No more support for tomtom rider 2 — TomTom Community

No more support for tomtom rider 2

musingermusinger Posts: 1 [New Traveler]
edited January 2019 in RIDER
I think it a shame that there is no more support for my tomtom, it works great. What I am suppose to do throw it in the garbage, why , is this their way to make you spend more money, I am retired on social security and can not affornd a new gps, I think you guys at the top of the food chain ****, If I ever have to buy another gps you can bet that I WILL NOT BUY A TOMTOM BRAND and you can take that to the bank.

Comments

  • tugmantugman Posts: 337 [Revered Navigator]
    I have recently sold my one and bought a new 400 although I was not aware that TT had stopped supporting it.
    The problem is that the sim card is only capable of updating maps to 2009 as the later ones have so much more data on them. Plus the later unit/system works differently as it is aligned to be used with a mobile phone.
    I do still have a couple of old bike docks if that is of any help.
  • Ste7iosSte7ios Posts: 747
    Superuser
    Most technological products suffer from short lifetimes especially when software is evolved, that’s the reality.

    Smartphones are a great example with a few exceptions. Most Android based smartphones are supported only for an Android version (which is a serious security problem), with the exception of Apple iOS devices that they are supported up to five iOS versions...

    Software is evolving, it’s requirements are increasing and makes hardware useless as new versions are coming...

    The same is happening with maps. Maps of 2018 are not the same with the maps of 2011. They’re continuously improving to give us a better result. It’s more than lines drawn on a screen. The latest generation of maps is not only slower but are bigger because of the data they contain.

    Supporting old devices is not impossible but at what cost?


    Personally I can’t afford a new motorcycle GPS. I’m unemployed for more than 3 years because of the crisis here. It looks that my Rider 400 is the last one. I have to compromise with less ideal solutions but (almost) free.
  • tugmantugman Posts: 337 [Revered Navigator]
    I also used my old rider2 up until 2016 as I found that generally the roads have not changed that much and if I found myself riding in a field I just keep going and sooner or later you would pick up the old road. I am generally refering to UK and European roads in my case.
  • Richard_VMCCRichard_VMCC Posts: 7 [Apprentice Seeker]
    Is anyone still using the Rider 2?
    If so, how well are they working?
    Thanks,
    Richard
  • tiljestiljes Posts: 249 [Exalted Navigator]
    @Richard_VMCC Still working fine, but you need to update the GPS firmware for proper functionality.
  • deal1-deal1- Posts: 2 [New Seeker]
    hi same here my tomtom only used on holiday trips abroad so even though old hardly used now its useless wont update so got to buy new one CERTAINLY wont be TOMTOM back to garmin
  • tiljestiljes Posts: 249 [Exalted Navigator]
    deal1- wrote: »
    hi same here my tomtom only used on holiday trips abroad so even though old hardly used now its useless wont update so got to buy new one CERTAINLY wont be TOMTOM back to garmin

    Just update it yourself and it won't be useless anymore.
  • Smurf_Tom_2005Smurf_Tom_2005 Posts: 47 [Sovereign Trailblazer]
    The Rider 1 + 2 has the problem, that after a restart no satellites are found forever. Only after a reset.
    The issue is resolved with an unofficial firmware upgrade of the Sirf3 GPS chip to version GWS3.2.5 or GWS3.6.0

    what you need is the unofficial GPS upgrade Sirf3 GWS3.2.5 or GWS3.6.0
    So I've flashed several sat navs successfully. It can be found on a German forum.
    search with Google for: Universal Upgrade GSW3.2.5TT3 & GWS3.6.0 GPS Chip_SIRF-III

    More information can be found here: https://www.navitotal.com/topic21440.html
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online in this Category0