MyDrive Web (v2) Tips & Tricks 2

YamFazMan
YamFazMan Posts: 20,832
 Superuser
edited December 2021 in MyDrive Connect/MyDrive Web
[h2]During an "A" to "B" route transfer.....
The device drops Location "A"[/h2]
This bug applies to all NAV4/(5 Wifi) devices
After you have created your "A" to "B" route using the MyDrive Web (2) Route planner where "A" isn't your present location
When you sync the route to your device using the "Send to Device" menu option
I think the device removes your planned "A" location and moves it to your present location, but it doesn't replace your original "A" location with a stop, and so the route misses the original "A" location

Note...[1] This bug applies to routes where "A" is not your present location
For example Route from "A" Birkenhead to "B" Manchester, my present location (Worcestershire)
Also, See Note... [2] Below... Multi-stop Routes

e741788b-1054-4936-8886-ebd1bb6cc509.jpg The device receives the route -> Calculates the route from my present location (Worcestershire)... Then completely ignores "A" Birkenhead

Screen GO 520
9595e2f9-d092-4df3-8502-0dbe5b0dd376.jpg Workaround... When planning your route if you place a sacrificial stop right next to the planned Start of your "A" to "B" Route

7fd0ed66-9cb9-45f6-bf1b-889cefd2eee7.pngThen when you sync the route to your device using the "Send to Device" menu option, the device still moves your planned start to your present location... But the sacrificial stop holds the correct route... From your Present location to original "A" then "B"
In the above example... Worcestershire --> Birkenhead --> Manchester

Screen GO 520
8f1b3f4d-adb5-4157-bd4a-55ab54636089.jpg
Note... [2] This bug also applies also to Multi-Stop/Waypoint routes... 'A' to 'B' to 'C' to' D' to 'E' etc
When you sync the route to your device using the "Send to Device" menu option
I think the device removes your planned "A" location and moves it to your present location, but it doesn't replace your original "A" location with a stop, and so the route misses the original "A" location

The same bug existed within the MYDdrive Web (2) Route planner, the route planner also dropped point A
But that bug appears to have been fixed?

ATB YFM
_________________________________________



[h2]Reverse the direction of an existing route[/h2]
The example uses Win10 and Firefox 54.0 (32-bit)

Load route
Click on the pencil Icon for Route Edit Mode

053308c3-a94f-4c35-aba6-f529496912bb.png
Place the hand cursor on the route, when a white dot appears... LEFT Click the mouse

eae53765-8806-4b10-8fe8-0562eb215858.png
Left Click on the 3Dot icon for the Quick menu to open
Click on Reverse Route option

eda5ab17-dcd2-49f7-bae9-1f436c94346f.jpgATB YFM

_______________________________________



[h2]Transfer .GPX routes with "Multiple Stops"[/h2]

To transfer .GPX routes with "Multiple Stops" created using Tyre to Travel or the previous MyDrive Web (v1) Route planner (May work for .GPX routes from other route planners)

Had a dig around in the MyDrive Web (v2) Route planner
The following allows me to Edit/Save/and Transfer/Convert to .ITN any .GPX routes created using Tyre to Travel or the previous MyDrive Web (v1) Route planner

Re... Old .GPX Routes stored in MyRoutes
Re... Old .GPX Routes created using Tyre... Follow the red text for the old tyre .GPX files
If you have routes created using the previous MyDrive (Web) Route planner

The MyDrive Web (2) Route planner won't allow editing of these routes
If you Select the route... The route loads but there is no Edit Icon available

49a60310-40f2-4ac7-bebe-de7c281e558c.pngBut if you save the .GPX file to your desktop (See above Image)
Then re-import the file into the MyDrive (Web) Route planner
Import the .GPX file that you created using Tyre to Travel into the MyDrive (Web) Route planner

MD Route planner now creates 2 files one you can edit (Finish Route) the other not

d8c0f3dd-1c0f-45fe-8909-bb44a5886ed4.pngDelete the file you can't edit

953e560f-e48b-47ab-af02-ef0c978a1d67.png
Select the route that is left, Click "Finish Route"
The Route Planner will re-calculate the route
The planning menu will open with the "Send to the device" and the "Save" Options Available

305f8a24-5b77-4cb7-a07f-7c43750807b4.png
Click "Save" to save the route
When you next load the route, you are offered the "Edit Icon" to edit the route

The "Send to device" works fine, the route syncs OK with the device
"Send to the device" works fine, the .GPX Route that you created using Tyre (along with any Stops), syncs OK with the device
___________________________________________

I've also found.....
Convert a .GPX route to an .ITN on the device
When you have sent a route to the device using "Send to device"
After the device calculates the route you can.....

Tap somewhere on the displayed route
A quick Menu should open Tap the 3Dot Icon
Tap Manage Route
Tap Add to my Routes
Accept or Rename the route
Tap Add
The route is added to "MyRoutes" as a .ITN file (Solid Arrow) displayed in the MyRoutes list of routes

fa6e44d7-2a3a-4cd9-9fe5-01518f1dd61e.jpg Note... This doesn't work if you have used the "Save & Sync" option to transfer your route, the "Save & Sync" option transfers a .GPX (Track)
Whereas the "Send to device" option transfers a .GPX (Route)

ATB YFM

Comments

  • MikkoK
    MikkoK Retired TomTom Employee Posts: 23,905 Retired Community Managers and Staff
    Hi Len,

    Great stuff!

    You might consider gathering your MyDrive and/or route importing tips into one topic. You could e.g. then separate them with titles using the
    [h3]Title[/h3]
    
    tags.

    Let me know what you think and if you need help with that.

    Cheers, Mikko