Reply
Neophyte Explorer
jilly
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-03-2012
Location: Australia
Accepted Solution

Cannot restore from backup

[ Edited ]

I have just found my TomTom which was lost for 2 years,  Plugged into computer and did a backup then computer searched for latest updates but gave me an error message: 

ERROR: HomeBase/IO: Error writing file: F:\ttgo.bif

@ .\portable\cfile.cpp(1953)

Tomtom says it now has no maps so I went to do a restore from backup: failed with error message

ERROR: DesktopLib/FileCopy/Error: An error occurred. Unable to create the files required to copy this item to your computer.
@ .\controller\FileCopyThread.cpp(161)
An error occurred while reading this file: "C:\Users\Jill\Documents\TomTom\HOME\Backup\ONE XL\Backup01\InternalMemory\art\cars\-default.bmp"
An error occurred while writing to this file: "F:\art\cars\-default.bmp"
The file or directory is corrupted and unreadable.

in .\controller\FileCopyThread.cpp:161
Stack:
0. chrome://tthome/content/ui/bindings/commit.js:82
                    error(textOrException);
1. chrome://tthome/content/ui/bindings/ttwizard.xml:1061
                                        this._commitFailed(i, commitPage);
2. chrome://tthome/content/logic/util.js:80
                return func.apply(obj, arguments);
3. chrome://tthome/content/logic/dllUtils.js:77
            this._errorCallback(e);
4. chrome://tthome/content/logic/dllUtils.js:69
            this._errorFatal(error);

 

Now nothing works.  Please help.

Message 1 of 5 (1,384 Views)
Please use plain text.
Zsolt
Posts: 21,286
Kudos: 2,390
Solutions: 554
Registered: ‎16-10-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Cannot restore from backup

Maybe the filesystem was damaged before you've done a backup, and now can't copy that .bmp file. Just try to update it again, and copy the map from your backup to the device (under Manage my ONE in HOME).

Tip: Help others identify useful content by clicking the kudos thumbs, and by selecting the best answer to your question as the accepted solution


Report map errors (MSR Tool - link)
Actual devices: GO 820 Top Gear Edition, GO 825, Start 60, One XL, GO 600, GO 1000, VIA 120, VIA 135, TomTom Android; Old devices: TomTom WM, GO 530, XL IQ Routes LIVE
How to contact TomTom's Customer Services (link)
TomTom's Customer Services numbers (thx Niall) (link)
How to soft reset your device (link)


I am NOT a TomTom employee, just a user like others.
Message 2 of 5 (1,378 Views)
Please use plain text.
Neophyte Explorer
jilly
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-03-2012
Location: Australia

Re: Cannot restore from backup

When I clicked on Manage my One XL it started to load but then gave the following message:

ERROR: DesktopLib/DeviceItemScan/Error: Error during scanning for navigation items HomeBase/IO: Error reading file: F:\art\cars\-default.bmp

@ .\portable\cfile.cpp(1944)

00000570.

@ .\framework\DeviceItemScannerThread.cpp(74)

 

in .\framework\DeviceItemScannerThread.cpp:74

Stack:

0. function errorAbortTask   chrome://tthome/content/logic/ttTask.js:510

        error(e);

1. chrome://tthome/content/logic/dllUtils.js:77

            this._errorCallback(e);

2. chrome://tthome/content/logic/dllUtils.js:69

            this._errorFatal(error);

so I still have no maps.

What else can I try please?

 

Message 3 of 5 (1,369 Views)
Please use plain text.
Zsolt
Posts: 21,286
Kudos: 2,390
Solutions: 554
Registered: ‎16-10-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Cannot restore from backup

As long as you have the backup: Try to format the device, then try to update, and we will see what happens.

Tip: Help others identify useful content by clicking the kudos thumbs, and by selecting the best answer to your question as the accepted solution


Report map errors (MSR Tool - link)
Actual devices: GO 820 Top Gear Edition, GO 825, Start 60, One XL, GO 600, GO 1000, VIA 120, VIA 135, TomTom Android; Old devices: TomTom WM, GO 530, XL IQ Routes LIVE
How to contact TomTom's Customer Services (link)
TomTom's Customer Services numbers (thx Niall) (link)
How to soft reset your device (link)


I am NOT a TomTom employee, just a user like others.
Message 4 of 5 (1,364 Views)
Please use plain text.
Neophyte Explorer
jilly
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-03-2012
Location: Australia

Re: Cannot restore from backup

I switched it on this morning and the map loaded - so now in working order.  Many thanks.

Message 5 of 5 (1,351 Views)
Please use plain text.