Reply
Neophyte Traveler
RNCK
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-06-2012
Location: US

FROZEN SCREEN ON START UP

I just bought my TomTom and after it restarted from the computer the screen has been frozen on the TOMTOM (Hands symbol) for quite some time. I used the reset (holding down the on button for 15 seconds) but still frozen on that screen when I turn it back on. HELP

Message 1 of 15 (7,679 Views)
Please use plain text.
Elite Voyager
Elite Voyager
dhn
Posts: 12,365
Registered: ‎01-03-2011

Re: FROZEN SCREEN ON START UP

What model do you have?

-------------------------------------------
I am a moderator at Tomtomforums.com, an independent community of Tomtom customers. .....I am not a TomTom employee.
Message 2 of 15 (7,678 Views)
Please use plain text.
Neophyte Traveler
RNCK
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-06-2012
Location: US

Re: FROZEN SCREEN ON START UP

xxl ?

Message 3 of 15 (7,675 Views)
Please use plain text.
Neophyte Traveler
RNCK
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-06-2012
Location: US

Re: FROZEN SCREEN ON START UP

540s

Message 4 of 15 (7,672 Views)
Please use plain text.
Elite Voyager
Elite Voyager
dhn
Posts: 12,365
Registered: ‎01-03-2011

Re: FROZEN SCREEN ON START UP

Do you hear the drum sound when you've held the power button on the unit when you reset it?

-------------------------------------------
I am a moderator at Tomtomforums.com, an independent community of Tomtom customers. .....I am not a TomTom employee.
Message 5 of 15 (7,663 Views)
Please use plain text.
Neophyte Traveler
dfrench24
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎20-07-2012
Location: US

Re: FROZEN SCREEN ON START UP

I am having the same trouble.  I have XLL (not sure what version of XLL).  When I turn it on, I hear the drum roll and the logo "TomTom" with the hands.  Then, nothing happens.  I have tried resetting it (i.e., hold down the button for 20 seconds and then turn it back on).  I have tried updating on the computer (it will connect to the computer and I was able to do a backup and install some recommend update).  But, whether it is connected to the computer or not connected, I can't get past the startup screen.

Message 6 of 15 (7,575 Views)
Please use plain text.
Elite Voyager
Elite Voyager
dhn
Posts: 12,365
Registered: ‎01-03-2011

Re: FROZEN SCREEN ON START UP

Connect to the computer. Make an Explorer, not Home, backup.

 

Format the unit, don't use quickformat.

 

Restore the backup. Any better?

-------------------------------------------
I am a moderator at Tomtomforums.com, an independent community of Tomtom customers. .....I am not a TomTom employee.
Message 7 of 15 (7,572 Views)
Please use plain text.
Neophyte Traveler
dfrench24
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎20-07-2012
Location: US

Re: FROZEN SCREEN ON START UP

I have the XXL 550. I am backing up now (copying all files from the unit to a folder on my computer). How to I format the unit? And, then, how to I restore the backup (copy files from computer to unit)?
Message 8 of 15 (7,570 Views)
Please use plain text.
Elite Voyager
Elite Voyager
dhn
Posts: 12,365
Registered: ‎01-03-2011

Re: FROZEN SCREEN ON START UP

In My Computer, highlight the drive depicting the tomtom unit and click, one option should be format.

 

Yes, see here for Explorer backups and Restores:

http://www.tomtomforums.com/t17864-how-backup-contents-your-unit-computer-how-restore.html

 

-------------------------------------------
I am a moderator at Tomtomforums.com, an independent community of Tomtom customers. .....I am not a TomTom employee.
Message 9 of 15 (7,567 Views)
Please use plain text.
Neophyte Traveler
dfrench24
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎20-07-2012
Location: US

Re: FROZEN SCREEN ON START UP

Okay, I formatted the unit and restored the backup from the computer. I turned off the unit (20 seconds holding the button was required) and I turned it back on. Same thing.
Message 10 of 15 (7,563 Views)
Please use plain text.