Reply
Apprentice Traveler
Skelo
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎22-10-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Problems with computer not recognising my new TOMTOM Start 25

Looking through the forums, can't seem to find an answer specifically with the same problems as mine.

 

I have found my tomtom in device manager, but it is listed as a network adapter!!

 

I guess this is the reason why i can't see it under, 'my computer'.

 

So how do i change it, so i can see it as a mass storage device, so i can download some new voices??

 

Cheers

Dave

Message 1 of 11 (2,518 Views)
Please use plain text.
Stefan
Posts: 4,949
Kudos: 1,044
Solutions: 222
Registered: ‎06-03-2011

Re: Problems with computer not recognising my new TOMTOM Start 25

Its not possible to change the storage so it can be seen in 'my computer' as a mass storage device. The newer devices are using the myTomTom Support Application to manage and update the device. If not already done, download and install the myTomTom Support Application:

 

http://www.tomtom.com/getstarted

 

The devices have a IP adress and connect to the computer using their own network, the contents cannot be accessed anymore. Two main reasons could be:

 

  • Preventing piracy;
  • Preventing tampering with the files which makes the device unstable;

After the program is installed, connect the device to the computer. The program will recognize the device and search for available updates. Always install the latest navigator version first before installing the remaining updates.

 

Its possible to disconnect the device while downloading a update, the installation automaticly proceeds when the device is connected to the computer.

 

Tip myTomTom remembers the serial number of the device, in the future when updates are available then it gives a notification, you are then able to download the updates to the computer first. Afterwards connect the device to the computer to proceed installation.

 

Download and install new voices

 

* Note Installing additional computer voices isn't yet available.

 

For more information, read the following topic:

 

http://discussions.tomtom.com/t5/TomTom-GO-800-1000-2000-Via/Voice-portal-releases/m-p/107419/highli...

 

How to install voices from the computer?

 

Download and install voices TomTom knowledge base (hyperlink)

Message 2 of 11 (2,511 Views)
Please use plain text.
Apprentice Traveler
Skelo
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎22-10-2011
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Problems with computer not recognising my new TOMTOM Start 25

Many thanks for the help.

 

It's a bit rubbish not being able to upload voices etc to the start 25, from my computer!!!

 

Wish i knew that before i bought it, i would have chosen a different sat nav system if i knew that.

 

Oh well, hopefully there may be an option to do so in the future.

 

Thanks again

 

Cheers

Dave

Message 3 of 11 (2,499 Views)
Please use plain text.
Stefan
Posts: 4,949
Kudos: 1,044
Solutions: 222
Registered: ‎06-03-2011

Re: Problems with computer not recognising my new TOMTOM Start 25

Its normally possible to install free and premium voices to the device. Do you have installed the latest navigator version on the device?

 

You can download free and premium voices by going to the TomTom Voice Shop. I believe the myTomTom program will install the voices from the shop automaticly.

 

http://www.tomtom.com/en_gb/products/voices/

 

You can also install a voice when you have the files onto the computer:

 

Download and install voices TomTom knowledge base (hyperlink)

 

Message 4 of 11 (2,488 Views)
Please use plain text.
Master Traveler
RUNT66
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-11-2011
Location: Australia

Re: Problems with computer not recognising my new TOMTOM Start 25

I HAVE A TOM TOM ONE ; NO DEVICE CONNECTED IS ALL I GET WHEN I PLUG THE TOMTOM INTO MY HP VISTA ; I HAVE NOT PAID ANY CASH YET FOR UPGRADES ; IS THAT THE REASON ??? WHAT IS A MESSAGE TAG ???
Message 5 of 11 (2,411 Views)
Please use plain text.
Traylaw
Posts: 3,679
Registered: ‎05-07-2011
Location: US

Re: Problems with computer not recognising my new TOMTOM Start 25

You don't  pay anything.  Have you installed TomTom Home yet. If not here is the link to download and install it.

http://us.support.tomtom.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/5122/kw/install%20home

 

What operating system are you running?

 

********************************************************************
Report map errors at http://www.tomtom.com/mapshare/tools/
********************************************************************

Message 6 of 11 (2,407 Views)
Please use plain text.
Master Traveler
RUNT66
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-11-2011
Location: Australia

Re: Problems with computer not recognising my new TOMTOM Start 25

WINDOWS VISTA HOME PREMIUM ;;;


THANK YOU FOR THE LINK BUT THEY SAY THAT A SYSTEM ERROR OCCURRED THAT WAS NOT YOUR FAULT ;;;;
Message 7 of 11 (2,404 Views)
Please use plain text.
Master Traveler
RUNT66
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-11-2011
Location: Australia

Re: Problems with computer not recognising my new TOMTOM Start 25

ERROR: 101/#https://home.tomtom.com/account/login: Error from server: A system error occurred that wasn't your fault. Please try again later.
A system error occurred that wasn't your fault. Please try again later.
Error code: 101
Debug info from server: RequiredParamMissingException %3A
URL: https://home.tomtom.com/account/login
Additional information: info = [object]
info.func = [string] account/login
info.args = [object]
info.args.username = [string] TIMMYREID@BIGPOND.COM

info.method = [string] POST
info.useCache = [string] false
info.dryRun = [string] false
info.xmluploadbody = [object]  empty

Severity: 1103
Stack:
0. chrome://tthome/content/logic/comm.js:468
                                                xmluploadbody: this.xmluploadbody
1. chrome://tthome/content/logic/comm.js:430
            this._doneCallbacks();
2. chrome://tthome/content/logic/comm.js:277
            this.request.onload = function() { me._done(true); }

Time: Tue, 01 Nov 2011 04:36:53 GMT

Message 8 of 11 (2,402 Views)
Please use plain text.
Stefan
Posts: 4,949
Kudos: 1,044
Solutions: 222
Registered: ‎06-03-2011

Re: Problems with computer not recognising my new TOMTOM Start 25

Are you able to login onto the TomTom website? Then you may be able to login into TomTom Home.

Message 9 of 11 (2,381 Views)
Please use plain text.
Master Traveler
RUNT66
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-11-2011
Location: Australia

Re: Problems with computer not recognising my new TOMTOM Start 25

I HAD MY TOMTOM PLUGGED INTO MY HP VISTA , BUT I DID NOT HAVE MY TOMTOM TURNED ON WHICH I HAVE NOW RECTIFIED AND I AM NOW MAKING SOME PROGRESS ;;;; ROUGHLY HOW MUCH WILL IT BE TO UPGRADE TO NEW MAPS OF WEST AUSTRALIA OR IS IT FREE ????
Message 10 of 11 (2,370 Views)
Please use plain text.