Reply
Novice Explorer
VickyLeigh83
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-05-2012
Location: United Kingdom

Tom Tom One (3rd Edition) reset issue?

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

I'm trying to update my Dad's sat nav as above. Installed Tom Tom Home on my laptop, followed all instructions etc, but it won't update, keeps showing this error message:

 

ERROR: DesktopLib/DeviceItemScan/Error: Error during scanning for navigation items HomeBase/IO: Error reading file: D:\antitheft.bmp
@ .\portable\cfile.cpp(1944)
00000570.
@ .\framework\DeviceItemScannerThread.cpp(74)

in .\framework\DeviceItemScannerThread.cpp:74
Stack:
0. function errorAbortTask   chrome://tthome/content/logic/ttTask.js:509
        error(e);
1. chrome://tthome/content/logic/dllUtils.js:76
            this._errorCallback(e);
2. chrome://tthome/content/logic/dllUtils.js:68
            this._errorFatal(error);

Time: Tue, 08 May 2012 13:44:19 GMT

 

Followed the error reporting link back to the web, tried to reset Sat Nav as per instructions on the Tom Tom website but it doesn't appear to have any effect.

 

Any suggestions would be appreciated. Sat nav is stuck on home screen with cross.

 

Thanks in advance.

Vic.

Message 1 of 12 (1,189 Views)
Please use plain text.
Traylaw
Posts: 3,679
Registered: ‎05-07-2011
Location: US

Re: Tom Tom One (3rd Edition) reset issue?

Home Base I/O error message means your pc is having a problem reading / writing to the gps's flash memory.

This is not a problem with the pc but a problem with the flash memory.

 

Check this link for a possible resolution to the problem.

 

http://uk.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/minor_detail/a_id/13295/

********************************************************************
Report map errors at http://www.tomtom.com/mapshare/tools/
********************************************************************

Message 2 of 12 (1,186 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
VickyLeigh83
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-05-2012
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Tom Tom One (3rd Edition) reset issue?

Thank you for the link, but I've had a look and now found another potential issue.... (I seem to attract trouble. haha). Everytime I click 'manage my device' it flashes the error message and won't let me proceed, so I'm unclear as to how I'm going to be able to back up the device. Confused...

Message 3 of 12 (1,183 Views)
Please use plain text.
Traylaw
Posts: 3,679
Registered: ‎05-07-2011
Location: US

Re: Tom Tom One (3rd Edition) reset issue?

[ Edited ]

Ok, the reason it is flashing is that it is really having a problem reading files on the gps. 

 

The last thing to try is you using Window's Explorer (my computer icon on desktop) to manually copy the map folder from the gps to your pc.  It is the map folder we are concerned about because everything else can be download loaded and install from the TomTom server. A new map would have to be purchased if you can not copy it from the gps.

 

The map folder on the gps will have a name similar to the region the map covers. Example, for North America the folder is named USA_Canada_Mexico_P.    Use windows explorer to copy the map folder to you pc and then follow this procedure in the link.

 

Note: The flash memory may be messed up to a point you cannot copy anything..... In this case since you don't have a backup of the gps, your going to have to format the memory ( assuming it can still be formatted again ), Install the software in the gps. And last purchase a new map via Home software. ..... For the price of a new map you might just look into purchaseing a new gps....

********************************************************************
Report map errors at http://www.tomtom.com/mapshare/tools/
********************************************************************

Message 4 of 12 (1,180 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
VickyLeigh83
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-05-2012
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Tom Tom One (3rd Edition) reset issue?

Okay thank you. I will try this later. Incidentally, do you know if the memory card is removable on this model? I have heard of people removing this before to solve problems, as you might with a battery in a mobile phone.
Message 5 of 12 (1,172 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
VickyLeigh83
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-05-2012
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Tom Tom One (3rd Edition) reset issue?

Would it be this one? CurrentMap.Dat or United_Kingdom_And_Republic_Of_Ireland ? I can't make any sense of it to be honest.

Message 6 of 12 (1,168 Views)
Please use plain text.
Traylaw
Posts: 3,679
Registered: ‎05-07-2011
Location: US

Re: Tom Tom One (3rd Edition) reset issue?

The Tomtom One 3rd edition does not have a removable memory,  it's just a chip soldered on the circuit board.

********************************************************************
Report map errors at http://www.tomtom.com/mapshare/tools/
********************************************************************

Message 7 of 12 (1,156 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
VickyLeigh83
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-05-2012
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Tom Tom One (3rd Edition) reset issue?

[ Edited ]

Ok I seem to have removed the items from my computer to a back up file, as per - http://uk.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/minor_detail/a_id/13354/ but now I can't seem to put them back on to the Sat Nav. Does this make any sense to anyone??? haha,

Message 8 of 12 (1,119 Views)
Please use plain text.
Traylaw
Posts: 3,679
Registered: ‎05-07-2011
Location: US

Re: Tom Tom One (3rd Edition) reset issue?

[ Edited ]

After making the backup did you format the gps's memory and reinstall the software and map per this link?

 

http://uk.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/minor_detail/a_id/13295/

 

I am assuming that you can format the memory without any errors.....If you can't we have a problem with the flash memory.

 

Also when you reinstall the map you can use the map from your backup. The map is stored in a folder which has a name similar to the area the map covers. Example for North America the folder is named USA_Canada_Mexico.  Located the map folder in the backup you made and copy the folder to your gps.

********************************************************************
Report map errors at http://www.tomtom.com/mapshare/tools/
********************************************************************

Message 9 of 12 (1,109 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
VickyLeigh83
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-05-2012
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Tom Tom One (3rd Edition) reset issue?

It's when I'm trying to reinstall the software that I'm getting the issue saying that there isn't enough memory. I really truly do not know enough about this to make any further comment unfortunately but my dad is desperate for me to get it working again asap.

Message 10 of 12 (1,070 Views)
Please use plain text.