Reply
Novice Explorer
Ridddle
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎14-12-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Blank screen after updating

After updating my tomtom, my screen displays nothing, just a black, blank screen.

Have tried resetting it with the reset button on the bottom but doesn't work.

However, if I leave it a day or so, it'll work perfectly, until I turn it off again and the original problem of nothing being displayed is back again.

Anyone got any ideas?

 

Thanks

Message 1 of 19 (5,142 Views)
Please use plain text.
Traylaw
Posts: 3,679
Registered: ‎05-07-2011
Location: US

Re: Blank screen after updating

What model do you have. Do you know what was being updated.

If you plug the gps into the computer and reset it.... You get any more updates.

********************************************************************
Report map errors at http://www.tomtom.com/mapshare/tools/
********************************************************************

Message 2 of 19 (5,137 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
Ridddle
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎14-12-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Blank screen after updating

I've got an XL IQ routes 2

No it's been fully updated so always says that it's up to date

Message 3 of 19 (5,129 Views)
Please use plain text.
Traylaw
Posts: 3,679
Registered: ‎05-07-2011
Location: US

Re: Blank screen after updating

XL IQ routes is actually not the model.... can you provide the first 2 characters of the serial number? We can determine the model from that.

********************************************************************
Report map errors at http://www.tomtom.com/mapshare/tools/
********************************************************************

Message 4 of 19 (5,109 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
Ridddle
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎14-12-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Blank screen after updating

1st 2 digits are GJ

Message 5 of 19 (5,101 Views)
Please use plain text.
Lupus1
Posts: 4,638
Topics: 16
Kudos: 1,412
Solutions: 279
Registered: ‎21-09-2011
Location: Germany

Re: Blank screen after updating

Hi,

 

Using your information with the link below I got that you've got a XL IQ Routes ² / XL 250 / XL 350 - 2GB TTS

 

Which TomTom device do I have? (hyperlink)

 

Are you able to connect your device to the computer and operate it via TT Home? Please try that and just plan a route in the emulator (operate my device). Afterwards disconnect your device safely using the blue disconnect button in the right bottom corner.

 

If that doesn't help try reinstalling the application on your device.

 

  1. Create a backup of your device. How to create a backup of your device (hyperlink)
  2. Open TT Home and go to manage my device -> items on my device -> application -> remove to uninstall the application.
  3. Now to reinstall the application please go to update my device and install the application update that should be offered. Install no other updates.
  4. Now restart your device.
  5. You may have to repeat the last two steps a few times until there are no more application updates pending.
  6. If it was succesful please create another backup of the working unit. You may also install the remaining updates now.

 

 

Regards

Lars.

____________________________________________________

TT XL•S LIVE IQ Routes Edition (Text-to-Speech)
map/Europe_North 875.3613
TT Start 60
map/Europe 910.4964
TT GO 6000
map/Europe 926.5515


TT Home 2.9.7.3256
MyDrive Connect 3.3.0.1317
Win8 64bit


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm no TT employee but just a customer trying to help
Message 6 of 19 (5,094 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
Ridddle
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎14-12-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Blank screen after updating

The device works with TT Home using the operate my device part.

After removing the application and re-installing it, there is still no change, the screen stays blank.....

Message 7 of 19 (5,085 Views)
Please use plain text.
Lupus1
Posts: 4,638
Topics: 16
Kudos: 1,412
Solutions: 279
Registered: ‎21-09-2011
Location: Germany

Re: Blank screen after updating

Hi,

 

it might be a problem with your display after all you described. It could be either the display itself or what's even more probable from my point of view it's the connection between the display and the computing unit.

 

If your device is still under warranty I'd try returning it or speaking to CS first if there's a technician knowing more about this issue than I do. If it is really some hardware failure the device will have to be returned to be exchanged or it will have to be repaired. This can be done by sending the device to TT which will cost a bit or you'll try if a different display already helps. There are some here on this forum who already have some knowledge with changing a display so hopefully they'll give the necessary information therefore.

 

 

Regards

Lars.

____________________________________________________

TT XL•S LIVE IQ Routes Edition (Text-to-Speech)
map/Europe_North 875.3613
TT Start 60
map/Europe 910.4964
TT GO 6000
map/Europe 926.5515


TT Home 2.9.7.3256
MyDrive Connect 3.3.0.1317
Win8 64bit


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm no TT employee but just a customer trying to help
Message 8 of 19 (5,058 Views)
Please use plain text.
Traylaw
Posts: 3,679
Registered: ‎05-07-2011
Location: US

Re: Blank screen after updating

Check the application version on your gps using "Operate my device" in Home.

Click on the bottom right blue bar to display the battery status. Below the battery status you will see a version number like 9.061.

 

To see if the display is working press and hold the power button for about 5 sec after you hear the drum beat. What should appear is a diagnostic screen with a black background a white text. If this shows up the display is ok.

********************************************************************
Report map errors at http://www.tomtom.com/mapshare/tools/
********************************************************************

Message 9 of 19 (5,047 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
msyoung
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
Location: US

Re: Blank screen after updating

i have the same problem.  when i turn on unit, i hear the drum beat, but screen remains blank.  Can't get diagnostics following the advice above.  device seems to operate ok from computer connection.

Message 10 of 19 (4,560 Views)
Please use plain text.