Novice Explorer
leicester_boy

Cannot connect tom tom to pc

Hi to all the Tom Tom experts,

I am a new user of Tom Tom and recently purchashed Tom Tom one (IQ Routes Edition).

Since it is 3 years old and the maps have not been updated on it, I tried connecting it to the computer but it wont show up on my pc.

I tried downloading some Tom Tom software and it still wont show connected. I went to 'My Computer' folder and it does not show as being connected although it charges for some reason when I connect it to the pc. This shows the data cable isnt faulty. I switched on the Tom Tom when connecting to my pc, but the tom tom does not prompt for any questions or suggestions.

I am a complete layman with this and dont know where to begin. I use Windows 7 professional.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Message 1 of 22 (6,902 Views)
Please use plain text.
Megalos

Re: Cannot connect tom tom to pc

Did you download myTomTom or TomTom HOME? You should use the latter one. Have you tried a reset on the device? See here how to do this: http://www.tomtom.com/6965. Do you have the possibility to test on another computer?

Message 2 of 22 (6,899 Views)
Please use plain text.
Novice Explorer
leicester_boy

Thanks for your reply. I uninstalled all tom tom software and installed tom tom home as advised by you.

I also reset the device. I could hear the drums rolling after holding the on/off button for about 20 seconds.

I then opened the tom tom home application. Logged in through File>Log in and entered my user name and password.

It then shows my email address on the left and to the right it says - 'Please connect a navigation device'

I connected the tom tom to the pc via the data cable but to no avail. It says 'No Device Connected' at the bottom right.

Could there be a problem with the internet firewall which is preventing the pc from connecting to tom tom?

I have tried it on my brother's pc but faced the same problem.

Cheers for reading..