2017: Still no charging indicator!

AbramKJ
AbramKJ Registered Users Posts: 15
Outstanding Explorer
edited January 24 in TomTom Sports
I'm new to TomTom. Took the Spark Cardio+Music GPS Watch out for a run today. I absolutely loved running with music and without a phone. We're in the future!

However, combing through these forums, it would appear that there is still not a way to know how charged my watch is. Couldn't a software update give us a percentage number? Or could one at least show when it's charging so we can know how close to fully charged it is in that case?

It appears this has been requested multiple times already. Has TomTom indicated a time frame by which we can expect something more specific? This seems like basic functionality to me--especially given that this watch can beam music to my earbuds!

Comments

• Stuart McDonald
    Stuart McDonald Registered Users Posts: 759
    Exalted Navigator
    Hi,
    The About screen of the watch shows the battery level and when connected the entire watch screen shows a large battery icon that indicates when it's finished charging. I'm afraid there are no plans to add more than that.

Regards,
    Stuart.
  • tfarabaugh
    tfarabaugh Posts: 16,943
     Superuser
    A percentage would be no more accurate than the bar they use. Battery gauges on consumer devices are a rough estimate at best (this is true of you phone and other items as well) and a gauge, bar graph, percentage or time left are all going to tell you the same thing. The batteries do not deplete in a steady predictable manner and depend on sensors chosen, external conditions and other factors so it is difficult to predict how long is left. I find the gauge on the Connect screen when it is plugged into a computer is the best indicator of how much charge the battery has.