranty I would think twice about downloading any updates that are not critical for its use.
  • mandysincmandysinc Posts: 2 [New Seeker]
    Sounds like this is the same thing that happened to me - unit works well for 3 years - did a big update lost GPRS, did factory reset, got GPRS but can't log into to TomTom services at all. Tried everything. Its a GO5100 so meant to be lifetime - can't afford to replace it so looks like it is google maps for me unless anyone has any tips.....
  • YamFazManYamFazMan Posts: 19,623
    Superusers
    edited March 2020
    Hi
    @mandysinc

    On the rare occasions I have a problem with myDrive Connect
    I Delete MyDrive Connect using the free version of Revo Uninstaller then Reinstall MyDrive Connect....
    Using the Method Here... https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/discussion/comment/1682074/#Comment_1682074
    ______________________

    Or instead of UN-installing & RE-installing MyDrive Connect
    I find deleting the "HOME3" and the "MyDrive Connect" folders in the MyDrive Connect Program just as effective for giving MyDrive Connect a CPR...
    See... https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/discussion/comment/1686214/#Comment_1686214
    ______________________
    JimB0b wrote: »
    Thanks YamFazMan
    I'm on a Mac but have found the two folders you mentioned (Home3 and MyDriveConnect) and deleted them. Hurrah.. that's done the trick after a couple of frustrating weeks I've updated it successfully.
    Many thanks for the advice.

    On a Mac....
    The "HOME3" and the "MyDrive Connect" folders are located here...
    MacOS: Users\Username\Library\Application Support\TomTom\

    ATB YFM

  • GBOTGBOT Posts: 2 [New Seeker]
    I have the same problem with my 5200 here in the UK, I've tried everything I can think of, occasionally it will work for around 10 minutes then the status changes to "disconnected" and it could be days before it will work again and when it does it's only for about 10 minutes. Interestingly it works fine using WiFi at home or using my phones data connection as a hot spot because it says it can not connect via Bluetooth (yet my phone is connected via Bluetooth as I can make and receive calls through it?!)
    I bought the 5200 because of it's built in SIM "Lifetime Traffic" "Lifetime Speed Cameras" & "Lifetime Maps" It feels like Tom Tom has somehow disconnected the SIM card after just 12 months of use!
    Any help any one can give, would be gratefully received?
  • YamFazManYamFazMan Posts: 19,623
    Superusers
    edited September 2020
    Hi
    @GBOT
    Welcome to the site....
    I have a GO Premium and a GO 6200... Live Traffic over GPRS (SIM) is working OK

    hx9opbuemmvr.jpg
    I guess you are in the Office or at Home and your device is connected to your Office/Home Wi-Fi
    The Wi-Fi when connected it will take priority over GPRS SIM

    nkpwt41l41fy.jpg
    Try moving out of the Range of your Wi-Fi
    Or... Logout of your Wi-Fi....

    Tap 4Dot (.... Menu) --> Settings --> Wi-Fi
    Tap on your Connected Wi-Fi
    Tap (Modify) Icon
    Tap (Forget) Icon
    To verify the Wi-Fi is OFF Tap 4Dot (.... Menu) screen top right Wi-Fi logo with an 'X'

    70e5b90b-25ce-4fca-994c-e836a17cb9fa.jpg
    To Reconnect to Wi-Fi.... For Updating etc....
    Tap 4Dot (.... Menu) --> Settings --> Wi-Fi
    Tap on your chosen Wi-Fi
    Enter your Wi-Fi Password
    Tap Done
    Tap Connect
    _______________________

    Have you tried a Soft/Drum roll restart on the device ??? This restarts the devices Operating System afresh

    RESETTING YOUR NAVIGATION DEVICE
    https://uk.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/6965//session/L2F2LzEvdGltZS8xNDI2NjM0NDUyL3NpZC9EQTdTVHpobQ

