Reply
Master Explorer
Clubbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎19-02-2012
Location: United Kingdom
Accepted Solution

Tomtom one IQ stuck on start-up

Hi,

updated my tomtom a couple of weeks ago and since then it sticks on the the balck startup screen with tomtom logo.  I've tried:

Resetting (numerous times) and all this does it bring up an information screen

Uninstalling the application both manually and via home, both times using a fresh download of the application

Contacting support who only suggested that I go through the steps already taken

 

It seems to me that it may well be an issue with the new application software.  Does anyone know how I can fix my tomtom?

 

Cheers!

Message 1 of 6 (607 Views)
Please use plain text.
Revered Voyager
sallor225
Posts: 2,176
Registered: ‎29-04-2011
Location: US

Re: Tomtom one IQ stuck on start-up

[ Edited ]

Is your battery well charged? Try charging for 2 hrs with device off.

 

What is your App version; should be 9.430, Map should be 885.

 

You might try a memory check; follow the procedure in this link, 

Memory error check

http://us.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/9908/kw/memory%20error

look for “found” folder and delete.

 

You could check on your computer to see if you still have an older version to reinstall through TomTomHome, but I would guess you wouldn't be asking the question if you did.

Help others identify useful content:
- Did someone answer your question? Click Accept as Solution
- Did someone post something helpful? Click the kudos star .....

TomTom XXL 540TM Minneapolis/St. Paul, MN traffic
Message 2 of 6 (601 Views)
Please use plain text.
Master Explorer
Clubbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎19-02-2012
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Tomtom one IQ stuck on start-up

Hi,

 

thanks for trying to help out with this.  I've done everything possible including a full reformat and reinstall.  Finally gave up and contacted support.  I didn't want to do this as I thought that the unit, being over a year old would not be under guarantee anymore.  RESULT, apparently it is covered for two years so am sending it back to tomtom for repair.

 

 

Message 3 of 6 (588 Views)
Please use plain text.
Revered Voyager
sallor225
Posts: 2,176
Registered: ‎29-04-2011
Location: US

Re: Tomtom one IQ stuck on start-up

Thanks, didn't realize any had two year warrantys.

Help others identify useful content:
- Did someone answer your question? Click Accept as Solution
- Did someone post something helpful? Click the kudos star .....

TomTom XXL 540TM Minneapolis/St. Paul, MN traffic
Message 4 of 6 (571 Views)
Please use plain text.
Master Explorer
Clubbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎19-02-2012
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Tomtom one IQ stuck on start-up

Apparently so but TomTom support tried to tell me that it was only guaranteed for a year.  It was only when I said that I had pulled up the details on their own website that they agreed to repair.  Folks need to be aware that this is the case.

Message 5 of 6 (539 Views)
Please use plain text.
Revered Voyager
sallor225
Posts: 2,176
Registered: ‎29-04-2011
Location: US

Re: Tomtom one IQ stuck on start-up

Not all of their support staff are up to speed.

Help others identify useful content:
- Did someone answer your question? Click Accept as Solution
- Did someone post something helpful? Click the kudos star .....

TomTom XXL 540TM Minneapolis/St. Paul, MN traffic
Message 6 of 6 (517 Views)
Please use plain text.