Reply
Novice Explorer
johnny75
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎29-10-2011
Location: New Zealand

reinstalling application problem

i have reformatted my GPS XL IQ routes but when i try to reinstall the application i alway get an error message :

ERROR: HomeBase/IO: Error writing file: K:\helpme\other\travelinfo\images\ireland_intro2.jpg
@ .\portable\cfile.cpp(1947)
000003EE
in .\portable\cfile.cpp:1947
Stack:
0. chrome://tthome/content/ui/bindings/commit.js:82
                    error(textOrException);
1. chrome://tthome/content/ui/bindings/ttwizard.xml:1061
                                        this._commitFailed(i, commitPage);
2. chrome://tthome/content/logic/util.js:79
                return func.apply(obj, arguments);
3. chrome://tthome/content/logic/dllUtils.js:77
            this._errorCallback(e);
4. chrome://tthome/content/logic/dllUtils.js:69
            this._errorFatal(error);

Time: Sat, 29 Oct 2011 04:09:10 GMT

what can i do. I have tried reformatting to fat32 but It wont format only to the fat format

Message 1 of 7 (390 Views)
Please use plain text.
Traylaw
Posts: 3,679
Registered: ‎05-07-2011
Location: US

Re: reinstalling application problem

HomeBaseIO error is a problem with the gps flash memory drive. Try this procedure to correct the problem

http://uk.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/minor_detail/a_id/13295/

********************************************************************
Report map errors at http://www.tomtom.com/mapshare/tools/
********************************************************************

Message 2 of 7 (388 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
johnny75
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎29-10-2011
Location: New Zealand

Re: reinstalling application problem

i have tried this procedure but as i have nothing on my computer to restore to the gps. do i need to reformat the drive to Fat32?

Message 3 of 7 (384 Views)
Please use plain text.
Traylaw
Posts: 3,679
Registered: ‎05-07-2011
Location: US

Re: reinstalling application problem

The procedure takes you thru the process of formatting the memory and yes it is formatted in FAT32, restoring the software via download. If you have ever updated the map data or purchased a map it may actually still be on the computer.
********************************************************************
Report map errors at http://www.tomtom.com/mapshare/tools/
********************************************************************

Message 4 of 7 (380 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
johnny75
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎29-10-2011
Location: New Zealand

Re: reinstalling application problem

this device will not reformat to fat32. cannot backup or restore. No maps, all because i accidently refomatted. It was going perfect before this. I failed to backup prior to reformatting so have nothing to restore to. I thought i needed to reformat to get the latest application. but this wasnt so

Message 5 of 7 (378 Views)
Please use plain text.
Traylaw
Posts: 3,679
Registered: ‎05-07-2011
Location: US

Re: reinstalling application problem

[ Edited ]

What model and memory size, Have you tried FAT16 usually called FAT

********************************************************************
Report map errors at http://www.tomtom.com/mapshare/tools/
********************************************************************

Message 6 of 7 (375 Views)
Please use plain text.
Traylaw
Posts: 3,679
Registered: ‎05-07-2011
Location: US

Re: reinstalling application problem

Also have you tried to us a Check Disk Utility. See this link for procedure.

http://us.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/9908/kw/memory%20error

********************************************************************
Report map errors at http://www.tomtom.com/mapshare/tools/
********************************************************************

Message 7 of 7 (373 Views)
Please use plain text.