Novice Explorer
burmabaines

TomTom route vs Google Map route.

Hello all. Noob here trying to get used to my new TomTom. I have a question...

I'm travelling from the S. Lakes to the Hull ferry terminal soon and I've had the route plotted on Google maps for a good few weeks. I went for the "avoid motorway" option and it came back with 125 miles, taking 2.56mins. Quite simply A65, A59, A1059 through to Hull. This goes through Skipton, Harrogate and around York ring road.

Plotting the same start and finish destination on the TomTom (with avoid motorway option) takes me a bit round the houses. It tells me it's 134 miles and takes 3hrs 32mins.

The closest the TomTom gets to the Google route is with the shortest route option chosen. It's basically identical to what google maps gives me but the Tomtom tells me it would take 3hrs.58 mins, a time difference of over an hour.

So which one should I trust? I can only guess that going through Harrogate would add roughly an hour and TomTom takes that into account whereas Google Maps doesn't.

Dave

Message 1 of 4 (4,004 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
burmabaines

Re: TomTom route vs Google Map route.

Well I've just found the IQ Routes page and read all about it so I reckon that just about answers my question. An hours difference does still seem a bit much though.

Message 2 of 4 (4,000 Views)
Please use plain text.
Revered Voyager
Expert (RIDER)
kumo

[ Edited ]

Hi Dave,

Differences between Google Maps and our TomTom may be caused by the difference of the maps. Google Maps uses their map data, our TomTom uses its internal map for routing. The map data may be different in detail: New streets may be missing at an old map of our TomTom. Different speed limit data for some streets may cause different results in the calculation of the arrival time. And a Rider 2nd may calculate an other arrival time than an Urban Rider because IQ-Routes of the newer unit may cause a difference.