Track vs Route vs ITN? — TomTom Community

Track vs Route vs ITN?

SteveduncoStevedunco Posts: 19 [Outstanding Explorer]
edited January 2019 in RIDER
Hi all, I am a newbie to this whole Gps thing so please bear with me. :-).
i just bought a rider 450 and am totally confused on how to use the device.
I just want to plan a ride to a destination with some particular roads and maybe even some stops, and importantly, if I take a wrong turn, miss a turn, take a different turn on purpose, I want the gps to guide me back on course to the destination. I tried using a track from the TomTom software, and when I missed a turn, the rider kept sending me backwards? Is this normal that a track won’t recalculate the route if a wrong turn is made? Import as a track is the only automatic option to pick? If I send the same course to my rider with myroute app as an ITN file ( I’m calling it a course to avoid saying track or route), it seems to work like I want? What am I doing wrong with the tracks? Surely it’s meant to be easy to just plan a course and import it to the rider? I use a Mac.

Comments

• Ste7iosSte7ios Posts: 752
    Superuser
    Take a look here: https://en.discussions.tomtom.com/rider-51/itn-versus-gpx-files-1021734/index1.html#post1160995

The short answer: Track (== GPX) is like a record of a route that you'll blindly follow / play at a later time, routes (== ITN) is a list of waypoints you want to visit and a route is calculated every time you use the route taking into account your route preferences and traffic data.

Take a look at MyRoute-App. It's much better than MyDrive...
  • SteveduncoStevedunco Posts: 19 [Outstanding Explorer]
    Thanks Ste7ios. I’ve got myroute app. I have been researching this for 2 weeks now, and I’ve read a few of your posts thanks, but I’m still confused. Should I export an ITN or route or track to my rider is my question. It’s very confusing trying to understand the differences to suit my needs?