    Charge the device for at least 2Hrs "OR" have the device plugged into a power supply
    Press and hold the on/off button until you hear a drum-roll sound then release the on/off button.
    You won’t lose anything; it’s just like rebooting your PC
    I use a Soft/drum-roll start after any upgrade large or small.
    It’s also useful to keep in mind for sorting out most minor niggles....
    ______________________

    Check... Tap 4Dot (.... Menu) --> Setting --> System --> About...
    Is Traffic Activated ???
    Tap on the Traffic Icon... It should say you have a Traffic Subscription....
    Scroll further down.....
    Check Data Connection... Status (See Images 1 & 2)

    Stay Safe... ATB YFM
  • Ives GastonIves Gaston Posts: 11 [Apprentice Traveler]
    Have the same problem and when you are connected with WIFI de problems begin WIFI is prior to GPRS and as long as you are connected with WIFI, better saying the device thinks you are connected with WIFI no way it will work with GPRS and y did the same as described @gbot but y do no Use WIFI again and do not plug your device in de USB of your PC before you chose on the device the way you want to update and the plug in after starting Tom Tom My drive connect. Tom Tom just has to look at a smartphone and the have the solution, out a range, as to activate GPRS push the right button and no problem. Y would think that Tom Tom want too goo bankrupt
  • juzaxx82juzaxx82 Posts: 1 [Apprentice Seeker]
    i have the same problem with my tomtom go 5200 .. i tried everything, hard reset, sync via customer support, but nothing works ... if there are thousands of users complaining about the same problem, it is probably something calculated by the same company .
    Don't waste money buying tomtom devices that promise "traffic for life" this term "for life" they have been using since the early 2000s .. do you really think that a 2005 tomtom device can still enjoy updates and traffic in 2020? unfortunately .. no.
    I give you some advice, if you want a tomtom, always buy the device with less false promises, it will cost less and you will have the same benefits and problems as a more expensive device in the same category ..
    Why buy a tomtom go 5200 if it works exactly like a tomtom go 520? Why spend more ..
  • DougLapDougLap Posts: 8,221
    Superuser
    Hi @juzaxx82

    When you contacted Customer support did they check your SIM card on their system?

    Any Tomtom unit sold in 2005 with lifetime maps is still being supported with map updates by Tomtom even if the unit has been declared obsolete. By the way is your 2005 phone still being updated?

    There have been one or two devices with Sim issues which it has turned out is caused by corrosion issues affecting the inbuilt mobile sims cards ability to connect correctly. In those cases by carefully removing the units serial number label on the bottom , which breaches warrantee, you could find the SIM card and carefully pressing it and removing it, cleaning the contacts and then inserting and removing it a few times contact has been restored.

    Otherwise if you still have an issue with the Tomtom and it cannot be sorted by advice from this user forum or when you speak to Customer Support then you can contact customer support again and ask if they can try to repair it which will be at your cost.if it is out of warrantee.

    Doug
  • YamFazManYamFazMan Posts: 19,623
    Superusers
    edited September 2020
    Hi
    @juzaxx82
    I have 4 Live Tomtom (SIM) Devices....
    Various NAV3, NAV4 & NAV5 (Wi-Fi) devices.... All are working fine.....
    No problems with Live Traffic for any of the devices :)
    _______________________________

    With your GO 5200 fully charged
    NOT Connected to USB on your PC and NOT Connected over Wi-Fi....
    To forget Wi-Fi See... https://discussions.tomtom.com/en/discussion/comment/1704163/#Comment_1704163
    The USB & Wi-Fi connections have a higher priority to the Data Connection than the GPRS SIM....
    Check... Tap 4Dot (.... Menu) --> Setting --> System --> About....
    Does 'Traffic' report... Activated ???
    Scroll down....
    Does your 'Data Connection' report... Built-in SIM
    Does your GPRS SIM report 'Connected'
    GPRS Model xx.xx.xxx

    Stay Safe... ATB YFM
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online in this Category0