Reply
Novice Explorer
judy47
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎15-03-2011
Location: New Zealand

No device connected

Downloaded for TomTom home for my  via 180, but receive a device not connected notice..any help please?

Message 1 of 14 (4,308 Views)
Please use plain text.
Elite Voyager
Elite Voyager
dhn
Posts: 11,993
Registered: ‎01-03-2011

Re: No device connected

Try holding the power button for about 10 seconds on the unit to reset it.

 

Also, make sure you are using My Home 3, NOT Home 2 for that unit.

 

See here:

https://tomtom.com/en_nz/mytomtom/getstarted/

-------------------------------------------
I am a moderator at Tomtomforums.com, an independent community of Tomtom customers. .....I am not a TomTom employee.
Message 2 of 14 (4,305 Views)
Please use plain text.
Supreme Trailblazer
Supreme Trailblazer
dc
Posts: 226
Registered: ‎10-03-2011

Re: No device connected

Shouldn't this be using the new "My TomTom" application for its support??

 

However, don't expect much, since the application is still very much under development - half of the promised functionality is still not available!

 

See http://uk.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/12566/kw/mytomtom for information.

Message 3 of 14 (4,282 Views)
Please use plain text.
New Traveler
petr
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-03-2011
Location: Czech Republic

Re: "No device connected" on TT home

I keep getting  this TT home message (what a dreadful nonsense to disallow manual downloads and installations....it has given me no end of trouble over the last 2 years) when I try to connect my phone with tt navigator, even though windows mobile device centre happily synchronises. When I connect my phone on another computer it works. Hence problem on my laptop, where I have recently installed an update of the Norton 360 to the new version. I disconnect/disable all norton options that I can find, but it makes no difference.. Who can help?

Thanks

Message 4 of 14 (4,183 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
MalcolmE
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎21-04-2011
Location: Australia

Re: "No device connected" on TT home

HI all,

 

I have to agree with the above comments, I have just tried connecting my VIA 180 as I was informed that there was a device update but it will not connect, telling me I had to install TomTom  Home but the problem was I have already done several updates to my GPS all I had to do was just plug it in to the laptop and it was connected showing the correct device - why did some techo decide that they had to change it all we want is to plug it in, update it and use it  if it's going to be this hard to do this then I may as well look for a GPS that does that which will not be a Tom Tom, just get if fixed

 

Mal

Message 5 of 14 (3,847 Views)
Please use plain text.
New Traveler
sugar1
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎14-08-2011
Location: US

Re: No device connected

Can't get home in mt 1500 via!!!

Message 6 of 14 (3,450 Views)
Please use plain text.
Traylaw
Posts: 3,679
Registered: ‎05-07-2011
Location: US

Re: No device connected

[ Edited ]

I don't believe you use Home for the Via series.....You use myTomTom web base interface.

 

You might also consider using FireFox as you default browser.....there has been some problems with IE security settings. Not sure if TomTom has address all of the problems yet.

********************************************************************
Report map errors at http://www.tomtom.com/mapshare/tools/
********************************************************************

Message 7 of 14 (3,448 Views)
Please use plain text.
Apprentice Traveler
miguel7000
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎25-12-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: No device connected

Whenever I try to connect  my tom tom to my computer it keep telling me that  it is not connected?

Message 8 of 14 (2,628 Views)
Please use plain text.
Apprentice Traveler
miguel7000
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎25-12-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: No device connected

Just turned on my Tom Tom and a messagep pop up telling me that Windows does not recognised my tom tom, why is this happening?

 

Message 9 of 14 (2,627 Views)
Please use plain text.
Traylaw
Posts: 3,679
Registered: ‎05-07-2011
Location: US

Re: No device connected

What model do you have... models like XL, XXL, One, GO x00 / x10 / x20 / x30 / x40 / x50, Easy, Start (not 20 series) use TomTom's Home software. Which you can download from this site.

http://www.tomtom.com/services/service.php?id=16&tab=87

 

Model like GO 800 / 1000 / 2000 / Via / Start 20 Series use myTomTom which can be obtained at 

http://us.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/15612

********************************************************************
Report map errors at http://www.tomtom.com/mapshare/tools/
********************************************************************

Message 10 of 14 (2,621 Views)
Please use plain text.